We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautil hotel with great service-needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Ranked #226 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is a beautiful hotel that as other reviews point out, needs updating. I hope they dont change the design because it is quite perfect for Rome (old world and grand) but painting and carpet replacement is very much needed. That did not effect our stay-we loved the hotel and it was a perfect location for us

I strongly disagree with other reviewers about staff. From the front desk to the restaurant to the gym, they were outstanding in every way. A wonderful blend of professional and friendly and everyone went out of their way to help. Room service was the fastest I have ever experienced and we used it daily. I cant imagine what the problem was with other reviewers.

This would be my 1st choice place to stay in Rome for a return trip because of the staff, location, and amenities. I rated it "very good" rather than excellent only because of the need for painting and new carpets.

Finally-the woman who is in charge of the breakfast each morning was amazing. (dark hair and suit, not one of the servers) She remembered our room, coffee choice, and seating preference every day, greeted us with a welcoming smile and had the highest standards of professionalism. She really made every morning lovely and is an asset to the hotel. (along with the wonderful and helpful servers) I cant say enough good things about the staff in all areas of the hotel.

Room Tip: Inside rooms have no view but are very quiet. Light sleepers will want inside rooms becuase of scoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jphanse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you your review and for saying that not only we have a beautiful hotel but that you liked the service received by our staff
This is very motivating for us
Grazie Mille !
Marc L
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,015 - 1,021 of 2,365 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in room #323. We had used starwood's starpoints to book the room then paid a cash upgrade (the hotel amusingly called 'upsell') for a larger room, breakfast and wi-fi.

The room was lovely and comfortable, with a large walk in wardrobe, great original marble bathroom and great sized bedroom (apparently a result of the hotel being purpose built in the early 1900s - they built them with decent sized rooms then!).

The bedroom looked out on to the back of the hotel and was very quiet with excellent black out blinds. The bed consisted of 2 single beds but was very comfortable.

Service at the check in desk was super friendly. The concierge was a bit hit and miss, however (this could have been a language or culture gap).

The buffet breakfast was very nice, of a good quality and with an egg station. We noticed that there were a lot of sweet options and couldn’t see as many of the usual westin healthy breakfast options though. We also had difficulty every morning being served our tea and coffee. For a hotel of this standard, we should be asked for our hot beverage order when being seated for breakfast. We had to sit at the table for 5 – 10 minutes each morning until we could get someone’s attention to take our order.

The service in the bar was excellent, prompt and they made a great martini and manhattan.

The in room wi-fi was the fastest we have ever experienced and could well have been faster than our home internet connection!!

We enjoyed our complimentary amaretti biscuits on arrival.

The location on Via Veneto was fine. Via Veneto doesn’t seem to be at all what it used to be and seems to have a few touristy looking bars and cafes (including a Hard Rock Café). It is quite central to a few metro stops (Barbieri being the most convenient) and it is very close to the Borgehese Gardens. We found ourselves walking to the centro storico too (30 minutes), although we did take a taxi on a few occasions (around EUR10).

We would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jon Potter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for your review and for mentioning the super friendly front desk, the excellent service in the bar and for saying that you would stay with us again
We will improve on the other comments you made
Best regards
Marc L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here during our trip to Rome and couldn't have been more pleased with our accommodations. Our room was beautiful and we loved the view we had from our terrace. This location was great and we would definitely return here when we come back to Rome.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear TripAdvisor
Thank you for your nice review and for saying you will come back !
“ Arrivederci”
Marc L
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This property is well located and a historic landmark. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Unfortunately, they had busloads of bargain tourists that descended on the breakfast buffet like a plague of locusts. They must not have fed the people on this tour, because they were pushing and shoving each other, loading their plates to the spilling point, and snatching up all the foodstuffs and water they could haul away. After determining that I would have to settle for just coffee, one lady sat down at my table with me. In her defense, there was no room to sit elsewhere. Then she took my plate. At this point I gave up, informed the desk manager, and left. You can't claim to be a five star hotel and sacrifice the experience of your guests by hosting third world bargain tours.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mudfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for your review and for saying that the rooms are clean and comfortable.
As to your comment regarding the breakfast experience I regret the inconveniences although I do not agree with the qualification you make about our guests travelling together.
The hotel hosts meetings, conventions, individual travelers, business men, heads of state, rich & famous and tourists travelling alone or together and all of them are more than welcome
Best regards
Marc L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were upgraded to a three room suite, treated royally and thoroughly satisfied with our stay in Rome. The concierge desk was always accessible and every recommendation was spot-on. Comfortable, beautiful, grand and exciting. For a large hotel in a large city, these guys are doing it right! I don't recommend the spa, however, services were sub-par and the cost was high. Everything else was great!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggiekern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for your nice review and so happy to read you were satisfied with your stay
I have also taken good note of your comments about our fitness. I should not call it a SPA as we have a large exercise room, an indoor swimming pool , sauna and steam bath and 2 treatment rooms but of course the service should be up to standard
I apologize for this
Marc L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

One of Italys great Palace Hotels wonderfully located.Grand public Rooms and exceptional space. Beautiful Art Deco Bar with charming service. Rooms are quite large and suites are even larger. Very well decorated but Rooms are in need of updating. While well maintained, rooms and technology need updating. Helpful and friendly (if overworked) staff. Great Breakfast.

Room Tip: Facing Via Venito if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Howard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for mentioning the charming service and the helpful and friendly staff as well as the great breakfast
Looking forward to welcome you again
Marc L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at the Excelsior for 6 nights in May. This hotel is a classic beauty, located in the Via Veneto District. It is within walking distance to the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Colosseum and Borghese Gardens to name just a few.
We had drinks in the the lobby bar where the drinks and the service were excellent.
There was a one day hotel strike which management handled very well. Extra towels and toiletries were available at stations on every floor if needed. A breakfast room was set up with self serve coffee, juices and pastries.
Our room was an inside, courtyard view room on the second floor. Unfortunately, the courtyard consists of vents, fans and metal ladders. Very unsightly. The room itself was quite beautiful and large, but showing some serious wear and tear. The top drawer on our dresser was split all along the inside, front edge. I was a bit concerned that something would get snagged or torn on the sharp pieces of wood. The toilet flusher cover fell off, and as we were not able to reattach it, remained as is for a day and a half. This did not coincide with the strike day. A screw and bracket on the towel holder popped off while removing a towel but I was able to reattach it. There was a stain on one of our chairs, and several pieces of the chandelier were missing. Small things perhaps, but for a grand hotel like the Excelsior, one would expect more attention to the details. I enjoyed my time at the Excelsior, and would stay again, but would upgrade to an outside view room.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for your review and for your comprehension on how we managed the one day strike in the Italian hospitality industry
Please contact me at excelsiorrome@westin.com so I can identify the room and fix the points you mention
Thank you for saying that would stay again with us
Marc L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#109 of 1,271 in Rome
886 reviews
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#89 of 1,271 in Rome
2,010 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#131 of 1,271 in Rome
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#56 of 1,271 in Rome
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Excelsior, Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior, Rome

Address: 125, Via Vittorio Veneto, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Rome
#130 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#131 Business Hotel in Rome
#180 Family Hotel in Rome
#211 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £217 - £467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior, Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restful and invigorating stay awaits you in one of our 281 rooms and 35 suites, few steps from Rome center and facing Via Veneto, hearth of DolceVita.Our rooms will welcome you with maximum comfort and technology and are equipped with the revitalizing Westin Heavenly Bed ®, high-speed Internet connection (surcharge), LCD flat screen televisions, pay-per-view movies and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westin Excelsior, Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior, Rome Hotel Rome
Westin Rome
Westin Excelsior Hotel
Rome Westin
Excelsior Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing