We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of Residenza Maritti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residenza Maritti
Ranked #15 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We were a bit hesitant about this place to stay because it was so different from the hotels we picked for our honeymoon. However, we definitely recommend this place to others!

The location is perfect (which was the main reason we picked this place), Gianluca was very friendly and helpful, and the room was nice. The breakfast selection was more "functional" than amazing, but it was tasty and convenient. Gianluca warned us that the room was small, but that wasn't a problem for us. Air conditioning worked well.

The one downside was that there wasn't much of a sound barrier between our room and the rest of the floor (e.g. people coming in and out). This wasn't too much of a problem for us because we brought ear plugs. Also, it was hard to get pitch-blackness in the room at night. There was no safe in the room. That said, the room was affordable, which made it worth it.

Over all, we liked it, and would recommend it to any friends wanting to see Rome!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianluca M, Proprietario at Residenza Maritti, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Thank you to recommend our Residenza.
Your feedback is an elaborate and detailed review very helful for us.
Thank you for the excellent opinion!
Gianluca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 165 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here for 5 nights during our trip through Italy this summer and we had an amazing stay. The residenza is essentially a series of large shared appartments each with a fully functioning kitchen and private locking rooms each with their own ensuite bathroom. Gianluca runs the show and is around whenever you need him for something, but otherwise it is like you are staying in your own little apartment. Gianluca is friendly and genuinely helpful. He sat with us for over an hour one evening on the rooftop terrace to give us the lay of the land in Rome and help us plan our five days in the city. He was also extremely helpful in suggesting places for great italian food that are not tourist traps and arranged a private guide for the vatican city which ended up being one of the highlights of our entire trip.
For a relaxing personalized stay in an ideal location in Rome, I would highly recommend staying at this great little place!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summer2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianluca M, Proprietario at Residenza Maritti, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2016

Our work is to improve day by day our hospitality formula, always looking for the best mixture between beauty and comfort, ancient and modern, professionalism and sense of familiarity.
Thank you for your excellent feedback!
Gianluca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

After finishing our pilgrimage from Assisi to Rome we stayed 4 days in this hotel. Gianluca welcomed us very friendly. Straight from the first minute we felt like being home. The hotel is situated in the centre of Rome near the Forum Romanum and the Colosseum. Standing on the roof terras you get a wonderfull view over the city, something we will never forget. The room was comfortable and clean. And Gianluca gave us good tips how to discover Rome. We are very glad that we could be his guests,
If we ever go back to Rome we surely will try to stay again in Residenza Maritti!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jack v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianluca M, Proprietario at Residenza Maritti, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2016

We are happy you have appreciated our hospitality!
Thank you for your excellent feedback!!
We hope to see you again.
Gianluca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I stayed with my husband last year for few nights (4 I think) and everything was perfect.
The room Papiro is a bit too small with view to interior patio but is comfortable and very well equiped.
I enjoyed the possibility of preparing your own breakfast with the available food and you get to know other guests in the kitchen and dining room.
The house has a lot of charm and the location is fantastic.
Gianluca Maritti, the manager, is very nice and available for anything you might need.

Room Tip: Better to get a room with view to the Forum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nini I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianluca M, Proprietario at Residenza Maritti, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Thank you for your feedback.
Papiro is a little, private and special room. We are glad that you have appreciated its atmosphere and that of our house.
See you soon
Gianluca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I have never felt the need to write a review until now. This place is wonderful! If you're looking for a well-priced, clean, comfortable, welcoming place in a perfect location this is it!
I stayed for 5 nights, by myself on my first trip to Europe. Gianluca (the manager) was extremely helpful and made me feel at home from the moment I walked in the door.
The rooms are full of history and beautiful furniture. I had a fantastic, quiet, undisturbed sleep every night. The kitchen was fully equip for breakfast or a snack after a siesta.
The location was perfect. Close to two metro stations, the Colosseum and Roman Forum. It's an easy walk to the Trevi fountain, Spanish steps, Vittoriano and much more!
One more note, the rooftop is amazing! Some of the best views on Rome. Do yourself a favour, grab some antipasto, wine and head up there for sunset. Magnificent!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ali_bub1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianluca M, Proprietario at Residenza Maritti, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Thank you to recommend our Residenza.
The satisfaction of our guests, foreign and italian, is the proof that our hospitality formula is able to meet the differing demands.
Quality of human relations and professionalism run in tandem.
We hope to see you again!
Gianluca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

"Location, hospitality, security, comfort, value and welcoming" are some words to describe our experience at Residenza Maritti. All the reviews we read before choosing Maritti (and their website pictures) proved accurate and then some. The residence is well located in proximity to many of Rome's historical wonders and the transport infrastructure (bus, metro @ Colosseum or Rome's central train station, Termini) is within skipping distance. The property has been within the family for 250 years and they're wonderful custodians of this history. Our airconditioned room, Zia Olga was spacious with separate ensuite, fronted Via de Conti and ruins of the Roman Forum. Superb. The roof top terrace views are magnificent. We had 2 special twilight sundowners with wine, local produce and good company. The communal kitchen is well stocked for DIY b'fast otherwise a supermarket 7 mins walk away will provide the ingredients to prepare a little or a lot. The area in general around the residence is full of bars, restaurants and the odd non-descript church that once inside you marvel at the fresco and majesty of local place of worship. Gianluca and his father Luigi are exceptional hosts. Gianluca was available for advice, help and conversation. Well worth your patronage.

Room Tip: Accommodation is on 2 levels. Our room, Zia Olga was on level 1 and fronted Via de Conti...we loved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianluca M, Proprietario at Residenza Maritti, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Thank you!
Your review defines in few and beautiful words what we are trying to do in our Residenza: a suitable mixture between beauty and comfort, ancient and modern, professionalism and sense of familiarity.
You have exactly summarised our core business, our philosphy and our sense of hospitality.
Gianluca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

A nice hotel , not expencive , the best location you can get , wallking distance to all sites of Rome. Rome is so romantic , we keep on comming here , we had wonderfull days. We will return to Rome and we will return to Residenza Maritti soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stiev a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianluca M, Proprietario at Residenza Maritti, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Thank you so much for your feed back.
See you again in Residenza Maritti.
Gianluca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,272 in Rome
7,104 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#10 of 1,272 in Rome
675 reviews
Monti
Princeps Boutique Hotel
Princeps Boutique Hotel
#14 of 1,272 in Rome
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#11 of 1,272 in Rome
3,043 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#21 of 1,272 in Rome
1,227 reviews
Appia Antica Resort
#1 of 1,272 in Rome
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Maritti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Maritti

Address: Via Tor De' Conti 17, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £87 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residenza Maritti is a B&B and guesthouse located in a eighteenth century palace built on Roman ruins, fully renovated in 1999, overlooking the ruins of the Temple of Mars Ultor in the Forum of Augustus. Here you will feel at home even if your stay is very short: our friendly welcome and hospitality will make you enjoy your stay. We offer our guests highly comfortable accommodation. In Residenza Maritti, you can stay in the environments intended for common use, free to use the kitchen and eat your meal in comfortable and spacious room. You can also, in the spaces, use internet and check your e-mail. Everyday from 08:00 to 10:00, you can access the buffet breakfast at our space dedicated to Art and Culture, "Lupigiada". You can choose this place for your parties, dinners, cocktails, aperitifs and events or theme nights. On request, for a minimum number of 12 persons it is possible to organize food and wine tastings with the highest quality products guided by expert sommeliers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Residenza Maritti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing