We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, gracious hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residenza Maritti

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Residenza Maritti
Ranked #31 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location, gracious hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Location across the street from the Roman Forum & Colosseum, easy walking distance to other sites in Rome. Free wifi, lift for luggage, quiet and clean. Fourth floor apartment is completely refurbished; request one of these rooms! Would absolutely stay again! Luigi and Gianluca were great hosts!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KTF1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianluca M, Proprietario at Residenza Maritti, responded to this review, 12 October 2016
Thank you for your feedback!
We are delighted about your appreciation.
Gianluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    66
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
114
111
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

As others have pointed out it is an old family residence, situated right in the middle of the city, on a small cobbled street across from part of the Roman forum. Fantastic views from the rooftop terrace. Our group of 7 took over one of the floors . We all had ensuite bathrooms( no bath but a good shower).

Our room (Elena)was at the back, with no view- overlooking a courtyard. It was large and clean and had WiFi and was very quiet. The heating took a while to work out but eventually we managed. The floor was very cold so I'd suggest bringing some socks or slippers. A few small rugs would be great beside the bed! Our bed was extremely hard- no- one else had such a hard bed.
Bring shampoo and shower gel. Don't forget to close the shutters or else you might wake up
with the birds:-)

Breakfast was self-service.-eggs, jams, butter, juices , fruit and toast bread. There is a fridge in the kitchen where you can also store your own items. One of our party kindly went out to buy fresh bread in the morning as well as some ham from a deli.

Gian Luca was an excellent host.. He gave us recommendations for restaurants that were great and just around the corner. He also recommended shopping areas and markets to visit.
A great bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: The quiet rooms are at the back, overlooking a courtyard . No views and not as bright as the front r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SwissW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianluca M, Proprietario at Residenza Maritti, responded to this review, 12 October 2016
Thank you to recommend Residenza Maritti.
We are glad you appreciated the particularity of our Home.
See you
Gianluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Great weekend with friends for the rugby. Eight of us had our own floor with 4 doubles / en-suites and a communal kitchen and lounge. Would recommend and return without hesitation. A lovely family run hotel in the heart of the action.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TNC65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianluca M, Proprietario at Residenza Maritti, responded to this review, 12 October 2016
Thank you for the great feedback.
We hope to see you again.
Gianluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

You arrive by the tube just facing the Coliseum archs and in five minutes you gain a small old palace just on the border of the Roman Forum, in a nineteenth-century typical corner of Rome.
You are welcomed at the entryphone with a joyous " Well arrived ! ".
You open the window of your room and, hanging over you, you see three gorgeous, huge Corinthian capitels of the temple of Mars at the Forum of Augustus; the impression is to have them just inside the house.
The bed & breakfast, is derived from the apartments of the palace, furnished with old pieces of a hundred years ago, coming from family homes. One room is called "Aunt Bianca," another "Aunt Olga, another " Venetian" because furnished with Venetian style pieces.
Everything is in perfect, extremely coherent style of "grandma's house". On the terrace rooof garden a cozy loungeroom with breathtaking views of the Forum and the Capitol. B&B service not recommended only for people looking for the splendor of a modern hotel.
Elevator, TV in room, internet corner, free Wi Fi, good self-managed breakfast included. Just two splendid days. The area behind is full of restaurants, taverns, bars for every need.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lasciateminpace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianluca M, Proprietario at Residenza Maritti, responded to this review, 12 October 2016
Thank you for your feedback.
We are happy when our guests express their appreciation for our family home.
See you
Gianluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

My husband and I traveled to Italy over New Year's and had the good luck and fortune to stay at Residenza Maritti. As is stated in it's name - Residenza Maritti is a true residence. The residence has 10 guest rooms. We stayed in the Bianca room on the 1st floor. This room was generous in size and very comfortable. The room overlooks a small courtyard which helped keep the room quiet at night and in the early morning.

Gianlucca could not be a better host! He greeted us when we arrived and gave us several excellent dining and shopping recommendations in the area. All of his suggestions were spot on - not tourist traps; rather, local eateries and markets. Gianlucca is caring, warm and makes you feel like you are visiting with an old friend. Because we stayed over NYE, he had several suggestions for dinner and offered to call and make us reservations. He goes above and beyond to make you feel comfortable, happy and well looked after.

The location of Residenza Maritti is pretty incredible. It is literally amidst the Roman ruins. On NYE there was a huge party on and around the Colosseum and Via dei Fori Imperiali which is directly outside the hotel (literally directly below). We ushered in the New Year with Gianlucca's family on their incredible roof top terrace. The views of the Colosseum, ruins, fireworks, and party on Via dei Fori Imperiali are unparalleled. We feel very lucky and blessed to have been able to celebrate the New Year in such a perfect and picturesque location.

Residenza Maritti was the perfect lodging for us in Rome. While one may not consider this a 5 start hotel - it is a 5 star residence that will provide you with a wonderful stay. We felt like we could live there forever!

As others have mentioned, you will need to bring your own toiletries, but aside from that, you will have everything you need and more. The combination of the location and hospitality of Gianlucca cannot be beat!

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the residence may have a better view but may be noisier. Bianca did not ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelLovas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianluca M, Proprietario at Residenza Maritti, responded to this review, 12 October 2016
We really don't know what else to say after such a marvellous review!
Thank you!
Gianluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

The staff were very friendly, courteous and helpful.
The location is right in the centre of Rome in easy walking distance of the tourist attractions
The rooms are basic, but clean, and towels are a reasonable size.
There is no restaurant, but simple breakfast food is available for self provision
I stayed once or twice a week over a six week period

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianluca M, Proprietario at Residenza Maritti, responded to this review, 12 October 2016
Thank you for having chosen Residenza.
Thanks for your good review.
Gianluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday, Fl
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in October 2013. Gianluca was a wonderful host. it was very clean . views were amazing from roof top terrace. right around the corner from Colosseum. would go back in a minute!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mizekman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianluca M, Proprietario at Residenza Maritti, responded to this review, 11 October 2016
Thank you for your good review!
I apologize for the late reply.
Gianluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,360 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#15 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Colonna
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,384 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Maritti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Maritti

Property: Residenza Maritti
Address: Via Tor de' Conti, 17, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residenza Maritti is located in a eighteenth century palace built on Roman ruins,fully renovated in 1999, overlooking the ruins of the Temple of Mars Ultor in the Forum of Augustus.Here you will feel at home even if your stay is very short: our friendly welcome and hospitality will make you enjoy your stay.We offer our guests highly comfortable accommodation. The “Residenza Maritti” is in via Tor dei Conti 17, opposite the Arco dei Pantani, one of the two arches of the Forum of Augustus which gave access to the Subura.In Residenza Maritti, you can stay in the environments intended for common use, free to use the kitchen and eat your meal in comfortable and spacious room. You can also, in the spaces, use internet and check your e-mail. All the mornings from 08:00 to 10:00, you can access the buffet breakfast at our space dedicated to 'art and culture. The "Lupigiada" is a project that embraces the idea of ​​creating a space to realize our passion for music and art together with the pleasure for food and good drinks. Atmosphere soft and reserved, vaults and walls with exposed brick and unique items that complement the decor. Old and new blend together to envelop you in a world out of time. All around LUPIGIADA is also an exhibition space for anyone who wants to choose us as a "frame" their own works of art. You can choose the Lupigiada as a place for your parties, dinners, cocktails, aperitifs and events or theme nights. A grand piano and the only and exclusive atmosphere will characterize your evenings. On request, for a minimum number of 12 persons it is possible to organize food and wine tastings with the highest quality products guided by expert sommeliers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing