We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel 10 minutes from the city center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Park Hotel dei Massimi
Ranked #387 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed at the hotel only for one night, but did enjoy it. Big room, clean bathroom. Free WiFi. One of the best breakfasts I've ever had at a hotel. Easy to get to the center of Rome, two buses pass nearby. Stuff is very friendly and is very good with their English.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aronuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 625 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2012

Just returned from a weekend in Rome staying at this hotel, as stated in other reviews it is a bit far out but the free shuttle(book in advance) provided is excellent and only takes 10 - 15 mins to arrive at the Vatican, once there plenty of forms of transportation to get you around the sites.
The 990 bus stops very close to the hotel and there are restaurants close by if you want to eat out.
Rooms clean and spacious. Breakfast was very good and staff were extremely helpful. We didn't eat in the restaurant.
Great value for money.
Tip if you plan on visiting the Vatican museums - free admission on the last Sunday of the month, however very busy .

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottiei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

The staff in this place (largely Albanian, English good to excellent) derive obvious pleasure in providing the best service they possibly can - and this makes staying here a joy. The breakfasts are the best I've had in a continental Europe hotel (want something you can't see on the buffet? Just ask). The evening meals are limited in range, but impressive in quality - the steaks in particular are exceptional, and I've heard good things about the prawns. (Translation hints: "green peppers" = peppercorns, "red peppers" = chilli.)

Rooms vary in size and whether they have access to a balcony and a view, but beds are large and comfortable and the plumbing works well. Television small (30cm?) but why come to Rome to watch TV? Soundproofing effective. Wifi works well for e-mail and browsing, wouldn't suggest trying to stream any entertainment.

Located in a quiet residential area on a hill above the centre. Walking to and from the centre is quite practical if you're fit - I've done it several times - but the free minibus works well if you book it the day before (don't forget to book the return trip if you need it), and there are several frequent public bus routes into the city within 10 minutes walk - learn how to use them.

Will definitely stay here if I come this way again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RogFCambridge_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

After much research, I used AA miles to book two rms for five days this past week (12-17 March) for my family of five. First, Gennaro was as advertised in regards to the excellent breakfast experience. His personal touch of making sure everything was as expected was to be commended. His stories about growing up in Napoli made the trip for my eight yr old son. My folks were especially impressed by how he remembered what foods they liked during their first morning breakfast and how Gennaro had plates of salami, cheeses and pastries waiting for them at a table the following morning. Secondly, the rooms were impeccably clean. It felt great after a long day of touring to come back to a tidy room. Thirdly, the front desk service, especially Stefano and Gabrielle, were especially kind in giving directions in/around the area. The ease of the shuttle service saved us some $$$.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dokeydog1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I went ahead with the booking in full knowledge that the hotel was way outside the city centre, having been persuaded by the travel agent to proceed on the promise of a free hotel shuttle bus into town.
I had the good sense to enquire how often this bus would run, but made the mistake of still continuing with the reservation when the agent said she could not find out.
The shuttle only took us to the Metro near the Vatican (Cipro), or the Vatican itself, which is still a way out of the centre.
The hotel said their bus had to be booked in advance the night before, which was fair enough.
But they didn't warn us that when it was full there wouldn't be any more, and there were only three a day, at 8.30, 9.30, and 10.30am.
Having used it successfully on our first full day, at 10.30am, that evening we tried to book it again, but were told it was full, and only the 8.30am was available, which did not suit us.
And there were only two shuttle buses back in the evening, at 6.30 and 7.30pm. This we did not try because there was no point in leaving the centre of town once we were there to 'dress for dinner' and travel back on public transport (still about 25 minutes, usually standing all the way).
And the idea of returning on the shuttle in the early evening for dinner at the hotel or one of the few restaurants nearby did not appeal, not when the centre of Rome is so much more inviting.
Perhaps the shuttle bus runs a better service in high season.
So what if you don't get on the shuttle bus? It means a 10 minute walk up a hill to the nearest bus stop, - which had an appalling service on Sundays. On the Sunday night, we waited nearly an hour for the bus back to the hotel. Other days of the week are more efficient and I recommend the 11 euro three-day travel pass.
As for the hotel itself, I must echo other guests' comments that Gennaro and the breakfast, and the service there, were superb.
The room was small, and dark, but comfortable and immaculately clean and well presented.
I'd forgotten to warn my husband about the Rome City tax to be paid on checkout - and he nearly questioned why it was applicable as we were so far out!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whybrowwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This hotel was part of a deal I booked for 3 nights in Rome.
This hotel isnt close to the centre of Rome but the transport is good. The hotel provides a transfer bus to either the metro or the vatican, which has to be booked the night before. We used this service everyday.
The rooms were fine, the decor could be updated but the amount of time we spent there it really didnt matter. It was clean and the staff were very friendly, especially at breakfast.
The only tip I would give is if you eat there in the evening either pay and retain a reciept or pay for everything when you leave. We ate there on the sunday night and paid for it but the next night we ate there and they said we should pay when we leave, so we accepted that.
When we went to check out and pay for mondays meal they told us we had not paid for sundays and charged us twice, as we didnt have a reciept they wouldnt accept they were wrong and made us pay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roxy8203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brannetti, Proprietario at Park Hotel dei Massimi, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Dear friend,
We’re sorry about the trouble you’ve underlined.Our barman said “ Yes, I remember very well mr. .....! He pays only the beers drunk at bar “So, you didn’t pay twice the dinner ! You paid once your drinks by cash and once your dinner by credit card at the Reception :2 people, 2 beers, 1 coke, 1 vegetable soup and 1 fried squids and shrimps. Anyway, we hope having you one time more as our guest and we’ll be glad to offer you our best service.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel from the 15th – 20th Feb 2012. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived. The hotel offers a free return shuttle bus service to the Vatican City each day - this is very useful as well as being prompt and reliable. The walk from the drop off point to the centre of Rome is around 15 mins. Very pleasant walk. The breakfast is fabulous! Gennora offers a wonderful selection of food. He is very professional, friendly and charming. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ELOUISE186273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Zone
Hotel Zone
#543 of 1,270 in Rome
668 reviews
8 mi away
Hotel Artis
Hotel Artis
#475 of 1,270 in Rome
675 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Clodio
Hotel Clodio
#508 of 1,270 in Rome
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
IH Hotels Roma Z3
IH Hotels Roma Z3
#320 of 1,270 in Rome
484 reviews
0.6 mi away
Excel Hotel Roma Montemario
2 mi away
Casa La Salle - Casa per Ferie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel dei Massimi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel dei Massimi

Address: Largo Vincenzo Ambrosio 9, 00136 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#90 Family Hotel in Rome
#210 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#229 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £38 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel dei Massimi 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hotel dei Massimi is a four star family - owned hotel in Rome located near the Vatican City and Sistine Chapel. The hotel is ideal for tourists, travelers and businessmen that need a peaceful noiseless hotel steps from the center Rome and a neighborhood very friendly and safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hotel dei Massimi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing