We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, quaint little hotel in a quiet neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fabio Massimo Design Hotel
Ranked #129 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This place is adorable and oh so affordable. Our room was small but fit us well, even with a crib. Breakfast could be better but it is a very common continental breakfast. Don't expect many restaurants to speak Italian in the neighborhood, this is authentic Rome.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoeAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioMassimoDesign, Responsabile reception at Fabio Massimo Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear zoeAtlanta,
thank you for your feedback. You got the real Roma in fact. We are in a very residential area full of Restaurants and shops... We are sorry those did not speak english with you but we are sure that they have been able to let them understand.
Come soon reminding us you have been guest !
Regards.

Raffaella Corsi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 480 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

My partner and I stayed for six nights in July 2013 and we both loved it.

The location of the hotel is ideal, the Vatican is nearby and it sits right in between two metro stations that will provide quick access to the rest of the city, we found it much nicer to walk the city though. There are several nice restaurants nearby - Osteria Centouno and L'Isola della Pizza to name two that stand out - which are also reviewed of these by me. There is plenty of shopping nearby for those so inclined and the area has a very genuinely italian feel to it.

The rooms in the hotel are beautifully decorated and very trendy, they come with everything you need and the mini bar is filled daily with a bottle of fizzy water, still water and two soft drinks. The only one, very minor complaint which did not retract at all from our stay was that we were a little short on places to hang our clothes, there are about six big hangers suspended from the ceiling, we just hung things on top of things and this did the trick, just worth noting. The rooms were extremely clean and kept that way by the very friendly cleaning lady. The beds are big enough to sleep a small family, we found ourselves using about a third of the total bed size.

The breakfast was a very nice continental breakfast, no cooked english here but i wouldn't go to Rome expecting that. The nutella cake available for breakfast will (for chocolate lovers) make your toes curl.

As good as the hotel is, the thing that really makes it stand out is the staff. From the moment you are greeted by the guy on reception on the bottom floor to the moment you leave, everyone who works in this place is just so friendly. In particular Rafaela, who really made our stay great, you could tell when talking to her about Rome that she was very passionate about the city and she really went out of her way to make sure we seen the best of it.

We have been home two weeks and are planning to go back next year, we won't shop around for cheap hotels or the best deals or anything as we know we have found a very special place with Fabio Massimo and wouldn't want to go any where else. Five stars doesn't do it justice

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigfunkymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioMassimoDesign, Responsabile reception at Fabio Massimo Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you thank you and thank you !!!! I'm personally very happy to have left you an enjoyble stay in our Hotel and city itself ! Your feedback is the result of our efforts in the job we make daily. It is a great pleasure when this is well done.
Whenever you want to come, we are really pleased to welcome you again.
Regards.
Raffaella Corsi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Lovely quaint Hotel. Rooms were clean and very functional. The staff were so helpful and so nice. They couldn't do enough for us. The Hotel is in a great position and very central. Close to the metro, Vatican, shops and you could walk to most places. Loved the décor. Overall would stay again. The stay was really amazing. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioMassimoDesign, Responsabile reception at Fabio Massimo Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear Julie,
we wuold like to thank you for your nice feedback, which is very important for us.
Come back soon to our magnificient city !
Regards.

Raffaella Corsi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Honestly, I spent countless hours reading reviews, searching for a hotel for my family in Rome. After staying here for 4 nights, I am convinced this hotel is the best value you can find. Really great location (beautiful and quiet but central), friendly and professional staff, clean and new spacious rooms with 2 beds (decent firm mattress), and big clean bathrooms (rain shower with good water pressure!) -- all for about $220 USD per night, in the last week of May. For most hotels in Rome (at that time of year for that price) you get old, small dirty rooms (with decrepit bathrooms/showers) on loud dirty streets with a staff that at best is indifferent to you and at worst steals from your room when you're not there. This hotel is truly a gem -- I wouldn't even think of staying anywhere else the next time I'm going to Rome. We stayed 4 nights and had virtually no complaints (and we are picky). The staff, especially Rafealla, took time to help us make sure we were seeing all the right things in the most efficient ways possible and recommended some good (non-touristy) restaurants. They even recommended things/places to do in Florence (where we took a day trip). The only thing I can't speak to is the breakfast (which we skipped every day) and the elevator is very small and slow. But other than that, I think this hotel is fantastic value for your money, especially compared to the rest of hotels in Rome.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank JP N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioMassimoDesign, Responsabile reception at Fabio Massimo Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear Guest,
thanks a lot. You got the best .....and it is very kind of you to let us know. I personally love my job, as any other collegue of mine, so it is very easy for us to do our best in the better way.
It is always noce to know you will really remind anything about your holidays. We got our aim !!!!
We will welcome you if you decide to come back.
Regards.

Raffaella Corsi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I stayed one night in the Fabio Massimo Design Hotel in June 2013. I wish I could have stayed longer. Very clean nice hotel with a minimalist design. A great value. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I'd definitely return to Fabio Massimo Design Hotel.

The Prati is a great neighborhood - full of shops and restaurants patronized by locals. This is a neighborhood where real life happens. Do yourself a favor and give this place a try.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southernwayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioMassimoDesign, Responsabile reception at Fabio Massimo Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you for your revew. It is very important for us to do always the best for all our guests.
Come back soon !

Regards.

Raffaella Corsi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

5 minutes walk to the metro station and a bus stop directly outside. 10 minutes walk to Vatican City or the main shopping street, Via Cola Di Rienzo.
The hotel is on the 4th floor and has lift access. It is the perfect place to relax away from the crowds and noise of the city. The staff are wonderfully helpful, particularly Raffaella who seems to make it her personal endeavour to ensure that the guests experience all rome has to offer. There is no telephone access in the room but the staff will make bookings for you or allow use of the telephone in reception. Air conditioning is great.
I would also recommend a tour of Rome by night arranged by the staff. car and driver for 2 hours.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioMassimoDesign, Responsabile reception at Fabio Massimo Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Angela,
thanks a lot a lot for your feedback. It is exactly as you said. We always want to do the best to let you enjoy your stay, our hotel, the city and Italy itself. It would be a pleasure for us, whenever you would like to come back here.
Thanks again and regards to all of you.

Raffaella Corsi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed in June '13 for 2 nights in room 409 which appeared to be a former studio flat.

Location, service, accommodation and amenities were all very good.

Would certainly return

Note - every hotel in Italy does not allow an iron!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioMassimoDesign, Responsabile reception at Fabio Massimo Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Dear Guest,
thanks a lot for your feedback. We will wait for you, whenever you decide to come back.
Regards.

Raffaella Corsi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Relais dei Papi
Hotel Relais dei Papi
#203 of 1,269 in Rome
645 reviews
Prati
Tango Hotel
Tango Hotel
#56 of 1,269 in Rome
682 reviews
Prati
Twentyone Hotel
Twentyone Hotel
#190 of 1,269 in Rome
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
#293 of 1,269 in Rome
597 reviews
Prati
Hotel Gerber
Hotel Gerber
#384 of 1,269 in Rome
320 reviews
Prati
Hotel Farnese
Hotel Farnese
#130 of 1,269 in Rome
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fabio Massimo Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fabio Massimo Design Hotel

Address: Viale Giulio Cesare 71, 00192 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £74 - £423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fabio Massimo Design Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fabio Massimo Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing