We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't get fooled by charges”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Atlante Garden Hotel
Ranked #370 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Don't get fooled by charges”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I have just came back from a 4 day trip to Rome where we stayed in the Atlante Garden Hotel.
It’s difficult to get the free courtesy bus at the airport unless you order by phone the day prior tom your visit. I found this out to my cost. So my fault I suppose. Ok at the hotel the entrance is at what seems the side of the building, dropping down a steep set of stairs to a sub street level.
The staffs were helpful and seemed quite friendly on our arrival.
We had ordered a room with 2 separate beds as this was a holiday for me and my son. On entering the room we found a double bed. No problem they gave us another room on the next floor up.
The room was clean( ish). Just a bit old and dated.
Little things like the lack of room facilities kettle for coffee tea etc. that I thought the normal these days were missing.
The air con was noisy and a little inefficient as I said old. The shower worked well it was over a Jacuzzi bath but the bath spat out black bits when in Jacuzzi mode don’t use . the handle in the baht was rusted so didn’t look good.
But as a credit they changed the linen every day and swept and cleaned up, good housekeeping.
There is no restaurant so you have to source food from some of the neighboring restaurants.
There is a bar but a one ltr of water and a small coke was nearly €11 expensive by all accounts.
Breakfast was buffet continental and there was plenty of choice, hams cheese cereals and some hot food as well. Pastries and plenty coffee. So not so bad.
The net thing was we needed details of the mini bus to the airport, there is the catch. Its free to come but costs €20 each to return and you need to book it 24 hrs in advance. There is also a city tax.
All a bit of a surprise at the end.
Would I recommend this hotel, yes as long as you are not expecting a 5 star experience and you know the pitfalls.

Room Tip: watch out for the hidden costs, don't expect a palace
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Gerryriddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    404
    182
    93
    54
See reviews for
260
414
34
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in August 2014. We have never visited Rome before but understood that this hotel was well-located for most of the "sights". We arrived by taxi from the Terminus station, having taken a coach from the airport Camparini. The coach was around 6euros for a return trip and the taxi from the station was under 15euros. A cheaper way would be to take the metro to the terminus station as this is just 1.5 euro per person, but we had not figured this out at that time. The metro is really easy to use and fast, with air conditioning too!
The hotel entrance is lovely and the ground floor lobby and rooms are very Italian and clean. Check in was very quick and easy. Our room was on the 1s floor and was spacious, had air conditioning, a clean bathroom with jet bath, a good sized wardrobe and plenty of drawer space to unpack. The bed was comfortable, there was no street noise with the windows shut (which you do for the air-con to work properly anyway) and no noise from within the hotel was noticed or disturbed us at any time. The streets were safe and they felt secure to be walking around very late at night. Staff were all polite and lovely.

The location was perfect, it was less than 10 minutes from St Peters Square/Vatican, a nice walk to the bridges and plenty of restaurants to chose from in the immediate area. (We did find our favourite restaurant of the trip in a nearby street by the river, "Spaccio Pasta" was fantastic and very cheap! ),

We would return to this hotel if every in Rome again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAug63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Superb service (front desk personnel speak English and actually want to help you), superb rooms (so beautiful you want to take photos), superb location (center of the whole city). And the hotel offers a service for airport pick up! What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TakesTrips4Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights in this Hotel on a busy main road 5 minutes from the Vatican. We had the airport transfer and breakfast buffet included and it was a bargain. The room was a little dated in decor but it had an Italian feel not like budget hotel sterile atmosphere. We walked to all the main sites ( with help of printed google map walking routes) and the furthest was The colosseum at 45 mins away but Rome is such a beautiful place to walk around it helped us discover places we would have missed using transport. There are lovely eateries nearby and a mini supermarket 2 mins away for essentials. The breakfast was a basic buffet but enjoyable and good service. The rooms were spotlessly clean and bathrooms huge with whirlpool bath ( we had family room for 4). Rooms cleaned and fresh towels everyday. Air conditioned and TV ( BBC news available) and WI-Fi. The road is busy so we did experience noise at night but if you remeber you are in the middle of busy Rome then surely this is to be expected. Airport transfer back arranged by hotel at €50 for 4. Lovely staff and very polite. Perfect for lovely evening strolls in a nice area. Would return definitely.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank finbar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I went to Rome with my family and stayed at Atlante Garden Hotel. I highly recommend this hotel to tourist. The place was walking distance to Vatican museum and St Peters Basilica. As soon as you go out the hotel,shopping stores and restaurants were all over. The hotel was clean and the staffs were friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet was excellent. I called a room service twice and the response was quick. The only thing I can say was the room was small but clean and the beds are comfortable. The elevator was small with a capacity of only 4 people. However, everything was lovely and will return to this hotel again on my next trip to Rome. Thanks to all the staff of Atlante Garden! Hope to see you again! Arrivederci!e

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zennee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Washington, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The Atlante Garde Hotel is neatly tucked away from the more hectic and sonorous part of Rome. The Hotel is situated near the Vatican and minutes away from Piazza Navona. With breakfast included, the hotel staff are extraordinarily helpful and hospitable. The rooms are grand and loft with high ceilings with decor that provides a really warm ambience. Although one doesn't spend time in the room when in Rome, the place is welcomes convenient breaks from all the walking and touring while not having to hop on a bus or cab. The elevators a tad bit small but the breakfast at the hotel is well thought out for people romping around town. I will definitely go back there in the near future!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel Sumit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamar, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We picked this hotel on Expedia.com for three reasons. We thought it was central located in Rome, it had a terrace restaurant with view of the Vatican and it had free shuttle between the hotel and the airport. Their own website is poorly translated to English so with its images of the view and the name Les Etoiles (the terrace restaurant) it easy to think it is the Atlante Garden that has the restaurant and the view and not another hotel located a few blocks away. This hotel has a terrace but no view like the pictures says. It's simply located too low. All surrounding buildings are higher. The day before the arrival we get a mail from the hotel saying they have canceled our free shuttle as we have not confirmed it. The info mail from Expedia says nothing has to be confirmed and shows we have requested the free shuttle. We reply the hotel we do want the shuttle but no answer so we call. On the phone we are told it is too late to book now. Last available shuttle is at 5 pm, we arrive at 7 pm. No help to get there. At the airport in Rome we discover by surprise a guy with a sign with our and the sister hotel's name on. It is now 7.30 pm. His English is poor but his service is good. We are not on his list but when we show him our booking he says ok. Obviously there were a later shuttle but with guest to the sister hotel. The people at Atlante Garden had not talked to the people at the Atlante Star I guess. The location is good if you only plan to see the Vatican. But do you plan to see the rest of Rome too, get a hotel closer to everything else. Half way between the Vatican and the Colosseum is great. This hotel has nothing special to offer and for the same price you can find something with the same standard located a lot closer to the center of Rome. If you stay, the breakfast is absolutely ok. Be aware the free shuttles has to be confirmed three days prior to arrival AND it is only from the airport, not back. That'll cost you €40. All types of reservations has to be confirmed! And, this hotel has a terrace with NO view of the Vatican and no restaurant or bar at the top. The actual restaurant at the sister hotel, has no seating at the actual terrace either. Only inside in a room with some view at certain tables and a sterile atmosphere. We tried to book a table there, but again, we were not informed we had to confirm our reservation, so we lost it. ( luckily, as it has no atmosphere, not seating at the terrace and the prices are pretty high).

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Bardrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Atlante Star
Hotel Atlante Star
#391 of 1,256 in Rome
1,177 reviews
Prati
Hotel Dei Consoli
Hotel Dei Consoli
#508 of 1,256 in Rome
781 reviews
Prati
Orange Hotel
Orange Hotel
#647 of 1,256 in Rome
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#61 of 1,256 in Rome
607 reviews
Prati
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
#251 of 1,256 in Rome
584 reviews
Prati
Hotel Giulio Cesare
Hotel Giulio Cesare
#221 of 1,256 in Rome
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlante Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlante Garden Hotel

Property: Atlante Garden Hotel
Address: Via Crescenzio 78, 00193 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#200 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlante Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Atlante Garden is situated in the heart of Rome, two blocks on foot from the Vatican City, five from Navona Square and the Spanish Steps, in one of the most famous shopping areas The Hotel offers 56 completely renovated guest rooms, all with Jacuzzi bath tubs and all other comforts. Our clients may take advantage of the exclusive free of charge Fiumicino - Leonardo da Vinci airport pick-up service, upon request. Moreover, if they wish, clients can dine on the panoramic Roof Garden Restaurant "Les Etoiles" of the sister Hotel Atlante Star, located right next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Evoline ltd, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Atlante Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atlante Garden
Atlante Garden Rome
Atlante Garden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing