We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Gem”
Review of Hotel Appia 442

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Appia 442
Ranked #587 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Suffolk, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A True Gem”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I stayed at Hotel Appia for two weeks while in Rome on an extended vacation. The hotel staff truly understand customer service and have mastered the art of customer satisfaction. There is not a single detail that is overlooked by the hotel staff concerning guest comfort. During my stay on numerous occasions, the hotel staff went above and beyond to ensure that I had directions, information concerning local sites, restaurants and bus/metro schedules. Sandra, the hotel owner, made me feel like I was back home during my stay. As others have stated, the hotel is literally on top of a Metro station (Furio Camillo) and will get you to the City Center in a matter of minutes. If you are looking for a well-priced hotel with incredible customer service, clean, comfortable rooms, look no further. Hotel Appia will not disappoint. I will go out of my way to stay here during my next visit to Rome.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    25
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
27
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed in this hotel in June 2012 . What a fantastic find, the hotel is so well situated right next to the metro station. The hotel is a traditional looking building but modern inside. Three of us stayed in one room with ample space and very clean, the bathroom was well equipped and the free minibar was an unexpected bonus. The owners were so helpful and offered lots of assistance to make our stay more enjoyable. we would certainly stay here again!!

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Char120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012 via mobile

I had the single room at hotel appia and it provided everything required for my stay. On arrival a cappuccino was made for me which I could take to my room. My room was also available at 12pm instead of 3pm. In the mini fridge there is complimentary water and soft drink replenished every day. 

The quaint sitting room with free drinks was also nice. 

The hotel is above a metro station that connects with the Spanish steps, trevi fountain and Vatican. I did not find it a hassle at all cat hung the metro into town. On a few occasions I walked (good 40 min walk) although the street was quite nice with lots of interesting shops. 

The only negative to this hotel is the noise from the street. I had to put in ear plugs to drown out the street noise. However I would not hesitate to stay here again. 

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chloeruby24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Proprietario at Hotel Appia 442, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
dear guest, we are glad that you liked Hotel Appia 442. We have taken note of the noise and we proceeded to order a window that isolates from the rest of the world. The next time we'll come to find us, you'll sleep without being disturbed. Thanks for notifying it. See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I stayed in this hotel for five nights in June 2012. It is a fairly new hotel, having been converted from a large appartment in a block of flats in the south of rome. It is consequentially fairly small, but with modern facilities and pleasant decor. It appears to be run by the two owners, who are both charming and speak good English. There is a free minibar (soft drinks only) in the hotel room, perfect for supplying bottles of water for hot days out in the sun, as well as a selection of alcoholic liquors by the front desk to which you can help yourself. Breakfast is typical continental (tea/coffee, cereal, fruit, bread/toast, pastries). There is no lunch or dinner service but there are lots of good-quality cheap restaurants nearby. The hotel is right next to the metro station, making it easy to get to central Rome within 20 minutes. The local area is a bit run down but not unsafe. I would come here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

My daughter and I recently stayed in this hotel for 2 nights after a cruise and found the place to be perfect for us. As others have mentioned, it is literally on top of a metro station which makes it very easy to get around, and the rooms are very well appointed. The owners were extremely helpful to us in getting transportation to the airport and called a number of taxi companies to get us the best price. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillF367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

A very nice and cozy hotel with new modern equipment and with good location near metro station. It has a perfect quality of service and the friendliest owners. :) the only disadvantage is a bit far from centre and not in a very nice area for walking, but still there are good transport connections, which can get to almost every famous roman places. I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MilenaV89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, MG
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Great experience staying there. Very clean and new rooms on top of friendly service. It is right next to the metro station and you can go everywhere in Rome in just a few minutes. Staying a little bit out of the city center and turistic places help you to taste authentic italian restaurants paying good prices. Recommend also Ristorante da G Roma, just around the corner. Friendly people and good food.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Isaque N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tuscolana
Hotel Tuscolana
#255 of 1,257 in Rome
396 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Le Petit
Residence Le Petit
#1,150 of 1,257 in Rome
3 reviews
0.1 mi away
Appia Holiday B&B
Appia Holiday B&B
#639 of 3,644 in Rome
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
B&B Clelia
#1,046 of 3,644 in Rome
12 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coffee And The City
Coffee And The City
#277 of 3,644 in Rome
49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Il Sogno di Augusto
Il Sogno di Augusto
#1,320 of 3,644 in Rome
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Appia 442? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Appia 442

Property: Hotel Appia 442
Address: Via Appia Nuova 442, 00181 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #587 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Appia 442 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened after a careful restructuring, this small hotel is located on the 2nd floor of a 1916 building in Appia Nuova Avenue: without doubt one of the most commercial area of Rome, in IX district, next to the Underground (Metropolitana) - line A (Furio Camillo stop) and close to San Giovanni Square, where the most ancient church of the world rises: la Basilica di San Giovanni on one side and Campino airport, Capannelle Racecourse and the ring-road (exit 23) on the other. In HOTEL APPIA 442, we like to offer to our guests the same comfort of their own home. The comfort of rooms and furnishings, the comfortable beds, the "no curfew", a polite and reliable service, privacy and safety that all together with a lot of other little attentions, will make your stay at Rome's HOTEL APPIA 442, a real experience of hospitality. In few words: "Pure Hospitality".The rooms are a small world of attentions. Each guestroom, studied to guarantee the highest level of comfort with ceramic hypoallergenic wooden floors, and equipped with: TV, air conditioning, fridge-mini bar, safety deposit box, direct-dial phone (to receive phone calls directly in your room)and WI-FI internet. Direct booking and reservations for conventional aesthetic services and massages with beauty center Mana, possibility of parking space, fax and photocopy, registrations for personal messages, information for theaters, opera and special events in the city. For our guests security and privacy, all rooms have entry doors with internal gridlock, an electronic safety lock, an anti-intrusion controlling system and internal security cameras. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Appia 442 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing