We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location in 500 yr old building. and the Wi-Fi works.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residenza Maritti

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Residenza Maritti
Ranked #37 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location in 500 yr old building. and the Wi-Fi works.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

John Luca is a very nice and helpful host. the location could not be better. and felt completely safe on walks at night. overlooks the forum. awesome view of rome from rooftop. bathroom are new and clean. breakfast fixins included but you have to cook it and clean up after. and for travelers on a budget, saving on the expense of eating out every night can mean big bucks. local markets have all you need to make a nice meal in the clean and adequate kitchen. Beautiful old building and antique furniture. A/C works and very quiet.
My ONLY complaint, and i am not alone on this, is the extremely hard and uncomfortable mattresses. i was very sorry that multiple folded wool blankets did very little to improve them.
i am easily pleased and do not expect a tempur pedic bed, i do at the least need an adequately restful nights sleep which was impossible to get on these mattresses. Please John Luca, invest in some foam or feather bed covers. I would love to book a month here but only if the mattress problem is addressed.

Room Tip: our rooms were on the street and at night it got a little noisy but did not last to late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raleigh s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianluca M, Proprietario at Residenza Maritti, responded to this review, 3 October 2016
Thank you for your review!
We are doing some changes in Residenza.
We are changing bed linen, and now you will find a comforter!
We are working for the mattress!
Thanks a lot
Gianluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    66
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
114
110
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Me and my boyfriend Have just got back from two nights/3 days staying here. First thing is its great value for money! Because you get a huge, clean room in the centre of Rome. Colleseum 5 minutes one way, Mussolini's palace 5 minutes the other way and the actual hotel is right in the Roman Forum, the centre of old Rome. We walked to the Vatican City which took around 35 minutes. The pantheon, trevi fountain and spanish steps were also within walking distance. The owner here have us a map on our arrival and a few important pointers which proved key to getting to do and see the best parts of Rome! This is a family run business and has been for 250 years! They are very proud of this and so they should be! A beautiful hotel, reasonably priced with great hosts! Oh and the roof terrace was amazing!! That's a must!! : )

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanloudrew87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianluca M, Proprietario at Residenza Maritti, responded to this review, 3 October 2016
We are so happy for your fantastic feedback!
Thank you.
I hope to see you again chez Residenza Maritti!
Gianluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goettingen, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights with our eleven-year old daughter. The location is perfect; it couldn't be better (within walking distance of Colloseum and Forum Romanum). Our room was simple, lovely and impeccably clean. The atmosphere at Residenza Maritti is very familial: Our host, Gianluca, invited us to his roof terrace, with stunning views of the city, and he suggested some excellent restaurants for lunch and dinner. For breakfast, you get to share a small kitchen with other guests. You prepare your own but there's everything you need: good coffee, fresh eggs, toast, yoghurt, cereal, etc. - if you're not looking for some fancy breakfast, it's a great way to start the day. Altogether, we couldn't have wished for a nicer accommodation & will definitely want to stay here again when we're in Rome again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianluca M, Proprietario at Residenza Maritti, responded to this review, 3 October 2016
Thank you for great feedback!
If you come back to Residenza, you will find a new breakfast service!
Buffet prepared in the roof garden or in the wine cellar.
See you
Gianluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

The location of this sweet Residenza is superb, especially if you have a Roman history buff in the family! Outside the front door are ruins, see plenty more from the rooftop, including the Colosseum almost around the corner.
We shared a four bed room with our two teens on the third floor. My husband and I slept on the sofa bed which was very comfortable (they usually aren't!). Not much spare space, but really more than adequate for the night time hours we were there.
Breakfast ingredients are provided on a make-your-own basis, which worked well for us. I had notified the host, Gianluca, in advance about gluten-free requirements, and he had sourced a range of products, which was very much appreciated.
Gianluca was very warm and caring, and keen to assist with eating out and tourist information, as well as taxi. He also organized an airport shuttle, which worked well. (Suggest you arrive by taxi first time, as it's a little hard to find.)
Overall, whilst basic, it is clean and tidy, staff were helpful, wifi was good, lift in building, breakfast included, room airconditioned - would highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianluca M, Proprietario at Residenza Maritti, responded to this review, 3 October 2016
Thank you to recommend our Residenza.
We are proud of your satisfaction.
Gianluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Okay, this is a great joint run by a nice man. Prices are very reasonable, location is excellent, and the rooms are charming. Three small warnings, though. First, don't go there without a map. (In fact, don't go anywhere in Rome without a map, because they have very few tourist street signs.) It's unfortunate that Gianluca doesn't automatically provide his visitors with directions. Second, there are no amenities like soap or shampoo. Third, I don't like his "shuttles" to the airport. I asked him to get me a "taxi," which is limited by law to cost 30 euros. He got me a "shuttle," which cost 40 and took longer than the airport bus I'd taken when I arrived.

Okay, now that you're warned, book the place anyway. It's pretty great and you'll have a terrific time.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RomanHans1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianluca M, Proprietario at Residenza Maritti, responded to this review, 3 October 2016
Thank you for your feedback.
Residenza Maritti has improved its services in the last three years, now we have custom maps and a shuttle service very competitive.
Residenza Maritti in not an hotel, we don't have amenities like soap or shampoo, but if necessary we have an extra for emergencies.
Thank you to recommend us!
Gianluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denison, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

My mother in law and I stayed here for 3 nights, and had a great experience. Our flight arrived pretty early, and our room was not yet cleaned when we arrived. Our room I believe it was the Olga, however was vacant and we were allowed to drop our luggage in the room, given the key and then join Gianluca on the roof top terrace where there were exceptional views, and he gave us advise and directions to all the local sights, after which we went down and changed for our sight seeing adventures, by the time we got back the room was cleaned and freshly made. There were only 2 slight negatives as others have noted the beds are extremely firm and we did hear noise from the street but I liked looking out and seeing the ruins so it was fine with us, ear plugs took care of noise. We liked being able to fix our own quick breakfast on our own time and meeting with the other people staying at this property. Having an elevator however small was a plus. I would not hesitate to stay at this property again if in Rome.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NEWLKAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianluca M, Proprietario at Residenza Maritti, responded to this review, 3 October 2016
Thank you to recommend Residenza Maritti.
We have improved our services in the last years.
Also the noise has been reduced now, Municipality of Rome closed via dei Fori Imperiali to private cars.
Thanks
Gianluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

For those of you who expect hotel-like services, amenities (small shampoos, conditioners, soaps) and fully-served breakfast buffets I would recommend you look elsewhere. This is a do-it-yourself place with simple, adequate furnishings and (the room we had was) typically small. The bed was not very comfortable, very hard without a box spring and covered in simple linens and a not-thick-enough blanket. When we asked for some conditioner/shampoo though, Gianluca showed up a bit later with a full-sized bottle...I think he got it from his own bathroom.

Ok, that's all the complaints. Here's what I have to say overall though: You will struggle to find a better host. I know you won't match the location. You certainly will not match the price. The place is very clean and well taken care of. Like other reviews, you share a common area and kitchen with a few other rooms. It's as if you have your own kitchen but you don't have to stock it. All the food he had available was fresh and good.

I have read that others found it noisy. Our room was whisper quiet, save for one barking dog just as we were trying to go to sleep, but he quieted eventually.

When we arrived (from an early flight), our host, Gianluca, lead us up to the roof terrace where he took the time to answer our questions and make us feel welcome. After such a long flight, we needed some rest. He checked us in early so we could. Unfortunately, he had some renovation/expansion work going on, tons of hammering and scraping. With weary eyes, I asked him if there would be any way for the workers to take a break for a while. Gianluca, said it would be difficult to change the work but said he would see what he could do. The pounding stopped. I am sure our request was difficult to meet, but he did it for us. Wonderful customer service.

Gianluca went out of his way before we arrived to hep us with tour arrangements and itinerary suggestions. His efforts saved us (literally) hundreds of dollars. If you need a private, guided tour of anywhere, just ask Gianluca for help. Incredible.

I would recommend this place for adult travelers.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T204raveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianluca M, Proprietario at Residenza Maritti, responded to this review, 3 October 2016
Thank you for your detailed review.
It has been very helpful for us.
In these years we have changed some things:
now you can find breakfast buffet, prepared on the roof garden or in our wine cellar, it depends on the weather,
we changed our bed linen,
we finished works on the fourth floor, now we have three renewed rooms.
Hospitality and attention for our guests are the same, maybe improved.
We hope to see you once more.
Gianluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,373 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#15 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Colonna
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,387 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Maritti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Maritti

Property: Residenza Maritti
Address: Via Tor de' Conti, 17, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residenza Maritti is located in a eighteenth century palace built on Roman ruins,fully renovated in 1999, overlooking the ruins of the Temple of Mars Ultor in the Forum of Augustus.Here you will feel at home even if your stay is very short: our friendly welcome and hospitality will make you enjoy your stay.We offer our guests highly comfortable accommodation. The “Residenza Maritti” is in via Tor dei Conti 17, opposite the Arco dei Pantani, one of the two arches of the Forum of Augustus which gave access to the Subura.In Residenza Maritti, you can stay in the environments intended for common use, free to use the kitchen and eat your meal in comfortable and spacious room. You can also, in the spaces, use internet and check your e-mail. All the mornings from 08:00 to 10:00, you can access the buffet breakfast at our space dedicated to 'art and culture. The "Lupigiada" is a project that embraces the idea of ​​creating a space to realize our passion for music and art together with the pleasure for food and good drinks. Atmosphere soft and reserved, vaults and walls with exposed brick and unique items that complement the decor. Old and new blend together to envelop you in a world out of time. All around LUPIGIADA is also an exhibition space for anyone who wants to choose us as a "frame" their own works of art. You can choose the Lupigiada as a place for your parties, dinners, cocktails, aperitifs and events or theme nights. A grand piano and the only and exclusive atmosphere will characterize your evenings. On request, for a minimum number of 12 persons it is possible to organize food and wine tastings with the highest quality products guided by expert sommeliers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing