We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel in the heart of Rome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Navona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Navona
Ranked #138 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Hotel in the heart of Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed I. hotel Navona from June 9 to 15th and what a great boutique hotel with 17 rooms right in the heart of Downtown Rome. It is situated only 1 block from Piazza Navona, just 15 mins walk from Spanish steps and Trevi fountain and about 20 mins walk to Colleseum, I can say we did not take a cab except to and from the airport ($48 euro each way). It was very reasonable for it's location ($150 Euro a night) and for an extra $8-10 you could get breakfast which was quite reasonable for the area.

Our room was updated with a shower/washroom with quiet air conditioner. We were there in very hot (35-40 degree) weather so our room was a welcome siesta in the afternoon. There are many great restaurants although better prices out of piazzas. There are other room that share bathrooms/shower that are less money but we opted for the upscale room as we were sharing the cost.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel - we found it quiet, staff were there but not intruding and very helpful when needed. For instance our flight out was at 6:00 am and the gentlemen at the desk was very accommodating to check us put the night before and have a wake up call and taxi waiting at 4 am. They didn't charge us for breakfast as we stayed 6 nights.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the room with the private bathroom/shower right next to the reception ...we even had our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mi8co, Responsabile reception at Hotel Navona, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Denise,
Thank you for your kind words on describing our hotel, we found your words very important and encouraging. We keep our prices very moderate to give our clients a reasonable and high quality service. We also work with some honest external transfer services to give our guest a reliable and genuine service.
We have different kinds of rooms for every pocket, economy ( very ideal to stay for short time) standard and superior ( big rooms ), of course the prices are different according to their quality, however all the rooms are charming. There is no other place in Rome more central than piazza Navona.
We hope to see you again
Kind regards
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    404
    99
    42
    41
See reviews for
200
439
39
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

After doing endless research for a reasonably priced hotel in Rome in a great location, we discovered Hotel Navona. After reading all the great reviews, we made a nonrefundable reservation for one night several weeks before our arrival in Rome. The reservation included a complimentary bottle of red wine; which was waiting for us in the room upon check-in.

Upon landing at Rome's Leonardo da Vinci–Fiumicino Airport, we took a pre-arranged car to the hotel. The driver had no issue finding the property based on the address and directions provided by the hotel. The hotel is located in a rather luxurious residential building just two blocks from Piazza Navona. Check-in was a breeze with the front desk staff being very friendly and welcoming. A bell hop helped us carry our bags up the stairs to our room. There is no elevator but a very wide and convenient staircase instead. If you're worried about the lack of an elevator, skip Rome altogether! It's a city of walking and climbing stairs.

Our room was on the top floor of the building. It was very nice and clean and featured a comfortable bed and working AC (many properties in Europe lack AC). The bathroom was completely remodeled to modern standards. The shower was spacious for one person with plenty of hot water.

We ran into an unfortunate issue on the day of check-out. We checked out very easily early in the morning to make it in time to our pre-arranged museum times. When we returned in the late afternoon, we relaxed in the lobby until it was time to head to the train station. When it came time to get a taxi to Termini, we couldn't find any. The hotel called for taxis several times but none showed up. As our train departure time got closer and closer, front desk clerk Mike sprung into action and escorted us as quickly as possible on foot to the Pantheon. He helped my girlfriend with her heavy luggage as it was a bit of a hike. Mike helped find us the only available taxi in the area. Turns out the local streets had been blocked off due to a government protest. Mike's quick thinking helped us make our train.

We look forward to returning to Hotel Navona one day for another wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank TheExoticAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navonahotel, Responsabile reception at Hotel Navona, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest,
We have no words to express our deep appreciation for your kindness in posting this marvellous review on TripAdvisor, every step was very important. Despite your short stay in our hotel , thank you for your generosity in spending your precious time and writing every step you have passed inside our hotel. We wish to tell you that we are grateful to have you as a guest in our hotel, for us it is a big prize. Especially we liked very much the part that describes the antiquity of the city, when you come to Rome you should have the passion to see every little step of this eternal city.
We look forward to meeting you again in another occasion
On behalf of all our staff we thank you again.
Our best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
261 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Great location in Rome. Great location and excellent service. They have a map with hotels location with respect to all the monuments and it was very helpful. the staff is awesome. Breakfast was very good and set us up well for the day. It is easy to get lost in Rome. Set your bearings with respect to Piazza Novona. Steps from Piazza Novona, Campeo di fiori, and the Pantheon. Walk to Spanish steps and Trevi Fountain is about 20 minutes. Rooms and washrooms are kind of smaller than what you are used to in standard hotels but hey get used to it you are in Rome! The building's foundations date from 1st Century AD as per the hotel manager!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelwise333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Hotel Navona is centrally located, has nice clean rooms, great breakfasts, and wonderfully helpful people. We've been there three times in six years and it has gotten better each time. Highly recommend Hotel Navona.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

This was my third time to stay several nights at this hotel. It is perfectly located within walking distance of most of the major spots in the old center city. It continues to improve in quality of accommodations and is unsurpassed in service. The staff has perfect English and is extremely accommodating. I felt safe even at night walking around the neighborhood.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank linda10831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I have stayed at the Hotel Navona every time I've come to Rome, and I've never been disappointed. However, the last time I stayed here, it was over-the-top incredible.

After coming here for many years with a study abroad group I used to assist for, I booked a room here for the last night on my honeymoon many years after the study abroad program ended. The owner of the hotel not only remembered me immediately, even though it had been nearly 10 years since we'd seen each other, but after a long conversation (in Italian) with the rest of his staff, the owner offered to take us out to coffee while our room was being made up. Of course we were delighted. He took us to a typical Roman cafe where we sipped espresso and cappuccino and learned all about the history of this fantastic building that now housed his hotel, which had been in his family for generations. He was, as always, wonderfully funny and kind.

After our coffee, we went back to the hotel, where one of his fabulous staff led us to a first class, luxury apartment on the other side of the hotel. Although I can't prove it, I'm convinced that the owner arranged this special treat for us because it was our honeymoon. The room was impeccable, came with a brand new full kitchen (wrapping still on some of the appliances!), gorgeous brand new bathroom, the most comfortable bed we slept in during our entire time in Italy, and... the best part... fully functioning and very powerful air conditioning. Our only complaint was that we'd only booked one night in Rome at the incredible Hotel Navona, and did not re-arrange our flight out of town so we could stay longer.

I'd stayed in the hotel happily and comfortably before their massive remodel, and stayed in rooms after the remodel. One of the things that always made the Hotel Navona a perfect stay for us is the kindness and generosity of the staff - particularly the owner who, with his perfect, Australian-accented English, is so incredibly helpful to all my students when we stayed there as a group, and who went out of his way for us when we came to stay on our special trip.

I stay in places like the historical Hotel Navona to get a true sense of Rome, since history, cultural significance, location, and a good staff to help me when I need it mean much more to me than an elevator. I'm not in Rome to stay in a hotel, I'm in Rome to experience Rome. The Hotel Navona has consistently exceeds my expectations, however, and I will continue to highly recommend it to all of my friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allora23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st. louis, mo
Level Contributor
116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I've been staying here for more than twenty years, but it never gets old. Every visit sees some upgrade and improvement, and the comfort level is unrecognisable from those 'rough 'n' ready' days of the Pensione Navona. This is a different animal! What hasn't changed, though, is the quality of the service. I've read the occasional complaint by a disgruntled guest, but I have never, repeat never, experienced that. Perhaps it's a case of treat of treating others how you would wish to be treated, in order to avoid disappointment? The location is surely the best in Rome for exploring the Centro Storico, and it's so heartening to deal with a family concern so clearly devoted to its city.

Room Tip: If, for some reason, you are NOT happy with your room, politely explain why rather than suffering in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank twoteachersSt.Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navonahotel, Responsabile reception at Hotel Navona, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
On behalf of our staff we wish to present you our big thanks for your encouraging and positive review. Thanks again for dedicating your time.
We work hard everyday to improve our services.
We look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Kind regards
Mike
staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Colors Hotel
Navona Colors Hotel
#68 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#29 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#53 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Teatro Pace
Hotel Teatro Pace
#226 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Argentina
Residenza Argentina
#24 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Navona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Navona

Property: Hotel Navona
Address: Via dei Sediari 8, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Rome
#92 Family Hotel in Rome
#199 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Navona 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the historic centre, Hotel Navona Roma enjoys a privileged position only a few steps from Piazza Navona, the Pantheon, Campo de’ Fiori and the other main tourist attractions in the Eternal City, all within walking distance. Stay at Hotel Navona and immerse yourself in history. This historic 15th century building stands on the site of the Baths of Agrippa,, the first bath complex in the city, which was built by Marcus Vipsanius Agrippa and opened in 12 BC. The hotel has been completely refurbished, while retaining aspects that reflect the glorious past of the Eternal City. Several rooms feature frescoed ceilings, and ancient Roman bricks are still visible in the communal areas. The hotel provides different types of room with Economy, Standard, Superior and Family Rooms. Each elegantly decorated room features a private bathroom, air conditioning, free Wi-Fi (excluding groups ), mini-bar and satellite TV. For those who prefer a stay in total freedom, we offer comfortable, functional apartments with kitchens in Rome’s historic centre, just a few minutes from Hotel Navona. Hotel Navona provides a full buffet breakfast served between 7.30am and 10am, for you to start your tour of the city bursting with energy. Breakfast is not included in the room rate, and is charged at 10 euros per person. Take advantage of our special ‘breakfast included’ offers for your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Navona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Navona Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing