We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and comfort, tucked away off the main streets”
Review of Hotel Navona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Navona
Ranked #121 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I've been staying here for more than twenty years, but it never gets old. Every visit sees some upgrade and improvement, and the comfort level is unrecognisable from those 'rough 'n' ready' days of the Pensione Navona. This is a different animal! What hasn't changed, though, is the quality of the service. I've read the occasional complaint by a disgruntled guest, but I have never, repeat never, experienced that. Perhaps it's a case of treat of treating others how you would wish to be treated, in order to avoid disappointment? The location is surely the best in Rome for exploring the Centro Storico, and it's so heartening to deal with a family concern so clearly devoted to its city.

Room Tip: If, for some reason, you are NOT happy with your room, politely explain why rather than suffering in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank twoteachersSt.Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navonahotel, Responsabile reception at Hotel Navona, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

On behalf of our staff we wish to present you our big thanks for your encouraging and positive review. Thanks again for dedicating your time.
We work hard everyday to improve our services.
We look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Kind regards
Mike
staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

367 - 373 of 1,114 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

I really don't understand the good reviews. The staff was nice and helpful, but it was so noisy both late at night outside, and early in the morning with the staff preparing breakfast literally right outside our door that I have to give this a low score. Plus, the rooms felt a little dirty. The roof is suffering wood rot, the caulking in the shower is moldy, and the windows have virtually no effect on outside noise. I only slept 2-3 hours our one night there.

Room Tip: Find a room that doesn't have a window to the outside world, and get a room far from the breakfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mi8co, Front Office Manager at Hotel Navona, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Guest,
We are really sorry for your negative experience in our hotel which was very disappointing for us.
Our hotel is located in the city center where activities run almost 24 hours, for this purpose we have put double glazed windows in all the rooms and the doors are also thick to absorb any sound coming from the corridors, however for light sleepers we have rooms facing a courtyard which is a very good option. Unless there is a special request we assign the rooms randomly or according to arrivals. If you had informed us this problem at the desk on your first day experience we would have immediately moved you to the courtyard side, unfortunately we only learnt this problem from your review on the TA. As you have mentioned our staff is ready to help guests 24 hours, this issue could have been resolved.
Your second issue was regarding the ceiling. It was not dirty or ruined as you understood, that room where you stayed is a unique room in the hotel where you can see a 1700 fresco painting, the pictures you took show its originality , according to the rule it cannot be repainted should be kept to its originality. Of course if you stand in front of the Colosseum you will see bunch of rocks but quite difference from the rocks you see in the street, those rocks are precious because they are antique and original.
We hope we have explained you enough.
If you have another chance to visit Rome and decide to stay in our hotel we can accommodate you in a different style room. We offer to our clients different kinds of rooms with different style, antique, modern and classic.

Kind regards
Mike
Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I have been staying at the Navona with students for many years and could not be happier with its appointments and location. Wouldn't stay anywhere else! The rooms are comfortable and very clean. The staff is second to none. Love this place!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Aspring2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mi8co, Responsabile reception at Hotel Navona, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Avery,

We are very grateful of you to have posted your positive experience you have been having for the past years, we are always glad to accommodate you. Thank you for giving us a moral energy for our day to day work, this will help us improve again our quality and services.

we look forward to meeting you in another occassion.
Kind regards
Mike
staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Family of 4 (18, 16 y/o) barely fit in to the room of 3 beds. Not a luxury place but good for active low maintenance visitors or those looking for best combination of value and location. Wifi ok, breakfast ok - make decent cappuccino. As noted in prior posts one of top coffee shops is right around the corner. Since we were in Rome and spent 95% of our awake time visiting the amazing city - we chose this place since the cost of our target hotels was really high for quad rooms or didn't offer that option. We walked to every site, market and restaurant with ease.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petemaravich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This hotel is the perfect location within walking distance of of the colosseum, piazza Navona, Trevi the pantheon and more! My room had all one needs for a very comfortable stay. A hotel can't rest on location it takes a staff with attention to detail and superb people skills. Thank you Michael for all your assistance and hospitality!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank msphx12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I stayed at Hotel Navona from 19 to 22 May 2014. The hotel was in the perfect location to get to all the Major sites; 20 mins walk to the Vatican and Colosseum, 5 mins walk to the Pantheon, 10 mins walk to Piazza Navona! The rooms were spacious, clean and spotless. The view from my balcony was right onto the street. Michele and the rest of the hotel staff were excellent, giving us a map of the city on arrival and giving detailed explanations of where the sites were and how to get there. I would highly recommend this hotel if you want a central location and access to great restaurants no more than 5 mins walk away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annamarie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Here in Rome for a meeting and am grateful to find clean, safe, hospitable and perfect location to prepare myself. Helpful staff. Peaceful surroundings. Space functional and efficient. Easy access to all services plus short walk to Piazza Navona and Pantheon.

Room Tip: Space is efficient, all functional and comfortable, the location is superb. Not sure about other roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#29 of 1,269 in Rome
807 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#45 of 1,269 in Rome
1,015 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Colors Hotel
Navona Colors Hotel
#82 of 1,269 in Rome
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Palace Residenze di Charme
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#108 of 1,269 in Rome
1,218 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Navona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Navona

Address: Via dei Sediari 8, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Rome
#92 Family Hotel in Rome
#199 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £75 - £515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Navona 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the historic centre, Hotel Navona Roma enjoys a privileged position only a few steps from Piazza Navona, the Pantheon, Campo de’ Fiori and the other main tourist attractions in the Eternal City, all within walking distance. Stay at Hotel Navona and immerse yourself in history. This historic 15th century building stands on the site of the Baths of Agrippa,, the first bath complex in the city, which was built by Marcus Vipsanius Agrippa and opened in 12 BC. The hotel has been completely refurbished, while retaining aspects that reflect the glorious past of the Eternal City. Several rooms feature frescoed ceilings, and ancient Roman bricks are still visible in the communal areas. The hotel provides different types of room with Economy, Standard, Superior and Family Rooms. Each elegantly decorated room features a private bathroom, air conditioning, free Wi-Fi (excluding groups ), mini-bar and satellite TV. For those who prefer a stay in total freedom, we offer comfortable, functional apartments with kitchens in Rome’s historic centre, just a few minutes from Hotel Navona. Hotel Navona provides a full buffet breakfast served between 7.30am and 10am, for you to start your tour of the city bursting with energy. Breakfast is not included in the room rate, and is charged at 10 euros per person. Take advantage of our special ‘breakfast included’ offers for your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Navona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Navona Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing