We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience for a first time hostel visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dreaming Rome Hostel
Ranked #58 of 1,131 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I really enjoyed staying at Dreaming Rome hostel, this was my first hostel experience and I could have not chosen a better place to stay. Fabio and Dominico are really warm and friendly and will go out of their way to help you with anything that you need.

The hostel is small, but you do not feel that everyone is in your face, it is possible to get some quiet time. I would really recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lungi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
There are newer reviews for Dreaming Rome Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

Rome isn't a cheap place, but spending a few extra buckets for a hostel than I would normally do was so well worth it.
I have been in a fair few hostels all over the world yet, but this was/is by far the best experience I ever had.
Those two brothers are really in it wholeheartedly. To begin with I loved the glittery sparkeling design!!!
It's a bit strange at first as you enter a normal flat. The brothers do live in one room, there's 2 bathrooms, 1 double bed room and 2 dorms. I was in the smaller one with 3 bunk beds.
There's a small kitchen where you can help yourself with breakfast and 2 computers to check the internet. This room might be small, but during my stay it was the live of the flat - I met some amazing people from all over the world & we sat together halfway through the night.
The brothers regularly cook italian for the guest - unfortunately I always missed that :(

It's situated pretty central. Termini Station is only 20min by foot as well as the Collosseum. Closest metro station was like 5min to walk

For my next visit I definately will book this again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngelOfIslington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The staff are really friendly and welcome you when you arrive. I stayed in the private room and was met with a bottle of red wine. They offered some freshly made pasta & basil pesto one evening when getting back late, which was very nice of them.

The only negative I have is that when I arrived I needed to pay in cash, and this didn't include the 2 Euro per night tourist tax. I wasn't aware of until I arrived, so had to find a local ATM. After looking I can see this is mentioned on 1 of the hostel booking sites but not the other, but only in the small description area. Whilst this was sorted out quickly, I think this should be made more apparent before booking.

Despite this, I think the hostel is fantastic and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 91Anon_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

What a warm welcome my friend and I received on a hot day in August. Fabio is an awesome guy who can make anyone feel at home! Pizza nights in the hostel was a great way of meeting everyone and did I mention.. free! I would only come back to Dreaming Rome hostel as it was the most I felt at home anywhere in Europe. 5 stars!

Room Tip: Private or dorm room are excellent. Dorm room better for meeting new people!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZachD93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Very nice hostel, the staff (Fabio and Domenico) will do anything to make sure that you are having a good time in Rome! Also, every person I met in the hostel are very friendly and will give you hints for your next destination!

Room Tip: The mixed room has a/c!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliaSawaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This a unique place. The rooms and the facilities are great (including free internet and breakfast) but what makes this hostel really special is its host Fabio.

Fabio will go out of his way to ensure that you have a good time. Every night we were there he cooked free pasta for everyone. This was not only a tasty and cheap way to start the evening but it brought everyone in the hostel together so by the third night I felt like I was coming home not back to a hostel. One night Fabio took us all out to the local cafe where we drank and mingled with the locals.

If was a millionaire and came back to Rome I would stay here without a second though. This is the best hostel I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wpalmer81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I came to the Dreaming Rome hostel by myself before I met up with friends in Florence. I was feeling a little lonely, but Fabio and Domenico both made me feel so welcome, they are very warm and kind people.

The rooms are comfortable and clean, and brightly decorated. The complimentary breakfast is a nice tough! The decor is a sight to see. They gave me a great map of Rome, and guided me in finding the best ways to explore the Eternal City. They told me where to book in advance etc - always so helpful to have hostel staff with local knowledge! I spent my days mostly at the Forum, and slept like a baby in their very comfortable beds.

I would definitely return, had a fantastic stay. Thanks!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
New Generation Hostel Santa Maria Maggiore
Esquilino
Mosaic Hostel
Mosaic Hostel
#65 of 1,131 in Rome
266 reviews
Esquilino
Generator Hostel Rome
Generator Hostel Rome
#10 of 1,131 in Rome
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
La Controra Hostel Rome
La Controra Hostel Rome
#36 of 1,131 in Rome
227 reviews
Esquilino
Nika Hostel
Nika Hostel
#183 of 1,131 in Rome
62 reviews
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#16 of 1,131 in Rome
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreaming Rome Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreaming Rome Hostel

Address: Via Cuma no 2, 00183 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 1,131 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range: £24 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing