We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Light and beautiful”

Santa Cecilia in Trastevere
Book In Advance
More Info
US$41.49*
and up
Underground Basilicas and Foro Boario Small-Group Walking Tour
More Info
US$53.11*
and up
Rome Trastevere Walking Tour
Ranked #102 of 1,523 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This Church was constructed between 817 and 824 AD, on the site of an earlier fifth-century building, and features a grand courtyard, garden, twelfth-century bell tower and a gothic tabernacle by Arnolfo di Cambio.
Flen, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Light and beautiful”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

A rather simple church being in Rome - with light colours. And situated a little bit off the tourist track. But situated in Trastevere which is a must this church is a nice place to calm down. Lovely!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mattsaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    93
    13
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

The Church of Santa Cecilia was the second church that we visited on our "underground Rome" tour and it was just spectacular. The courtyard and church are beautifully maintained and the frescos and statues amazing, when you have a guide explaining the history of the church and the Saint BUT the subfloor to us was just mind blowing! To know we were walking on ground, paved and tiled that the Romans walked on over 2000 years ago and looking at the painted walls and other artefacts just being there, absolutely stunning!
We were fortunate enough to witness a group of young choir girls cooling their feet in the fountain when we came out and they were practicing, beautiful young voices.
Not sure of the cost to just visit but the tour was under $50.00 so I would think not too expensive and so worth it. I will go again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank rodgerskay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
991 reviews
470 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“St. Cecilia”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stopped here because the church was on Rick Steves "Trastevere Walk". The statue under the altar is a copy of what Stefano Maderno claimed he saw when the tomb of St. Cecilia was opened. She turned to dust, but he made this statue to memorialize her and what he saw. Since the present church was built in the early 9th century and extensively restored later, there is a mixture of architectural styles. We didn't see the frescoes so that might have made our impression of the church different.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott8147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torremolinos, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Church In Trastavere”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This church was one of the last stops on our walking tour. It is well worth the visit and looks beautiful illuminated at night.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sl0tta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
619 reviews
410 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 483 helpful votes
“Worth going just for the magnificent mosaics”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This church has a lovely garden decorated with a enormous and graceful urn, surrounded by a little fountain. Roses and flowering shrubs were still blooming when we visited in late October 2013.

You enter through a portico which incorporates interesting ancient inscriptions and architectural fragments, which are stuck into the portico walls. There's also an ornate tomb to one side. If you look up when entering the portico you'll see a band of swirling mosaics which are a hint of the beauty inside.

While the church has pretty decorative painting, including a lovely ceiling and the vaulted ceilings of the side aisles, what takes your breath away are the absolutely spectacular mosaics in the apse. Truly beautiful depictions of Jesus and saints, with gold halos, flowing robes, and calm faces. Beneath the human figures are a procession of lambs. The entire apse sparkles with these beautiful mosaics.

An ornate canopy covers the very emotive sculpture of Saint Cecilia who was martyred here. The statue makes you feel for this poor woman and what she suffered, a testament to the sculptor who conveys so much feeling in the rather small statue.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SpanishStepsApt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Santa Cecilia in Trastevere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing