We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good experience”
Review of Residenza Maritti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residenza Maritti
Ranked #14 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The staff were very friendly, courteous and helpful.
The location is right in the centre of Rome in easy walking distance of the tourist attractions
The rooms are basic, but clean, and towels are a reasonable size.
There is no restaurant, but simple breakfast food is available for self provision
I stayed once or twice a week over a six week period

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ramaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianluca M, Proprietario at Residenza Maritti, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2016

Thank you for having chosen Residenza.
Thanks for your good review.
Gianluca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
There are newer reviews for Residenza Maritti
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in October 2013. Gianluca was a wonderful host. it was very clean . views were amazing from roof top terrace. right around the corner from Colosseum. would go back in a minute!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank mizekman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianluca M, Proprietario at Residenza Maritti, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2016

Thank you for your good review!
I apologize for the late reply.
Gianluca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Located right next to the Forum, with views from the rooftop of many Ancient Roman sites, and within easy walking distance to all of them. Gianluca was a gracious and friendly host. Good restaurants nearby. Bed was comfortable, Bath & Kitchen adequate. I would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianluca M, Proprietario at Residenza Maritti, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2016

Thank you for your feedback.
We are glad you have appreciated the comfort of Residenza.
See you soon
Gianluca e Pierfrancesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Located close to the historical sites of Rome and within walking distance of the center. Clean comfortable rooms, self service kitchen with plentiful and good quality breakfast and snacks. Make sure you take the phone number with you since it may be difficult to find.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Raphipf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianluca M, Proprietario at Residenza Maritti, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2016

Thank you for your good review!
Gianluca e Piefrancesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My girlfriend (now-fiancee!) recently got back from a two week trip throughout Italy, and Rome was one of the highlights without a doubt. The Residenza Maritti exceeded all expectations. Gianluca was a a kind, gracious host and answered all of our questions with a smile. The rooftop was absolutely stunning. If there wasn't so much to do out in the city we gladly could've sat up there with a bottle of wine all afternoon and taken in the beauty. You can see the Forum, Coliseum, and ancient ruins from the roof just a perfect place to take in the glory of Rome. The rooms were comfortable and quiet, the shower pressure was fantastic, and the DIY breakfast was easy each morning as well. Couple of amazing, local restaurants right down the street as well. For location, value, and service - this place cannot be beat.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianluca M, Proprietario at Residenza Maritti, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2016

We don't know what to say more...your feedback is absolutely fantastic for us!
Thank you so much!
Pierfrancesco e Gianluca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

If there is a better combination of location and value in Rome I'd be amazed. A few minutes from all the sites/sights of Ancient Rome, this pensione is slap-bang in the middle of the city.
Gianluca is a warm and engaged host, as interested in his guests as they are in his city. The atmosphere here is very much one of house-guests joining in - the makings of breakfast (cereals, bread, fruit, yoghurt, eggs, juice etc) are freely available in the kitchen on each floor, and it is up to you to prepare and clear up after yourself - it can be a good opportunity to get into conversation with other visitors, share tips on what to see and places to eat. It was also good to get back after a day of sightseeing and be able to make tea, for instance.
The rooms are a good size, spotlessly clean with perfectly adequate shower rooms and firm beds. Residenza Maritti is not a luxury option - bring your own toiletries - but it doesn't set itself up as such; what it does do, and very well, is provide an exceptionally good value central base in the capital for those who will be spending their time tramping around the sights. If that is your aim for a stay in Rome and you are happy to put in a bit of effort in order to take advantage of what must be the best nightly rate in the city, then I'm sure you'll enjoy a stay at this slightly quirky option.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank palexri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianluca M, Proprietario at Residenza Maritti, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2016

Thank you for review!
Sure....Residenza Maritti is quite quirky, is our characteristic, you can't find in Rome another like it!
Thank you for your amazing opinion about us..
Gianluca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

John Luca is a very nice and helpful host. the location could not be better. and felt completely safe on walks at night. overlooks the forum. awesome view of rome from rooftop. bathroom are new and clean. breakfast fixins included but you have to cook it and clean up after. and for travelers on a budget, saving on the expense of eating out every night can mean big bucks. local markets have all you need to make a nice meal in the clean and adequate kitchen. Beautiful old building and antique furniture. A/C works and very quiet.
My ONLY complaint, and i am not alone on this, is the extremely hard and uncomfortable mattresses. i was very sorry that multiple folded wool blankets did very little to improve them.
i am easily pleased and do not expect a tempur pedic bed, i do at the least need an adequately restful nights sleep which was impossible to get on these mattresses. Please John Luca, invest in some foam or feather bed covers. I would love to book a month here but only if the mattress problem is addressed.

Room Tip: our rooms were on the street and at night it got a little noisy but did not last to late.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raleigh s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianluca M, Proprietario at Residenza Maritti, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2016

Thank you for your review!
We are doing some changes in Residenza.
We are changing bed linen, and now you will find a comforter!
We are working for the mattress!
Thanks a lot
Gianluca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,267 in Rome
6,803 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#15 of 1,267 in Rome
618 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,267 in Rome
3,595 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,267 in Rome
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Maritti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Maritti

Address: Via Tor de' Conti, 17, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £103 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residenza Maritti is a B&B and guesthouse located in a eighteenth century palace built on Roman ruins, fully renovated in 1999, overlooking the ruins of the Temple of Mars Ultor in the Forum of Augustus. Here you will feel at home even if your stay is very short: our friendly welcome and hospitality will make you enjoy your stay. We offer our guests highly comfortable accommodation. In Residenza Maritti, you can stay in the environments intended for common use, free to use the kitchen and eat your meal in comfortable and spacious room. You can also, in the spaces, use internet and check your e-mail. Everyday from 08:00 to 10:00, you can access the buffet breakfast at our space dedicated to Art and Culture, "Lupigiada". You can choose this place for your parties, dinners, cocktails, aperitifs and events or theme nights. On request, for a minimum number of 12 persons it is possible to organize food and wine tastings with the highest quality products guided by expert sommeliers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Residenza Maritti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing