We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay, great staff”
Review of Villa Pirandello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Pirandello
Ranked #92 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2014

My wife, daughter and I stayed for three days at Pirandello for the final leg of our trip in Italy and we had a great stay for a relatively good price. We were referred by a friend who stayed in the past.

The B&B is located a little out of the way in a tiny street few cabbies have heard of. Naturally, you will not want to run around Rome in your own car and Pirandello provide a walled parking lot for 10 Euros. Outside, if you find parking, you can park out the day for 8 - provided you find said parking spot. Bologna metro station is a walk distance away and there's other public transports. If you want to get a taxi, have the reception order one, it's difficult to flag one on the street.

The room is minimalist in design and had room for an extra bed for my daughter. Along with the extra bed the room was a little too cozy but otherwise convenient. You get a closet, a suitcase cabinet, safe and a stocked bathroom with tub and shower. TV was tiny and far away but that may be because of the extra bed.

The elevator was the old style "manual door" with box in a cage. It was serviceable and quaint.

The real jewels here are the staff and the breakfast. The receptionists kind and helpful, the breakfast barista eager and efficient. Where we needed maps, taxis, assistance, we got answered immediately and with excellent results. All staff spoke English.

The breakfast was a fairly standard buffet until you get to the confectioneries corner. I say "corner" but should really say "stack". Danishes, pies, croissants, cereal, cookies ... and so much more. I've never had Pine nut pie - and I come from a country with plenty of pine nut, it was nothing short of amazing.

I will recommend Pirandello to stay but be sure to plan your excursions to the city with the distance in mind.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yonni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
There are newer reviews for Villa Pirandello
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

My partner and I stayed here for four nights in June 2013. Overall, the stay was excellent. The room and en suite were nice, there was a wide variety of food available at breakfast accommodating everyone's taste, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. A lovely place to stay if you are looking for tranquillity after a busy day exploring the sites of Rome!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank megsparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

After reading the excellent reviews, we booked this hotel for 6 days in Rome. Perhaps we got the 'unlucky' room, but even then we would have expected some help to improve the situation. On arrival, a loud scratching sound from the floor above occured... In the middle of the night (throughout the vacation this occured also other times); followed by sounds of water tubes running... Even for 30 minutes at a time and over. In addition, the toilet flush was faulty so the water kept running in the toilet until you played around a bit with it.
We immediately called to report these inconveniences, and we got a free bottle of spumante, and the guarantee that next day we would have our room changed.
This didnt't happen, instead they said they would fix the toilet flush, and 'investigate' on the noises (yea right). The flush was never fixed, and the noise played throughout our vacation.
The bed gave both me and my girlfriend back-ache after a few days, as it was uneven (poor quality).
The breakfast can be ok for Italian type of breakfast, but missing a lot for international standards (no warm things, no egg, no sausages, ecc). Not much choice of things, the hams are few and don't look very fresh. The room to have breakfast in is very small, with small round tables (6-7 tables).
The vacuum cleaners in the morning are very loud, we never experienced so much noise from room cleaning in any other hotel. Evenon. Saturday and sunday morning we were woken up by this.
Furthermore, we both really can't stand the smell of smoke, and we are always careful to book in non-smoking hotels. As soon as you enter the reception, especially at night, it smells like an ash-tray (mostly from the night guardian that is smoking all the time). Also other smells of smoke were apparent from adjacent rooms, i know in Italy people are used to smoking in your face, but we really found it annoying.
Overall, the hotel can look cute and have a nice atmosphere, but these problems ruined our stay. We didn't feel like wasting more time to report these problems again and again, next time we will just book another hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank 785simoneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaPirandello, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa Pirandello, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014
Google Translation

Gentile cliente,

la ringraziamo sinceramente per la sua recensione anche se negativa: rappresenta per noi uno

stimolo a migliorare ove possibile. Le esprimiamo tutto il nostro dispiacere per i problemi che si

sono presentati durante il suo soggiorno e per non essere stati in grado di risolvere tutto al meglio.

Tuttavia posso assicurarle che il nostro staff si e' interessato sin da subito ad indagare sul forte

rumore che avete sentito durante il soggiorno monitorando pedissequamente la camera, ma non

riuscendo a sentire il rumore in queste circostanze. Ad oggi, dopo lughe indagini abbiamo capito il

problema che e' in via di risoluzione. Per questo la ringrazimo ancora.

Per quanto riguarda il cambio della camera, il nostro staff vi ha proposto di cambiarla per tre notti,

dovendo pero' tornare nella camera "incrimanata" per fine del soggiorno (l'Hotel era infatti al

completo), ma la proposta era stata da voi rifiutata.

I materassi della camera (e di tutte e stanze dell'Hotel) sono stati acquistati e hanno sostituito i

precedenti una settimana prima del suo arrivo. Si tratta di prodotti della "Sommier", ergonomici

e di alta qualita', piu' grandi rispetto ai precedenti, pensati per dare magggior comfort a nostri

clienti.

Riguardo le colazioni ci spiace sapere che non ha gradito la nostra selezione, generalmente

amata dai nostri ospiti. Le possiamo assicurare che abbiamo solamente prodotti freschi e di alta

qualita'.Non abbiamo cose calde, ovvero espresse, poiche' non avendo il servizio ristorazione non

ci e' permesso farle.

Ci rincresce non essere riusciti a darle il soggorno che si aspettava, per noi e' di primaria

importanza rendere felice e soddisfare l'ospite, lavorando con grande passione e disponibilita'.

Speriamo sinceramente di avere un'altra occasione per farle vivere al meglio il soggiorno a Villa

Pirandello.

A presto,

Lo Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at Villa Pirandello for 3 nights in early october. Our stay here was at the end of our two week Italian honeymoon, so it could be possible that this review is slightly biased as I cannot help but compare it to our other Italian hotel experiences. First, let me say, the hotel is beautiful, the lobby, the front porch (where we were served a delicious breakfast daily), to the charming elevator. The staff was extremely thoughtful, checking us in within just a few minutes, even though we had arrived prior to check-in. We were exhausted after early morning travel from Sorrento, and this was such a welcome relief. Our room was located at the end of the hall, and while small (like I would imagine most Roman hotel rooms are...) it was brightly decorated and the windows open up to let in the fresh air. The hotel is located just minutes from a bus stop and about 10 minutes from a metro stop. There were only a few things about this property that were bothersome for us. A few times we left to venture out and various hotel staff were standing on the landing of the exterior staircase smoking, and we had to navigate around them. This just seemed unprofessional to us. Also the rooms have very ugly drop ceilings, and we both felt it detracted from the overall character of the hotel. Now both of these things were small, and would not deter us from staying at this property again. Just some food for thought for the hotel...

That being said, I would recommend Villa Pirandello to a friend traveling to Rome.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Location is a bit far away from the center, but within easy reach by public transport. Good thing about it is that you can enjoy quite nights with no noise from the traffic. Rooms are one of the smallest i've ever seen and the general the feeling from the decoration - cheap motel, which is a shame given that the building itself is very nice. Breakfast is ok by local standards.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArinaGavrilova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Clean well presented hotel. Easy to get to by bus or train. Breakfast had plenty of choice, room was clean and attractive, beds comfortable and the night quiet after the jets stopped flying overhead at about 11pm, start flying again at 7.30am

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJVGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This hotel is a bit far away from the Bologna Metro Station.. The location is good in terms of neighbourhood. You get buses from the main road (5mins walk) to the city centre (main attractions). It takes about 15mins to reach the city centre by bus. The hotel was clean but the rooms were very tiny. The breakfast was not filling with no hot items (eggs etc). It was a purely continental breakfast.
The staff was very friendly and also gave us a packed breakfast hamper since we were going to miss the breakfast due to an early checkout.
It was a pleasant stay overall.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pulakit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
San Lorenzo
Dock Suites Hotel
Dock Suites Hotel
#216 of 1,267 in Rome
267 reviews
San Lorenzo
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Hotel Pulitzer Roma
#116 of 1,267 in Rome
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#91 of 1,267 in Rome
669 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#67 of 1,267 in Rome
724 reviews
Fragrance Hotel St.Peter
#107 of 1,267 in Rome
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Pirandello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Pirandello

Address: Via Antonio Bosio 15/B, 00161 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £75 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Pirandello 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the most exclusive areas of Rome, Villa Pirandello is the ideal solution for your job engagement as well as for your relaxing vacation in a fascinating ancient palace in liberty style. The rooms are equipped with all the comfort and furnished with a fine taste. You'll be in a magical atmosphere. Situated a few steps from Piazza Bologna and the tube station, the Villa is just a few minutes from the renowned locations of the Rome City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Pirandello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing