We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Traiano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Traiano
Ranked #589 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Good location, close to all major attractions. The room we stayed in was very nice (chocolates on our pillows), a lot larger then expected based on past Rome hotels I have stayed in. Staff was extremely friendly, great customer service. Breakfast buffet a little above basic (scramble eggs and bacon, fresh pot of coffee). Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the street - gets noisy at night. For Breakfast make sure you get there 30...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tee0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (550)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

126 - 132 of 552 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

I agree with everyone else that the staff were the best thing about this hotel and that the central location (if you want to be in the heart of Rome) is the other key recommendation. Research where it is first and have a map, you will see it is easy to find. We walked 20 minutes from Roma Termini (the main rail station from the airport) but that would be tricky with lots of luggage. The front is nice but the rooms and other parts of the hotel were a bit shabby. The room was fine - not recently refurbished but it was comfortable. I agree about the coffee. Breakfast was plentiful but this is really a budget hotel made good by its impressive location. Very near the Victor Emmanuel monument; a short walk from the Colosseum, and the Trevi Fountain (a map needed to get through the maze of streets) - 15 minutes to both (my wife says 10). Many good bars and restaurants and cheap places nearby if you look around. Try little lane Via della Pilotta (Le Lanterne) and Piazza Santi Apostoli (a street not a square). I particularly enjoyed chatting about English and Italian phrases with the desk clerk who was on duty in the afternoons who made a great effort to learn more accurate English, and explain Italian terms. I didn't realise that Traiano is (in English) the Emperor Trajan, the big column down the hill is a giveaway. Handy for us having a friend's wedding at San Marco, the other side of Piazza Venezia.

Room Tip: Our room looked out only onto the internal service courtyard that looked like no one had renovated i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KironReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The location is 4* since you're less than 1 minute from Piazza Venezia.
The staff is more than 4* worth: highly professional, helpful and friendly.

All the rest (and I might begin with the coffee served for breakfast)
deserves less than 2* (guys, we are in Italy... if there is something you
should be good at is espresso!).
The room was the smallest I ever got in any other hotel and tremendously
noisy. The hair conditioning "might work" but it's extremely loud. Breakfast
was ordinary, the wireless provider has a bug (click on "forget my code" even
if it's the first time you're logging in) and the lift had a stinky smell (it might be
have been humidity).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tt0473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We were a party of 3 and stayed at the Traiano for 3 days in mid September. We booked a triple room and were looking forward to this as we had stayed there 10 years ago and found it quite satisfactory. How things have changed! The first room they gave us was appalling, and we could not believe it was for guests as it was so shabby and the window was not operational and it looked like a storage room. When we asked to move the staff were rude and only reluctantly moved us the next day. That room was better, and at least had a nice window you could open and the furnishings were less shabby. The location was good near the Roman Ruins, and that was the only thing that stopped us checking out. This Hotel is definitely not 4 star and anyone expecting this standard is going to be disappointed. We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dav076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Great staff. They were all so friendly...from the reception to the bell boy to the chef...all were extremely helpful and so friendly. That is the only reason I am giving this hotel 2 stars. Otherwise, it doesn't deserve much.

The sheets were a problem as they irritated my skin but I was told they couldn't change the sheets. There were no tea making facilities however, the staff gave you the hot water to take to your room. The breakfast wasn't anything special. We didn't even eat it for all the days we had paid for it. However, the cook was really awesome. I hope he's doing well.
We had asked for our room to be away from the main road. Nope, our room was on the first level right on top of the main road. REALLY noisy.
The wireless was equally as bad.

Location is pretty good though.

Room Tip: Emphasise the need for a room away from the main road...or at least on a higher level. Request for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EP87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

The location is very good, many tourism attractions are in walking distance. The staff are really nice and informative. This hotel has a bell boy. Rooms are a bit old but very comfortable. Toilets have the washer. The negative part is the lack of safe box in the room. We used the safe at the reception. Breakfast is good. It was a nice 5 days of stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Morteza K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The company that we booked this hotel with went into administration the week before we were due to stay. They cancelled our booking and kept our money (2 nights B&B) leaving us quite a bit out of pocket. Although this was not the fault of the hotel as such I thought they might help us out, after all they should be careful who they allow to sell their rooms for them and should ensure they receive the money people pay to stay in their hotel straight away to ensure this can't happen. As far as we were concerned the hotel had our money and nothing could go wrong. When I contacted the hotel to see if they could then give us the same room for a reduced rate they claimed to have resold the room already (the next day) which I don't believe. We had to find alternative accommodation and lost over £200 and this hotel couldn't care less.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank garymackenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
#277 of 1,273 in Rome
813 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Pace Helvezia
Hotel Pace Helvezia
#386 of 1,273 in Rome
685 reviews
Trevi
Cosmopolita Hotel
Cosmopolita Hotel
#308 of 1,273 in Rome
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Quirinale Luxury Rooms
Quirinale Luxury Rooms
#210 of 1,273 in Rome
145 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Piazza Venezia
Hotel Piazza Venezia
#415 of 1,273 in Rome
231 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Hiberia
Hotel Hiberia
#189 of 1,273 in Rome
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Traiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Traiano

Address: Via Quattro Novembre 154, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#282 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £71 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Traiano 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Traiano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traiano Hotel Rome
Rome Hotel Traiano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing