We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“50th Birthday treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Starhotels Michelangelo
Ranked #150 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“50th Birthday treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I went to Rome last Thursday 1st May with husband, daughter 23 and son 18.
We arrived at 11.30pm and had a very smooth check in. Unfortunately there was a problem with our rooms once we got to them our children could not get in to theirs after trying two keycards they were moved. Our room had a really annoying buzz which turned out to be the bathroom vent.
So we were moved to a twin room and told we would be moved in the morning by this time it was 12.15am.
The following day(my birthday) after a trip to the Colosseum we got back about 3pm got our new key and an amazing room and upgrade on the front with balcony and side view of St Peter's.
An hour later a knock at the door and I was presented with a bottle of Prossecco in an ice bucket with peanuts and crisps and a little card wishing me a Happy Birthday.
This was so lovely and really made it such a lovely day.
The hotel is in a great location and so close to the Vatican a bit of a walk to other places but no more than 45mins max and you see so much more on foot and walk of the past and ice cream!!
The Breakfast was very good great selection, make sure you don't go in after an American group as it will be like the locusts have been through.
They can be a bit slow in replenishing items also a bit slow with clearing plates and bowls when there are four of you these can pile up.
On the whole I would definitely recommend the hotel it is clean and modern and feels spacious and airy.
A big thank you again for making my birthday so special.

Room Tip: All the rooms that we saw and we saw a few were all very good but the ones on the front with a balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallylux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerMiche, Direttore at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for the review, about your stay in our Starhotels Michelangelo, and for the time dedicated to us. Every time we receive a positive impressions from our Guests, means that our mission, which is to give the best comfort and the best service have been reached!
Hoping to welcome you once more in Rome at the Starhotels Michelangelo we send you our best regards.

Starhotels Michelangelo Rome
Mauro Polmonari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    412
    100
    22
    15
See reviews for
226
448
29
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We spent three nights at this hotel. The main purpose of our hotel was to visit the Vatican and the location could not be more perfect. The breakfast was pretty good and plenty of choices. We highly recommend this hotel....!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerMiche, Direttore at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

it’s a great pleasure to read about your comment regarding your stay in Rome, and the positive impression received from our Starhotels Michelangelo.
Thanking you for the time dedicated to us, we hope to welcome you once more in the “Eternal City”!
Yours faithfully

Mauro Polmonari
General Manager
Starhotels Michelangelo Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

All in all it was a nice experience for the period of 7 days we stayed there except for the unprofessional and rude behavior of the front desk attendant name Edgardo. He gave us wrong information and was reluctant to help and gave us attitude as if we are imposing on his leisure time. We asked him for hop on hop off tickets and he shrugged us off and said go find them on the streets and simply didnt want to continue the conversation, just to find out 2 days later that they do actually sell them at the reception. He did the same attitude with another guest in front of us where she wanted to ask him something and he kept turning away and telling her have a good day in a mean way to shut her up.When my wife called him on the phone because the internet was down, he rudely told her cant you see I am busy doing a check in. I wont mention what my wife told him :)....

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerMiche, Direttore at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this review, 2 April 2015
Dear "George W",

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.
We strive to adhere to our guests every need above and beyond their expectations, and it is clear that we failed to achieve this aim on this occasion.
Please believe this is not the usual standard as we focus highly on great service and experience and we really apologize that we did not meet your expectations.
We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention, and we sincerely hope this apology has gone someway to restoring your faith in the Starhotels Michelangelo, and we will be able to welcome you back to our property in the near future.

Mauro Polmonari
General Manger
Starhotels Michelangelo Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

This was a great hotel for our first trip to Rome! We stayed here 3 nights. I was really worried about what we were getting ourselves into after reading all of the reviews of various hotels in Rome. The hotel arranged for our pick up from the airport which was super convenient and upon our arrival at the hotel I was thrilled. The hotel was modern and very clean. The location was super convenient to St. Peter's Square and the Vatican. The rooms were quite comfortable and the breakfast was great. At St. Peter's Square we grabbed one of the open topped tourist buses and we were able to see everything. We would definitely stay here again! Our positive experience with this hotel even lead us to book a with Starhotels in Venice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerMiche, Direttore at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear “Melissa R”

It’s such a pleasure to read your kind words regarding our hotel and its staff, but most importantly, for dedicating some of your personal time to us.
We are very happy to contribute to make your stay in Rome a memorable one, and we do hope to welcome you in the near future!
Best regards,

Mauro Polmonari
General Manager
Starhotels Michelangelo Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wood Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Beautiful and clean, very nice staff. Some were very helpful while others need to understand tourists needs better. The breakfast staff and manager did a great job. My only dislike was the scrambled eggs. The were very loose and runny every morning. The could also use a better toaster. Overall, the breakfast experience was still very good. The restaurant manager was very helpful in giving us tips on where to go shopping. Our room was very modern and clean. I requested a regular chair for the room as there was only ottomans to sit on. My wife also requested a extra pillow from the front desk. When we returned to our room, both the chair and pillow were there. I would highly recommend this hotel for tourists who want to focus on the Vatican (as we did). Going to see the other major sites, we used the buses, a block away and taxis that the front desk will call for you. Another reason we picked this hotel was the overall value considering price, location and being in a modern hotel in an area with very old hotels.

Room Tip: The hotel is not located on a main street so it's pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerMiche, Direttore at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear "Richard V",
We thank you very much for the review, about your stay in our Starhotels Michelangelo, and for the time dedicated to us. Every time we receive a positive impressions from our Guests, means that our mission, which is to give the best comfort and the best service have been reached!
Hoping to welcome you once more in Rome at the Starhotels Michelangelo we send you our best regards.

Starhotels Michelangelo Rome
Mauro Polmonari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed for 4 nights -,A good quality hotel only 5 minutes walk from St Peters Square. Very clean and modern. We had two rooms both well presented with comfortable beds and quality bathroom. TV will 60 Multi language channels in Italian, English, German, French, Chinese, Spanish, plus Sky Sports 1 & 2.

Air con ok but room snacks poor at e4 a go.

Breakfast staff hit and miss, one day they were great next poor as if we were in England :-(

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerMiche, Direttore at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear …………………
Dear Guest,

firstly, we would like to tank you for leaving your comments regarding Starhotels Michelangelo. We aspire to certain essential priorities, among many, as courteous staff aimed at customer satisfaction and impeccable service. We regret if these aspects were not achieved and we definitely work on what you’re kindly pointed out in your comment to improve ourselves and our service.
We do hope to welcome you once more in the near future.
Best regards

Mauro Polmonari
General Manager
Starhotels Michelangelo Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strabane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We were pleased that this hotel looked exactly as advertised, a modern clean hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was continental with a good selection. The Vatican was only a 10 minute walk.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank F D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerMiche, Direttore at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear "F D",
we thank you for the time dedicated to us in writing your review about our Starhotels Michelangelo, and hoping to welcome you again in our hotel for your next roman stay, we send you our best regards.

Mauro Polmonari
General Manager
Starhotels Michelangelo Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Starhotels Metropole
Starhotels Metropole
#167 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Residenza Paolo VI
Residenza Paolo VI
#120 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#59 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#34 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Hotel Alimandi Vaticano
#57 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Prati
NH Collection Roma Giustiniano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Michelangelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Michelangelo

Property: Starhotels Michelangelo
Address: Via della Stazione di San Pietro 14, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#136 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#160 Business Hotel in Rome
#172 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Michelangelo 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star design hotel in the heart of baroque Rome, is just moments from the Vatican and offers views across to St. Peter's Dome. Its style is inspired by the same Italian spirit, personal touch, and attention to detail of its namesake: the grandmaster of Renaissance art. The Sistine Chapel is just steps away and we're walking distance to many historic wonders such as Colosseum and Castel Saint Angelo. Our completely renovated hotel is a triumph of traditional design , with 179 rooms and suites. The Dome restaurant serves superb international and Roman cuisine. Come and stay in an incredible location and enjoy the very best of the eternal city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Starhotels Michelangelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Michelangelo Hotel Rome
Starhotel Michelangelo Rome
Starhotel Michelangelo Hotel Rome
Star Hotel Michelangelo Rome
Hotel Michelangelo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing