We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Excelsior, Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Ranked #210 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

This was a charming European hotel with graciously appointed rooms and public areas.The rooms are very large for local standards. The staff was excellent. They were so friendly and helpful. The location was perfect to explore the area from. I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for your nice review and so happy to read that you mention the excellent staff and that you would return
Looking forward to welcome you again
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    931
    646
    354
    131
    65
See reviews for
536
816
59
314
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We booked on Travelocity and we were put in terribly old and dirty rooms above a loud garage that we could hear all night.
We didn't sleep for 5 nights... Our rooms were beautiful but smelly, dirty and badly maintained!!! I definitely would not recommend to stay here!
When I complained about the sardines smell - they brought an air freshener.... When I told them about the loud noises at night, they appeared shocked.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ks121214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for having taken the time to share your comments; I apologize for not having met your expectations and do not know if we were informed during your stay so that we could make a room change
To all tripadvisors please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any help during your stay
Marc L
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Service was more than we could ask for. Arrived really early (10:30) & with no hesitations they showered us to our room. We are SPG members but nit sure if that matters. The rooms are better in life than the photos but they are smelly because of the building being so old. But you can't have ancient & good smelling at the same time, I've realized in Europe.

Huge bedroom & bathroom. We leave the doors open for the most perfect weather for Rome in April. Westin bed which is the greatest for traveling & my most important criteria, down pillows & awesome neck rolls.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loveeatpray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Tripadvisor
Very happy to read that you enjoyed the service of our staff. We are indeed fortunate to have large rooms and all rooms have the Westin Heavenly bed
Looking forward to welcome you again
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Beautiful FIVE STAR hotel, beautifully appointed rooms/suites which are quite large. Loved my stay here. Attentive, polite, excellent staff. Harry's Bar is right down the street and there's a beautiful park where the Borghese mansion and gardens are. It was an outstanding visit before heading to Tuscany, Florence and Venice.

Room Tip: Excellent location and walking distance to most historic sites. Very quiet and just the BEST!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Jillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for your nice review and for mentioning the attentive, polite and excellent staff
This is very motivating for us
Looking forward to welcome you again
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We had a wonderful three day stay at the Westin Excelsior Rome. With the 3 days for the price of 2 promotion, a weekend stay is great value, and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We were in Rome celebrating our wedding anniversary, and the hotel made it really special for us with Champagne and flowers. It was very much appreciated.

The lobby is visually stunning, and the reception and concierge staff were uniformly friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet is excellent, and the staff could not have been more efficient; the service was great.

The location in North Rome is convenient to the Spanish Steps and Villa Borghese, and a Metro stop is only a few blocks away. Lots of restaurants close by, although we discovered that a number of these are tourist traps (one in particular was recommended by the Concierge, perhaps do your own research also).

All in all a lovely stay, very highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripper16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Tripadvisor
Happy to read you enjoyed your stay and that we recognized your wedding anniversary.
Thank you for mentioning the efficiency of the staff and their service
Best regards
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Very Nice Hotel with Nice rooms and Great service . Location is fantastic within walking distance of Spanish Steps and Colosseum. If you want to give the Italian food a break ( not that I would understand why ) then Hard Rock is just across the road .

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cornelia007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for mentioning the great service, the nice rooms and the location. Happy to read we met your expectations
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

So many nice hotels in so many places,and this is nice Had a lovely balcony ,best bed ever.

But come on 1bottle of water. Jaded room decor,hinges unhinged dirty walls and filthy corners in shower

Staff very pleasant and courteous , though did not see any as I struggled with my luggage as I left Will return to Rome but not the westin. Too many nicer hotels for the same price and star rating

Would advise people looking for value for money to double check before booking

Room Tip: I loved our balcony overlooking the American embassy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank des101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for your review and for mentioning the pleasant and courteous staff
I apologize that at the check-out we did not have an associate to help
Happy to read you enjoyed our Westin Heavenly beds.
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#81 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#172 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#114 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#107 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Excelsior, Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior, Rome

Property: The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Address: 125, Via Vittorio Veneto, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Rome
#119 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#131 Business Hotel in Rome
#180 Family Hotel in Rome
#211 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior, Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restful and invigorating stay awaits you in one of our 281 rooms and 35 suites, few steps from Rome center and facing Via Veneto, hearth of DolceVita.Our rooms will welcome you with maximum comfort and technology and are equipped with the revitalizing Westin Heavenly Bed ®, high-speed Internet connection (surcharge), LCD flat screen televisions, pay-per-view movies and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Priceline so you can book your The Westin Excelsior, Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior, Rome Hotel Rome
Westin Rome
Westin Excelsior Hotel
Rome Westin
Excelsior Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing