We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, good location”
Review of Hotel Navona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Navona
Ranked #117 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Perfect location. Walk to all the main attractions. Near piazza navona for late night drinks/gelato. Clean rooms. Great breakfast. Helpfull staff. Overall we were very pleased with this place. Also very close to casa bleve which is a great place to eat...

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank B3n1t0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navonahotel, Direttore generale at Hotel Navona, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Guests,
We are very grateful for your positive feedback, you words are very important for us, they will give us more energy and passion for our daily work. Thank you again for choosing our hotel; hope to see you again soon.
Our best wishes

Kind regards
Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 1,148 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

Location, location, location! 2 minute walk to Piazza Navona and 5 minutes to the Pantheon. We loved being right in the ancient city center- so close to many attractions! Our room (103) was in the building right across the little courtyard from where you check in and it was extremely quiet. It had a little Juliet balcony overlooking the street and the room was very nice and modern. They had slippers and fresh fruit for you when you arrived. Air conditioning was very cold, free wifi (sometimes spotty) and the best bed we slept on all trip! The only negative (hence 4 out of 5 stars) was that our bathroom really started to stink the 2nd day. We weren't sure if it was mildew or what, but we had to keep the bathroom door closed to our room. Overall, great stay!

Room Tip: Stay in the building right across the courtyard from main hotel- only 4 rooms, private and very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navonahotel, Responsabile reception at Hotel Navona, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Ashley,
Thank you so much for posting us your positive feedback on the Tripadvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed our location, as you mentioned our area is the best spot to visit the city, more or less same distance to all the best attractions.
Our bed mattresses are made specifically for hotel use, very comfortable and are high quality, thank you mentioning it.
Sorry, for the problem you had in the bathroom, if you had informed us while you were here we could have resolved the problem, being in old building some sewerage problem may happen.
We wish to have you as our guest again, anytime you wish to return back please contact us directly or make the reservation through website, we reserve special treatments for our usual customers.
Kind regards
Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel was very clean. We knew about the small flight of stairs so no problem there. Great location to see all main attractions. Used local buses to get around- ask reception for information. Piazza Navona is a great place to eat and be entertained by buskers and has a lovely atmosphere. Breakfast can be busy but you only have to wait a few minutes for a table. They served boiled eggs & omelettes too with an ok range of cereals, breads etc.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank MetalPetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We had a great experience with this hotel. The only drawback is that there is no elevator, but everything else was wonderful. The hotel staff was super friendly & helpful. The rooms and bathroom were spacious & clean. You will be happy staying here!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Sonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mi8co, Responsabile reception at Hotel Navona, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Sonia,

We are very pleased for your kindness on posting these wonderful words, we are glad to hear from you that you have enjoyed our hotel, rooms, service and staff.
As you have noticed our hotel is located in an ancient building dating 1300 , it was impossible to put an elevator, however a project has been approved, finger clossed we will start working on this project soon.
Hope you will give us another chance to show you the elevator.

Looking forward to hearing from you
Kind regards
Mike
staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at Hotel Navona for one night in July on our way back home from Italy. I booked it based on the Trip Advisor reviews but was disappointed by the room. I used Booking.com to book, and did not realize "Private Bathroom" meant that our bathroom actually would be part of the bedroom!

Pros: Staff is friendly and location is excellent. Room was quiet, clean, appeared recently re-modeled, and the breakfast was decent.

Cons: The room was not practical for anyone 5'6 or over! The ceilings were low and the "bathroom" (in quotes because it is not a separate room!), consisted only of a big tub (no shower), the vanity, and a toilet, and had no door separating it from the bedroom. Instead a large open arch way divides the two areas, with two curtains that did not meet in the middle. I am 5'7 and my husband 5'8. We had to duck under the archway going in and out of the bathroom. My husband hit his head on it more than once! Once in the "bathroom", the ceiling is even lower, so when you are in the tub, you can't stand fully. We had to sit in the tub and use the sprayer to shower. Nor could you stand fully in front of the toilet, which was on a raised step. I am pretty sure someone 6 foot or over would not even be able to stand up fully in the "bathroom". They did provide us a key to another bathroom down the hall, but it contained only a toilet, a sink and a mirror, and also housed the water heater, so the temperature in there was a bit like a sauna. There were also no towel racks anywhere in the bathroom, so we could not hang up wet towels to dry.

Also, our room was on a second floor in a separate area from the lobby, with only narrow stairs to access it. Since we had several large bags, we had to have the bell boy help us get our bags up...which is fine but then we needed to tip him, which I was not prepared for. If I had known there was no lift, I would have booked elsewhere since we were not travelling light.

Some of the other posted photos on this site look like nice, practical rooms with showers and other guests appeared very happy, so not sure how we got assigned to what I started calling "The Hobbit Room".

Unless you are in this room alone or completely comfortable with your roommate, make sure what you are getting when you book! We were only staying one night so I let it go, but if this is representative of all the rooms in this hotel, there are definitely better options in Rome for the price. At 159 EUR per night, this room is not a good value.

Room Tip: Make sure you are getting a room with a separate bathroom, a shower, and a decent ceiling height!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TXWino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mi8co, Responsabile reception at Hotel Navona, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Madam,
Although we appreciate your positive comment on our staff and our effort in remodelling the rooms, we are disappointed for the way you described the room we gave you.
The room where you stayed is one of the particular rooms we have in the hotel, even though it has a lower ceiling because of the its antiquity the room has everything needed. We normally rent this room for particular occasions like honeymoon, anniversaries etc. most people appreciate this kinds of particular rooms. When you made the reservation you were supposed to stay in one of the rooms on the first floor, by the time you arrived you had lots of bags and you particularly asked the desk man to have a room on the lower level possible due to problem of climbing steps. Please note , it is written everywhere , even on the website where you made the booking that our hotel HAS NO elevator. It is described as an antique historical building where you rarely see modern items. We think when you made the booking you missed this part.
When you asked the deskman to have a room on the lower floor , we tried to switch somebody and gave you the room on the lower level. As we described you above this room is given for those who need a particular room for a particular stay. You didn’t say anything about changing room while you were here, we understand that you only stayed one night, however our staff was ready to sort you out this problem.
Our bell boys are ready to help people without asking any tips from our clients, they are paid by the hotel to do this job, they do not oblige clients to tip them. In Italy at all, different than the US system there is no a forced tipping system , clients can tip as they desire , if they like the service or not.
As other travellers posted their comments with pictures, we have different kinds of rooms in many floors. Please always check our website to get good rates and if you happen to return to Rome, please give us another chance to show you our other rooms.
We look forward to hearing from you in another occasion.

Kind regards
Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I brought my study abroad group here for four nights and it was absolutely perfect for us. Very comfortable (excellent A/C) and attractive rooms, very nice service at the desk. There is no elevator, which was not a problem for us. I found the staff to be very helpful, and have I mentioned the location?! 2 blocks from Piazza Navona, 3 from the Pantheon! We will be back next year.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mi8co, Responsabile reception at Hotel Navona, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for dedicating your precious time on writing us this excellent review, all our staff are glad to hear from you that your stay was perfect in our hotel, hope the rest of your staff members liked our hotel too!

We look forward to meeting you again next year in another experience.
Thank you so much
Mike
Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed here with the family in July 2014. The location was absolutely perfect. You can walk to anything in the historical center of Rome. We were less than 2 short blocks from Piazza Navona and the Pantheon, also a short walk to St. Peter's and many great restaurants. The room was spacious and very nice (a triple room) with nice furnishings, AC and a nice private bath with a nice shower. My father also stayed in a single room which was pretty small but otherwise a nice room too, certainly adequate for one or two people. The breakfast (included in the rate) was great, including some hot foods, even some eggs, which you rarely see in an Italian breakfast. The staff was very nice and helpful too. Will definitely stay here again. They also have a convenient reasonably priced airport transport service (45 euros for all of us) that got us to Fiumicino in about 30 minutes.

Room Tip: The triple room was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CoppolaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mi8co, Responsabile reception at Hotel Navona, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Coppola,
We really appreciate your kindness in posting this encouraging and positive review on the TripAdvisor. Our staff is glad to hear from you that your family liked our location, hotel and breakfast. Even though some rooms may look a bit small considering the age of the building, we tried to put all the necessary hotel amenities to give guests the best comfort in the hotel.
We look forward to meeting you in another occasion.
Kind regards
Mike
Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#106 of 1,272 in Rome
1,242 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#31 of 1,272 in Rome
850 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Colors Hotel
Navona Colors Hotel
#80 of 1,272 in Rome
698 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#45 of 1,272 in Rome
1,053 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#228 of 1,272 in Rome
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Navona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Navona

Address: Via dei Sediari 8, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Rome
#66 Family Hotel in Rome
#199 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £63 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Navona 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the historic centre, Hotel Navona Roma enjoys a privileged position only a few steps from Piazza Navona, the Pantheon, Campo de’ Fiori and the other main tourist attractions in the Eternal City, all within walking distance. Stay at Hotel Navona and immerse yourself in history. This historic 15th century building stands on the site of the Baths of Agrippa,, the first bath complex in the city, which was built by Marcus Vipsanius Agrippa and opened in 12 BC. The hotel has been completely refurbished, while retaining aspects that reflect the glorious past of the Eternal City. Several rooms feature frescoed ceilings, and ancient Roman bricks are still visible in the communal areas. The hotel provides different types of room with Economy, Standard, Superior and Family Rooms. Each elegantly decorated room features a private bathroom, air conditioning, free Wi-Fi (excluding groups ), mini-bar and satellite TV. For those who prefer a stay in total freedom, we offer comfortable, functional apartments with kitchens in Rome’s historic centre, just a few minutes from Hotel Navona. Hotel Navona provides a full buffet breakfast served between 7.30am and 10am, for you to start your tour of the city bursting with energy. Breakfast is not included in the room rate, and is charged at 10 euros per person. Take advantage of our special ‘breakfast included’ offers for your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Navona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Navona Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing