We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ultimate Rome Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Ranked #227 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Our driver greeted us with a warm welcome at the airport.. Gave us an overview of the area on the way to the hotel.. Greeted like royalty at the hotel .. Able to check in early after an overnight flight from the states.. Wow.. Room and Hotel were perfect.. Desk was very helpful with transportation needs.. Great location to Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps.. Expensive but , Highly recommend. !

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darrell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for your 5/5 score and for saying the hotel was perfect
Looking forward to welcome you again
Marc L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

978 - 984 of 2,390 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights from July 26th to July 29th using SPG points. The hotel was worth the 20,000 points a night. Though do be prepared to pay the taxes. The rooms and large and elegant with high ceilings, nice big bathrooms.

Everything was efficient from check-in to check-out. We used points for breakfast - the buffet was good, but a little expensive.

If you need to go to FCO they can order a shuttle/cab for you (50 Euros). A little easier than using a taxi.

Location is great. A short walk to many of the major attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Npshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for your nice review and for using your well deserved Starwood Preferred Guest points for your stay
Arrivederci !
Marc L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The first room we were given turned out to have major plumbing problems - we returned to the room in the evening (on the first day we checked in), to find that the tub and the shower stall was filled with smelly dirty brown water full of sediments. It appeared that the plumbing system had backed up and seeped into the tubs and shower stall.

Housekeeping had just been into our room for the nightly turn down service - but remarkably, the smell and sight had escaped the lady - even though she had put in fresh towels for us!

A plumber eventually arrived with a huge plunger concealed in a garbage bag - but having surveyed the scene decided that this was not a problem he could resolve. We had to change rooms - it was past 11pm by now and by kids (a 10 year old and a 7 year old) were exhausted and not too happy to be told that they could not go to bed just yet. The manager also showed up to apologize and to tell us that we will be given an alternative room.

The alternative room we were taken to turned out to be much smaller than the original room. We politely declined saying that this room would not be comfortable for us. So the gentleman from concierge (who was helping us move) called the front desk and after a few minutes, we were shown to another room. This room was also a lot smaller than the first one - but at least there was space to navigate around the beds - and frankly by this time, we were all so tired that we just wanted to go to bed.

It was disappointing that having just experienced a disaster with the plumbing in our original room that the hotel staff did not do much to make the rest of our stay comfortable. They could have easily upgraded us to a better room - but they chose not to.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roshini F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for your review and please accept my apologies for the inconveniences
I agree with you that we could have addressed this issue much better and I regret this was not done properly
Marc L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Myself and my wife visited Rome, on 6th July, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Rome is so beautiful it demands a hotel to match and the Excelsior certainly did that. It is in a lovely location on the Vittorio Veneto and convenient for most major attractions. The hotel provided everything we could want. The room we had was lovely, the restaurant and adjoining bar were great, food was top quality - but most importantly staff at the hotel were superb. Staff at reception were especially helpful. The guy who checked us in and helped throughout our stay - his name was I think Pierpaolo - and his colleagues were superb - oh and must mention Stefano a porter I think and with the others great ambassadors for the hotel. Look forward to visiting again!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank OTravel_Blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Tripadvisor
Happy to read you enjoyed your stay and that my front office and porter colleagues exceeded expectations
Indeed looking forward to welcome you again
Marc L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We spent six nights here in April. The room was lovely and the marble bathroom was well appointed. The staff was very helpful and courteous. The lobby is lavish and a nice place to hang out. There is a piano player in the evening, The adjacent bar/lounge is a cushy place to relax and has a nice little menu. The hotel is located next to the US Embassy. The Villa Borghese is nearby. It is a lovely neighborhood, fairly quiet, but walkable to many sites. We discovered an adorable restaurant around the block, Sapori D'Ischia, that has a high tripadvisor rating. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for mentioning the courteous and helpful staff and for rating your stay a “lovely experience”
Marc L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Location is very good and the staff is helpfull. The rooms are spacious and well decorated. The food at the buffet was delicious. Only downside is the laundry service is expensive but your clothes always arrive on time! They have a free wifi in the lobby. The concierge is alays there to help you out whatevert ime it is! I would recommend this hotel to anyone!!!!!!!!
The bar shari vari (close to the hotel) is very good for a night out in beautiful rome!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophienad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for saying we have a “Great hotel” and that the staff is helpful
What makes us very happy is that you will recommend our hotel to anyone !
Arrivederci !
Marc L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed one night in July 2014 and was upgraded to a King size room. It was a lovely size bedroom, separate dressing area and large bath/shower room. Hotel has a indoor pool, gym and spa area. Staff were very friendly and polite. There was also a large conference/event going on when we arrived and they had arranged a separate check-in for those guests which I thought was good as it speeded up the check-in for everyone else. We enjoyed a quiet drink and snacks in the ORVM Bar with light music. Breakfast was a buffet with a wide variety of choice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mlc2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for saying we have a “Beautiful hotel” and mentioning the friendly and polite staff.
Your comments on our ORVM Bar and the breakfast buffet are appreciated
Marc L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#108 of 1,272 in Rome
889 reviews
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#98 of 1,272 in Rome
2,022 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#149 of 1,272 in Rome
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#53 of 1,272 in Rome
1,440 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Excelsior, Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior, Rome

Address: 125, Via Vittorio Veneto, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Rome
#119 Family Hotel in Rome
#131 Business Hotel in Rome
#134 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#211 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £241 - £463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior, Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restful and invigorating stay awaits you in one of our 281 rooms and 35 suites, few steps from Rome center and facing Via Veneto, hearth of DolceVita.Our rooms will welcome you with maximum comfort and technology and are equipped with the revitalizing Westin Heavenly Bed ®, high-speed Internet connection (surcharge), LCD flat screen televisions, pay-per-view movies and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Excelsior, Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior, Rome Hotel Rome
Westin Rome
Westin Excelsior Hotel
Rome Westin
Excelsior Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing