We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A heavenly garden”
aerial photo of the property COTTAGE AND POOL
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
aerial photo of the property COTTAGE AND POOL
Treehouse the cottage entrance -You will be the only guest!!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
aerial photo of the property COTTAGE AND POOL
Treehouse
the cottage entrance -You will be the only guest!!
TREEHOUSE (TREEPLATFORM) IN COMPLETION
dining room and kitchenette
two single bed room
another perspective of the dining room
pool 12m x 6 m  ROME COTTAGE
FROM THE POOL  WATER...
pool garden
swimming pool ROME COTTAGE
PROPERTY
pool garden
master room
kitchenette
soccer court ( in summer)
hammock and pool
bench and pool garden
flowers in summer
copper gazebo in the swimming pool garden
BIRDS OF THE PROPERTY ROME COTTAGE
BUTTERFLIES OF OUR GARDEN ROME COTTAGE
Stairs to reach the treehouse
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Rome, Province of Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Finnish first
French first
Norwegian first
Any
English first
Sarah T
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A heavenly garden”
Reviewed 20 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful 10 day holiday here and the owners were fantastic taking us to a supermarket so we could buy the gluten free food we needed .
They filled the fridge and cupboards with other food and drink as well which my daughter and I enjoyed.
We loved the little cottage in the beautiful garden.
The air conditioning was good and kept the whole cottage cool at night
It was perfect for visiting Rome one day and then relaxing the next day by the pool
We did get bitten in the first few days until we discovered tropical repellant and then we had no more problems .
The kitchen equipment was ok although I did find the cooker door did not shut properly which meant the knobs got very hot and the food took longer to cook
I would recommend this cottage as a perfect holiday for those who want a city and countryside break .
Thank you Testa family we are now thinking about your Sardinia property .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gardens and the owners
Liked least: The Mosquitoes and the Italian drivers
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve H
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb value and excellent hosts.”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The cottage is indeed in it's own grounds (which are very nice indeed) - and we had exclusive access to the pool throughout. The cottage is well equipped with everything needed for a self-catering stay.

Our hosts were also generous (a fridge full of food on arrival, ice cream for the kids, and tomatoes most days) and very supportive (which we needed as I made a bit of a mistake on the car hire front!).

Two supermarkets are down the road, and an excellent café and ice cream parlour is just over the road.

Highly recommended (and thanks to our hosts again)!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayJay11...
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Such a wonderful find!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in mid June having booked this cottage for my sisters 60th birthday so she could relax and fulfil a life long ambition to see Rome . Weather was wonderful, high twenties to mid thirties. The cottage is a 30 minute drive from the airport. We arrived very hot and bothered and was quickly welcomed and shown all the things we needed to know. There are shops near by - two brand new supermarkets typically the Italian versions of Liddle and Aldi so getting those little essentials proved very quick and easy. There is also a lovely ice cream parlour nearby which we would recommend. In any event the fridge was stocked (thank you) and we quickly settled down for a relaxing afternoon before hitting Rome the next day. The cottage has everything you would need but you might want to consider taking your hairdryer if you need your hair to look good as the one in the cottage was quite slow. Air con was excellent and due to the time of year we did need it. The beds are really comfy which is a winner. Luckily despite being in mid summer we were not bitten to death but I can imagine in the height of summer this could be an issue. Did not try the BBQ but it looked huge and up for the job. The grounds are lovely - everything about the place is just relaxing.

With Rome 30 minutes away the train is a good option. We parked outside the station and joined the commuters on a fast train - try to get this train otherwise its an extra 15 minutes stopping at every station. The train takes you straight into St Peters so you can start your sight seeing from there.

On the day we arrived (late) due to a long queue waiting for our hire car we nearly missed out on lunch which Emanuela had booked for us in a nearby village. OMG such wonderful food and so very reasonable. Please do try it you will not be disappointed.

Onto the best bit - I could rave about the pool all day. It was the absolute highlight of my holiday and I loved everything about it. We spent some relaxing hours dipping in and out and sitting under the shade on the table and chairs. What more can you ask for, enjoy a day in the city and retreat to the beautiful pool for a glass of wine and a refreshing dip.

We stayed in the week England played Italy and our hosts invited us to join them to watch the game with family and friends. Such nice people and great hosts.

Combine your holiday with a little relaxing and some serious sightseeing in Rome. You wont be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The pool and gardens
Liked least: Bathroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twowheels...
Leicester
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Charming Cottage With Fantastic Pool and Garden”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We arrived at Fiumincino airport, where we hired a car and drove the short distance to the cottage. It is about a 30 minute drive. The cottage is housed in huge grounds accessible from the main road by electronically controlled gates and is absolutely private.

We were met by Stefano and Emanuela, who, along with Jolanda and Antonella, were wonderfully friendly and helpful and made our stay enjoyable. They all speak English to a high standard.

Our first impressions of the cottage were very good. It is really charming. However, the main highlight is the swimming pool set in the most heavenly garden imaginable. We had breakfast by the pool each morning and, on the occasions we ate "at home", our meals were taken there too. The water was very warm and we spent many idle days just swimming and relaxing there.

Stefano took us on a visit to see Rome by night, which was really interesting and useful. The city takes on a whole new perspective by night.

The city of Rome is accessible by train, from the nearby town of Cesano, and is about 45 minutes away. Tickets cost €1.50 and are valid for 100 minutes. So great value. For this reason we never took the car into the city.

There are many local attractions, all listed in a helpful guide prepared by the owners. We made trips to Lake Bracciano, and to Martignano, and we enjoyed the high standard of local restaurants, in particular the Postiglioni which was the highlight of our gastronomic experiences. There is also a very good value, no nonsense seafood restaurant down the road from the cottage, La Nuova Valetta, which is very friendly and hospitable. About 100m from the front gate, there is an excellent gellateria which sells superb ice cream. It was a regular place for us and we were there just about every day. Some of the girls speak English.

This part of Italy is surrounded by antiquity and if you are a fan of Ancient Rome, which I am, you will find so much to see and do that the time will not be sufficient to accommodate everything you want to do. We spent 2 weeks and had a great time. We were at the cottage from 20 July to 3 August. It was very hot and so we paced ourselves, bearing in mind we had a young person with us (age 9).

There is a warning to go prepared for mosquitoes. They were hunting in packs when we were there and all of us were heavily bitten in the first couple of days. So go prepared with lots of repellent.

One of our friends had a bad back and found the bed a bit hard, so he had to use a mattress from one of the pool beds to help him sleep. He was also our 'chef' and found the cooking utensils well below par.

The Cottage does have air conditioning, but while we were there it was not working properly, so the nights were quite warm. However, once we reported the matter, arrangements were put in hand to have it fixed. So this should not be a problem for future guests.

There is WiFi which worked well for the first week. Unfortunately, the last 3 or 4 days of our stay, it stopped working, which made it difficult for me to operate as I needed to remain in contact with clients and colleagues to stay up to date with projects.

These last remarks should not lead you to think we did not enjoy ourselves. We did. We loved the place, the people and would definitely go back there. In sum, a very good holiday and great if you have young children.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden and swimming pool
Liked least: Cooking utensils, air con and wifi reliability
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSTJM
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday.”
Reviewed 21 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Choosing a holiday from an online description is always a bit of a shot in the dark and I hesitated several times before booking. If I knew then what I know now I would not have had a single doubt. The cottage is small, beautifully rustic and basic but perfectly clean and comfortable with a fantastic pool a few steps from the front door. It is in the extensive grounds of a larger house which is used by the family for entertaining guests occasionally and for the odd overnight stay but otherwise we had the garden and the pool completely to ourselves. We arrived to a fully stocked fridge and a lovely welcome from the owners who could not have done more to make us feel at home. The family were able to recommend places and restaurants to visit with our 3 boys which really helped us to make the most of our short stay. Particular highlights for us all were the night-time drive round Rome and Il Postiglione (local restaurant) which the boys have decided to buy when they have made their fortune as footballers. I also have to mention the thoughtful but completely unobtrusive gestures throughout the week; home-grown fruit and vegetables, cake, an English newspaper and home-made pesto were some of the gifts from the family. It is hard to do justice to the cottage and to the kindness of the family in a review like this but for our family (boys aged 14, 12 and 8) this was a truly perfect base for exploring Rome and its surroundings. Thank you very much indeed to Stefano, Emanuela, Corrado and Yolanda for some very, very happy memories. We threw our coins into the Trevi Fountain so we WILL be back!

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James C M
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Summer holiday at Testa's cottage”
Reviewed 28 December 2012 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for 2 weeks at the beginning of August in this cottage and had a wonderful time. The weather was very hot and sunny and we only had one overcast day during the whole fortnight so having such a large swimming pool and access to the garden was great with the hot weather.
When we first arrived we were met by the Testa family's neighbours (as the owners were away) who waited for us at the property despite out late arrival. The owners were also kind enough to book us a table at their favourite restaurant - Il Postiglione - for the first night. A great place with wonderful food and service. We went back there again and again.
The pool was cloudy on the first day, but after a phone call on the mobile that the owners left with us their gardener and pool man spent 2 days diligently cleaning and filtering the water until it was crystal clear.
The pool is fed by a natural spring, so no chemicals are used. Making it very natural and clean and you could easily spend the whole day in and out of the pool (which we did a lot!).
The cottage can get quite hot at night - there is air conditioning but not in either of the bedrooms and because of the mosquitos, we didn't want to have our windows open at night. The owners do provide fans for each bedroom so we were always comfortable at night.
Take lots of mosquito repellant - they are everywhere in the summer!

The location of the property is very close to Rome, we first went by train from the nearby station (3miles away). This takes about 45 minutes and only costs 1 Euro for a single adult ticket. However, it doesn't take you straight into the centre of Rome and you have to change onto the Metro for the final part of the journey which takes about 15 minutes.
The other 4 times we went into Rome we drove - most Romans are away on holiday in August so despite seeing some scary driving at times, it was very easy to drive into the centre of Rome and park. The roads were very quiet.
If you are going to rent a car from the airport, I wouldn't recommend renting from Maggiori. Whilst they may be slightly cheaper than the rest the wait to collect your car was terrible - it took us 90 minutes! So go for Hetz or Budget as their rental desks had no queues and were fully staffed.
Other useful tips - pre-book your tickets online before you go for both the Vatican Museum, Colleseum and Forum as the queues for tickets were up to 2 hours. Pre-booking allowed us to go straight to ticket collection and enter without wasting any time queuing int he heat.
Also, it's worth going up to Dome of St Peter's. The views are amazing. We went first thing in the morning (8am) and avoided the crowds. At peak times you're looking at at least 2 hours wait to get into the basilica.
Overall I would recommend this holiday property for families with older children (8+) who want a nice relaxing time by the pool but also with the option to visit Rome to see this beautiful city and it's famous sights.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The swimming pool and being close to Rome
Liked least: Powercuts and mosquitos
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annemaryF...
Finland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday week at Testa´s”
Reviewed 10 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Testa´s cottage had everything we needed for good holiday, great pool and garden, easy access from Fiumicino by car, fridge full of food when we came late Sunday night and friendly hosts. Boys emptied local markets Peroni stocks and I did day trips by train to Viterbo (impressive historic town) and Lake Bracciano.
My son had also the priviledge to be the goalie for the Saturdays Cesano soccer game (yes, there is also a soccer field in garden!)

Thanks again Stefano, Emanuela, Jolanda and Corrado for the hospitality and hope you liked Salmiakkikossu!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool, garden, hosts, weather, food, wine, Peroni
Liked least: couldn´t find jogging trails in Cesano, wifi didn´t work (who cares to check email on holiday anyway..)
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing