We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not suitable for sightseeing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Hotel dei Massimi
Ranked #369 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not suitable for sightseeing”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We ve recently returned from this hotel as a treat for my 50th birthday and I was a bit disappointed at how far away from the major tourist attractions of rome.The hotel does provide a free shuttle bus that leaves at 8.30,9.30 and10.30 but the bus dosent pick you up until 6.30 and 7.30 in the evening which is a long time when your on your feet all day I would feel it would be particularly unsuitable if you we're elderly.The hotel is situated in a residential area and there is absolutely nowhere to eat or drink other than the hotel.The food is ok but it would have been nice to be able to have the choice to eat elsewhere.The hotel itself is average and not ,in my opinion a 4 star, but the staff are friendly and helpful.If your going to Rome purely for sightseeing would suggest staying in a hotel which is within walking distance of the attractions even if you have to you to go to a hotel with a lower star rating It would be worth it just to be able to fully enjoy the wonderful sights Rome has to offer

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulawoodford7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brannetti, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Park Hotel dei Massimi, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear customer,
Shuttle schedule are those more frequently requested from our customers, if we would haveother needs as yours, we’ll put one more . We will treasure your observations to try to improve the service on the summertime. Recall, however, that a few steps from the hotel there is a public bus stop.
We regret, that the front desk staff didn’t give you a map with restaurant and bar easily reached on foot and they are a lot !
Thanks for writing
Best regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    265
    97
    23
    14
See reviews for
142
220
28
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Just returned from a five day trip to the Park Hotel Massimi. The staff were friendly and helpful.Our room was clean with a nice bathroom.We had booked bed and breakfast and the breakfast was more than adequate a nice choice of either bacon, eggs, fresh fruit, yogurts, a selection of pastries and cakes and cold meats. The hotel is a 15 min by road away from the centre of Rome the hotel operate a shuttle bus to either the Metro or Vatican City but you must book the night before as it gets booked up quickly.We decided to eat at the restaurant a few nights as we were too tired to go back out after a full day of sightseeing but we were really dissappointed as the three meals we chose were far to salty we managed to eat two out of three meals we had ordered but other than that it is a nice hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brannetti, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Park Hotel dei Massimi, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear friend,
Thank you for letting us your feedback, for us it's always very important and essential to satisfy the needs of our customers. We invite you to come back again guaranteeing less salt in dishes and more attention from the chef! As we answered to Mrs. Olivia you didn’t pay the salty dishes.
Best regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

The hotel is a little out of the way but they do run a very useful shuttle service to the Vatican or metro station at a choice of 8.30am, 9.30am and 10.30am and return times of 6.30pm or 7.30pm. If you want to stay out later get a taxi or bus. We chose the taxi which averaged about 15 euro. The foyer is really nice with a great lounge area and complimentary wifi. The rooms are a little basic but do have all the usual amenities and most importantly are clean. The staff are fantastic, nothing is too much trouble and for me are the selling point for this hotel. Breakfast is excellent also especially the scrambled eggs. Would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peterd1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brannetti, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Park Hotel dei Massimi, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear customer,
thank you for the sentiments expressed above all in respect of the staff.
We know that our customers satisfaction depends on that our staff is satisfied, so we do everything possible cause when you come at Park Hotel dei Massimi you find in a pleasant and quite place.
thanks again
best regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Just returned from a five day trip to the Park Hotel Massimi. The reception staff were friendly and helpful.Our room was clean and a nice size with a nice big bathroom.We had booked bed and breakfast and the breakfast was more than adequate a nice choice of either bacon, eggs, fresh fruit, yogurts, a selection of pastries and cakes and cold meats.As the hotel is a bit away from the centre of Rome the hotel operate a shuttle bus to either the Metro or Vatican City but you must book the night before as it gets booked up quickly.We decided to eat at the restaurant a few nights as we were too tired to go back out after a full day of sightseeing but we were really dissappointed as the three meals we chose were far to salty we managed to eat two of them but the chicken dish my sister-in-law and myself ordered was just to salty and we had to leave it.Radek who runs the restaurant was really apologetic and didn't charge for both our meals.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oliviaCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brannetti, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Park Hotel dei Massimi, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear friend,
Thank you for the appreciation. Shuttle bus is used from our customers cause it’s always very comfortable to arrive to metro or Vatican city. Sorry about foods overly salted so we have not asked for the payment of them: it was the least we could do.
Best regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. No problems staying here. All staff were really friendly, room was cleaned daily. Plenty to choose from at breakfast and all very delicious.
Used the free shuttle bus which you book the day before, all very easy. Only thing that we would have liked would have been tea/coffee making facilities in the room but other than that would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brannetti, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Park Hotel dei Massimi, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear friend,
Thank you for choosing us and to find our services good !
About kettle to make tea , we have some available to customers; they must be asked to the reception. Sorry that anyone said to you ! Maybe for next time !
We wait for you again and thank you very much one time more.
Best regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tywardreath
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We had a 4 night stay in this peaceful hotel. The staff were the most helpful and friendly of any hotel that I've stayed in. It is well out of the city but a free shuttle bus went three times each morning and back in the early evening. After being in the city all day it was great to get the lift back to the hotel. We ate in the hotel each day. The food was excellent and similarly priced to outside restaurants. There are restaurants in the vacinity but as the weather was wet we were very happy to eat at the hotel. Breakfast was generous as were the portions for dinner.
Probably not the hotel for young people who want the night life, but for families and older people or those who want to spend the days doing the sights it is perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brannetti, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Park Hotel dei Massimi, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear Mrs. Evelyn,
Thank you very much for your positive comments about our staff. Thanks also to try our restaurant appreciating chef’s work .
We want to learn from your reviews improving our services and your compliments make us very happy !
Thank you again
Best regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

At 72 my mother had never been out of the UK and in order to ease her in I selected a trip to Rome. How lucky I was. I booked the hotel on 2nd March and flew 5th March.

On arrival at the hotel on the 5th March 2013 reception was prompt, friendly and efficient. We had a room on the 5th floor and this was excellent. A large twin room, with large bathroom and nicely furnished. The room was very clean and comfortable. The hotel does look a bit dated from the outiside, but we werent worried about that. After all, Im staying inside and not outside.

The brekfast buffet in the morning was exccellent. Yes, you have the continental breakfast with ham, cheese and breads, cereal, fresh pastries and then they do scrambled egg and bacon too. Youre not rushed and the staff are helpful and friendly. You can help yourself to as much as you like and they open from 6.30 am.

The hotel is a little out of Rome City Centre, but this isnt a problem with the free hotel shuttle bus service. They will drop you off by the Metro stop or just by the Vatican, just book your space with reception the night before. They pick you up at 7.30 pm for your return back to the hotel too.

The taxis are good if a little expensive, but traffic in Rome is madness itself!!! I will never complain about traffic in the UK again. Reception were happy to book these for you.

I cant thank the reception staff enough they were so helpful and friendly and that really makes a difference.

As this was my mothers first trip abroad she was delighted with the experience and now I think she has the bug. Lets just hope the next experience is as positive as this one.

Thank you to the Hotel and its staff for a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_St71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brannetti, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Park Hotel dei Massimi, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear Steve,
We’re glad that your mother and you stayed here well, feeling welcome !
You’re first time in Rome must be unforgettable and for us it’s a success to be able doing this. Reception is our visit card and a smile is always a better one. Breakfast buffet is our “ flagship “ and it must satisfy every taste !
Thank you for your positive comments
Hope to meet you and your mother soon
Best regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Zone
Hotel Zone
#469 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.6 mi away
Excel Hotel Roma Montemario
1.7 mi away
River Chateau Hotel
River Chateau Hotel
#323 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Hotel Artis
Hotel Artis
#391 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Tiberio
Grand Hotel Tiberio
#270 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Pineta Palace
Hotel Pineta Palace
#449 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel dei Massimi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel dei Massimi

Property: Park Hotel dei Massimi
Address: Largo Vincenzo Ambrosio 9, 00136 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#127 Family Hotel in Rome
#200 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#229 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel dei Massimi 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hotel dei Massimi is a four star family - owned hotel in Rome located near the Vatican City and Sistine Chapel. The hotel is ideal for tourists, travelers and businessmen that need a peaceful noiseless hotel steps from the center Rome and a neighborhood very friendly and safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hotel dei Massimi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing