We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, but read”
Review of OC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
OC Hotel
Ranked #458 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great, but read”
Reviewed 9 July 2011

There should be a GOOD rating between Average and Very Good. I had to vote Very Good because I couldn't choose Average. If it was possible, the rating would've been Good.
We booked through Booking.com, so we got a good deal on a 4* hotel and we knew we'd get the room we'd paid for. That being said, although the room was small, it was good enough and we were pleased with it. Very comfortable bed and pillows, we slept like logs.
The hotel is not in Rome, it's about 12km from the city, on the very, VERY busy Tiburtina Road. So, if you don't have a car, stay elsewhere because it's a bit far. If you do, it's perfect. There is a subway/metro station 3km away where you can park your car the whole day for 1,50€, and the subway ticket is 1€ per trip. The subway takes you directly to the Coliseum, so right into the heart of it all.
Breakfast: ok, but not for a 4* hotel. Besides, you have to chase Mr. Person in Charge of Breakfast for coffee or tea, because there is none in the room. Mr. Person in Charge of Breakfast is not very friendly or available, he will slam (yes, slam) the door shut at 10:30 so nobody else comes in. Unfortunately, he was only replaced on Sunday 3rd July by a much nicer, customer oriented lady we also saw at the reception desk.
Wi-fi is provided free, which is a very nice plus.
There is a very nice restaurant next door if you don't want to linger in Rome looking for a proper place to eat your dinner - Re Basilico. Good food, good service.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pnblank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    99
    48
    16
    11
See reviews for
38
48
13
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2011

This place is definitely not a four star hotel. In terms of surroundings, it is located in industrial area, no green areas around. On their website, they say they accept guests with dogs and dogs are allowed in free of charge. When making a booking, I indicated my additional comments about my dogs travelling with me, but apparently they did not take notice of that and were surprised to see me and dogs at check-in. They asked me to pay fees for the dogs. When going for breakfast, delays occurred as the service staff were struggling to get tables cleaned and ready for new comers.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ernis72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arta, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Everything was excellent! We really appreciated the fact that everything was so clean! And we really liked the restaurant next to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Effie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gornji Milanovac, Serbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

We came in hotel in 10 AM, check-in time was 14:00. It was not problem, They had available room, and gave us with no adittional payment. The hotel is new, everything is perfect and new(opened 3 months ago). The Bed was very confortable, enough good to feel like on the clouds :-).The sound-proof is perfect,too- no matter you sleep on the street side or on the garden side. The stuff is very kind, ready to help you in any time of day.
Breakfast was delicious, like in any other good four-star hotel. But something was and better,too. They serve for breakfast rela italian espresso, capuccino and all other sort of coffees. It is very hard to find in other hotels.
Also, do not forget to eat in their restaurant "Il Basilico", food is very good, fresh, and I recommend sea-food and pizza to eat there. Price is very reasonable, far cheaper than in the city.
Internet is for free, and speed is very good. The parking is for free , too and there is enough place for all guests.
Location - Yes, you are 15 km from the city center, but I had rent-a-car, so that was not problem for me. In the same street, 2km away form the Hotel is Metro Station Rebibia, and you are for 12 minutes in the heart of the city. And dont forget, hotel on good location and with this quality costs minimum 200 Euro/night, not 70€ :-)

Room Tip: The rooms on the 1st floor have bigger balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank altegra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

OC Hotel is a quality and comfortable place for trips, specially business, with destination in some of the companies based in Via Tiburtina.
It is placed at the very long Via Tiburtina, outside the Rome ring (GRA) and surrounded by companies. Due to the daily traffic jams in Via Tiburtina, OC Hotel is highly recommended if your office is near there.
The rooms are comfortable and modern with a special style, focusing the lighting. The hotel service is correct. It has a complete breakfast including fruits, cereals, cakes and an authentic Italian cappuccino.
Next to the hotel, you can find the Ristorante Cassale del Fornaccio / Rebasilico which is specialized in pizza made in traditional oven and good Italian wines. Opposite the hotel there is a bus stop whose bus lines get to Rebibbia Metro from where easily reach Rome centre.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verobubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
0.1 mi away
Al Casaletto
Al Casaletto
#675 of 1,256 in Rome
86 reviews
0.8 mi away
Torre di Pratolungo Hotel
Torre di Pratolungo Hotel
#934 of 1,256 in Rome
47 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Darival Nomentana
Hotel Darival Nomentana
#410 of 1,256 in Rome
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cervara Park Hotel
Cervara Park Hotel
#727 of 1,256 in Rome
145 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel degli Imperatori
Hotel degli Imperatori
#604 of 1,256 in Rome
233 reviews
1.7 mi away
Novotel Roma Est
Novotel Roma Est
#412 of 1,256 in Rome
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OC Hotel

Property: OC Hotel
Address: Tiburtina 1352, 00131 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #458 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — OC Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OC Hotel is located 15 km from central Rome, 3 minutes' drive from the A90 ring road. It offers contemporary-styled rooms with free Wi-Fi, and free parking.The on site restaurant serves a range of classic Italian and international cuisine. Guests can enjoy a drink from the bar and relax in the lounge area with large-screen TV.Rooms at the OC are elegantly furnished and are air conditioned. Each is equipped with an LCD-TV and a minibar.Services at Hotel OC include room service, and a 24-hour reception. Conference facilities are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your OC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing