We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“tranquil surrounds.......” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relais Castrum Boccea

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Relais Castrum Boccea
Ranked #394 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“tranquil surrounds.......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

My sister and I stayed for seven days and found the hotel to have quiet surrounds, with few other guests, (21- 28th August). This is a beautiful hotel with a very friendly ambience. However, it is not for anyone looking to go partying in Rome. It was two buses and then the metro into Rome, approximately an hour journey, which we actually got used to fairly quickly. Alternatively, you could pay for the shuttle to take you into the city, if you booked it the night before.

The staff were always keen to help and accommodate. We had an issue with our room whilst we were there but this was addressed fairly quickly, we were offered another room at no further cost. There is a restaurant next to the hotel but we ate there once only. I believe the hotel will have a swimming pool this year, which will be a bonus. All the members of staff were happy to help and guide on places to go and how to get there as well as making sure that our stay was very enjoyable! We cannot fault the service here at all, it was excellent! I have no complaints about it all!

Hotel would be ideal for couples!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goodveggieguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    84
    31
    15
    14
See reviews for
63
168
4
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

I cannot say enough about this fabulous tranquil little piece of Italian heaven set in wonderful countryside. Myself and my partner David stayed here from Friday 28 - Monday 31 October. The staff make you feel so welcome and nothing is too much trouble for them. On arrival myself and my partner David Findlay were greeted by a lovely woman whose name i unfortunately didnt get - she had the biggest smile and made us feel so welcome and took us to our room which was rustic, cosy and clean with a little terrace with table and chairs and a gorgeous wooden double seat with ivy wrapped round the top, then Maria who also worked in reception organised the shuttle and taxis for us and talked us through where to go in Rome - she always had time to talk and tell us all about the hotel and offer help and advice. I could have talked to her for hours - such a lovely person and her English is fabulous. The two men who worked in the restaurant were also very helpful and courteous and the food was second to none! Even on the days we ate in centre of Rome we always returned to the bar for drinks and had lunch and dinner on the Friday and Monday of our stay as the prices were on par with the restaurants in Rome so i dont understand some of the reviews saying it is overpriced? We plan to return next year and spend more time at the hotel rather than touring round Rome for a more peaceful, romantic break. We didnt want to leave. It is out of the way and not close to anything but the shuttle is 5 Euros so you cannot complain - the only thing i would suggest is possibly a little shop selling basics and possibly instead of the shuttle picking you up at 7pm from Rome that you had the option of a bit later pick up e.g. 9pm but these are minor points that would not and shoud not stop anyone from staying here rather than a city centre hotel. You have the grounds to wander round, sit on the swing chair higher up on the grounds next to the gorgeous gazibos, fountain and water wheel taking in the gorgeous Italian scenery. We have both fallen in love with this serene Italian haven.Thank you to all the staff esp Maria xx

Room Tip: All rooms will be quiet with idyllic scenery
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LynnMcGregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

This hotel may be a little out of the way but is well worth it. The shuttle bus makes it easy to visit central Rome and the location is stunning.
All the staff were welcoming and helpful and we loved Maria ... She couldn't do enough for us!
A beautiful place for romance and relaxation away from the craziness
Of the city centre.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrybaldery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
la rippe
Level Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

We recently spent 5 days as part of a car rally in the Relais Castrum Boccea.
The hotel is difficult to find as the Via Boccea is at least 8 kms long.
The hotel is in a quiet area and about 20 kms from Fiumicino airport,
there is a lot of parking space but no swimming pool.
The hotel seems to live off large occasions like weddings and business meetings,the service
is minimal but the staff tries really hard.
The food in the little restaurant is not very good and expensive.
The rooms are fine,quite large and a good bed and the bath room is ok.
But we one night had dinner in the room and the food stayed outside on the tray for three days.In 5 days our bed linnen was not changed but the towels were.
The pictures on the internet are taken from a clever angle as the rooms are not that grand.
I would say a 2 star hotel and not a 4 star.

Room Tip: i would ask for a room opposite the reception as the rooms further along will be noisy during a we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ittagub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Speyer
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

One of those rustic type places with thick stone walls, wide stairs, medievalish interiors and all the other ingredients needed to make you feel very Italian about a place. So far so good. Maybe a bit over-styled here or there, esp. the overdone attire of the staff, but overall a good ambience.

Now for the problems, which are mostly details, but they add up ... Firstly a lack of attention to detail. No clothes hooks in the bathroom: makes it inconvenient. The showerhead kept slipping down, although it was a very nice shower: annoying. There was a plate with crumbs sitting on a table in the corridor during the entire stay: not making a good impression. The air-con box although brand-new ridiculously noisy, like a tractor or so.

Thankfully the windows in my room were double glazed. Kept the noise of the Saturday night party out relatively well, although sensitive people may not get a good nights sleep while the disco is going.

The breakfast was soso. Again nice ambience, no doubt, but stale bread, a lukewarm cappucino (although asked the waiter to give a hot one: version 2 was also lukewarm), cheese and ham that looked like they came from the supermarket, and so tasted the juices. An ok breakfast, but no reason for joy.

At the checkout they charged for wifi, even though wifi did not work and I told the reception guy so. The "Rome city tax" was also a surprise. Although not substantial, you never like it when there are items on your bill that you did not expect.

Overall the place has potential, but kind of lost the plot a little. Actually, it reminded me a bit of an Indian operation / business model, with the very dressed up staff, 2 restaurants and stuff so that in principle you can just hang around the hotel, get pampered and not go out - at a price.

Talking of price, I got a good rate, and so I do not complain about the deficiencies. This might be quite different if I had paid the full fare.

And last but not least: do not expect any sweet Mediterranean setting in terms of the surrounding landscape. There really is not much of a view to talk about. Unkept scrubs, bushes, trees, the sides of the road going there very littered. Welcome to Italy :-)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mc02282014a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
İstanbul
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

We absoutely loved the hotel. The design is great, rooms are luxurious and they look lovely. It is an easy ride away to the city yet you feel like you are lost in nature. Good breakfast, helpfull staff. Very clean rooms. We loved everything about this hotel. We will definitely book there again when we go back to Rome.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArzuAkkas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Stayed here for one night en route to central Rome, for August the hotel was surprisingly quiet but we had an excellent stay and for the price we thought this was superb value. We had dinner here and i chose the three course set menu, I was very surprised to have the starter (Macaroni Cheese) and the main course (Veal) served together on the same plate but the quality of the food was good although the service could have been improved a little (there appeared to be a prospective wedding couple who got the lion's share of the attention!) The grounds are beautiful and the addition of a swimming pool would be a real benefit to this hotel - we definately plan to return!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steveyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
16.1 mi away
Piccolo Borgo
Piccolo Borgo
#303 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
15.7 mi away
All Ways Garden Hotel & Leisure
4.9 mi away
Resort la Rocchetta
Resort la Rocchetta
#316 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Selva Candida
Hotel Selva Candida
#387 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
14.8 mi away
Domidea Hotel
Domidea Hotel
#195 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel La Genziana
Hotel La Genziana
#467 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Castrum Boccea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Castrum Boccea

Property: Relais Castrum Boccea
Address: Via SS. Mario e Marta 27, 00166 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Gianicolense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#145 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#210 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#242 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Castrum Boccea 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the Roman countryside just 30 minutes from downtown is the "Castrum Boccea" a historic medieval relay turned into a hotel.Thanks to a restoration can have a look at history and relive the glories of bygone days. Surrounded by lush vegetation provides ample space inside and outside, ideal for weddings, business meetings and stay in complete relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Relais Castrum Boccea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Castrum Boccea Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing