We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Starhotels Metropole
Ranked #167 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location and room”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We recently stayed at the Metropole Star Hotel as our first leg in a Discover Europe Costco package. When we arrived, we were promptly greeted and swept into a clean and elegent lobby. Our room was updated with hardwood floors and a large tile shower/tub. The hotel (like many in Europe) does not provide conditioner or an iron, but did have a trouser press.

We were able to access free wi-fi by logging in our devices each day. A little bit of a hassle, but I'll take the free part. I also worked out in the fitness room--very small and included a treadmill, stairmaster, weight bench, and arm machine. Not bad since this usually isn't around in European hotels.

The only downside:breakfast. I stuck with yogurt, granola, and fruit as the eggs and bacon were terrible. The cappucinos that the waiter can bring you are pretty good. If you don't have to get breakfast at the hotel, get it elsewhere!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blawless16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    821
    992
    234
    59
    33
See reviews for
483
901
55
284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The hotel doesn't look much from the facade however once you're inside you are transported to a luxurious golden interior. It takes a while to get use to the location and being able to find your way around, however by the second day it was easy to find our way about and the metro and train station is literally a 5 mins walk. The room was very spacious with ample room for luggage and storage. I adored the bathroom as everything was very modern, big and very clean. The bar downstairs was nice to sit at to grab a drink and take advantage of the lovely barmen's hospitality and snacks. The hotel offers 24 hours worth of free wifi in the room but complimentary wifi 24/7 in the bar, restaurant and reception area. I would definitely come back again with only one small disappointment which was the helpfulness and friendliness of some members of staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McNeil13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Yes it is more expensive than other hotels in its star rating. But this hotel lives up to its rating fabulously. Air conditioning is top notch. adjusts to exactly as you want it. rooms clean and immaculate, showers have fantastic hot water and at good pressure. Breakfast of very good quality, same stuff everyday but hey how can you really change staple breakfasts when most of the items you would ask for are there. Plenty of space in breakfast area. Rooms cleaned everyday. Asked for silent rooms and got it. If i have to gripe about something is the lack of decent shower curtains. The glass panel is stupidly small and the bathroom is flooded after shower spills. Also no exhaust in bathroom so it does steam up. All in all a great stay and would deffo recommend. The receptionists are grumpy middle aged men, but hey they are not your average fake smiley how was your day type of guys. As long as they serve me well, which they did, i dont give a toss about smiles.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matt66London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

At first we weren't sure about booking in this area. This hotel kept cropping up in our searches and to be fair it was ideal. It did everything we expected. The room was very clean and well equipped. It seemed very new and I gather it was an executive room, although I'm not 100% sure if it definitely was! It took us 5-10 minutes to drag our cases from the hotel to Rome termini rail station, which was ideal. We did this in the daytime, I'm not so sure I'd want to be hanging around Termini at night, but then hanging around rail stations after dark isn't advisable. The breakfast was fine, the staff on the whole helpful, couple of grumpy receptionists, but breakfast staff very good. It was handy to catch hop on hop off tour buses etc from near Termini, which were actually really good. We stayed for two night. We'd stay here again for sure.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dazzle9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The reception area looks dressed up but that's all about it. Be prepared to encounter tour bus folks which makes it busy. Reception never smiles or greets you.. not very helpful unless you ask persistently. Carpet in lobby stale, rooms have hardwood floors but bathroom did have a stale smell, not sure why or from where. Room insulation is horrible, could hear the traffic outside and people talking when passing through lobby to our room. So keep your voices low even if you close your room. Breakfast looks ample until you realize there isn't much palatable. Someone teach them how to make scrambled eggs that don't smell or runny. Too much sugary desserts at breakfast. Slice of bread with cheese and juice is about what we could eat most days. The girls at the cafeteria do work hard and it is busy from 630 am..like i said tour groups love this place..And yes, order cappochinos except it was served cold most days.

And beware of taxis next to the hotel, take one off the main road instead. I think the taxi folks outside the hotel are unscrupulous bunch, one overcharged us , the other was rude and angry since our ride was short.

Overall if you get a good deal, go for it else this hotel insn't worth it. Other than the helpful girls at breakfast, reception area staff seemed unwelcome and unfriendly.

Room Tip: top floor rooms away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank springfall2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager08rm, General Manager at Starhotels Metropole, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,

first of all we would like to thank you for using your time to write a comment about our venue, since it is actually an important feed back which allows us to improve our service.

My staff and I took notice of your precious observations and, as our first aim is represented by our customers' satisfaction, we will definitely work on it starting from your advice. We are very sorry and would like to apologize if some inconveniences, occurred during your stay - even those not depending on our hotel - in any way disappointed you and we sincerely hope you give us a second chance, sometimes in the next future, of welcoming you again to Starhotels Metropole.

Thanking you a lot for the attention you will pay us , please accept our best regards.

Mauro Polmonari - General Manager
Starhotels Metropole - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here back in June with my boyfriend.
We have travelled many times to cities in Europe and always bpoked a 4* hotel. We were quite disappointed at the standard of this hotel in respects of customer service. We have stayed in Paris and Barcelona where it was outstanding and memorable.
The staff were not very friendly or helpful and it felt like we were disturbing them if we had a question or needed help. There was one man on the door who we greeted politely whenever we left or came back and he just ignored us.
Apart from this, the hotel did what we needed it to do. We had an executive room which was lovely. Location is fantastic easily accessible by walking, close to the termini to explore further and close proximity to bars and restaurants.


Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager08rm, General Manager at Starhotels Metropole, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

first of all we would like to thank you for choosing us and, of course, for using part of your time to write a comment about our venue since we do believe that our Guests' opinion is very important in order to allow us to improve as far as our service and/or our venue is concerned.

We are very sorry if you felt disappointed because of my Staff attitude and for this reason we would like to apologize and reassure you about the fact that all the details pointed out in your review were object of a meeting during which their attention was drawn on the importance of customers' satisfaction. At the same time, we appreciated a lot all the positive you wrote about us.

We finally hope to have a second chance of welcoming you to Starhotels Metropole, in the meantime, please accept our best regards.

Mauro Polmonari - General Manager
Starhotels Metropole - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The room was quite new, clean and relatively small size, but the bathroom was big comparing to the room size, it was just big as the room. Location was great and so close to the termini, a few min walk.
One mistake I made at the restaurant during breakfast, I automatically (and accidentally) ordered an america coffee... LOL, it was a joke. Stick to your expresso there... what was I thinking???
I think it was a pretty good deal overall....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager08rm, General Manager at Starhotels Metropole, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

first of all we would like to thank you for using part of your time in order to write a review about our property. Our Guests' observations about our venue, in general, and our service, in particular, are really precious to us since they allow us to improve. That is why, we obviously appreciated a lot all your positive notes about the hotel and, at the same time, we learnt from the negative remarks you did.

We would finally like to thank you for choosing us in the hope to have soon the chance of welcoming you again to Starhotels Metropole.

Your sincerly

Mauro Polmonari - General Manager
Starhotels Metropole - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
UNA Hotel Roma
UNA Hotel Roma
#106 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,973 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#122 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Esquilino
Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Augusta Lucilla Palace
Augusta Lucilla Palace
#178 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
Esquilino
The Britannia Hotel
The Britannia Hotel
#133 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#98 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Metropole

Property: Starhotels Metropole
Address: Via Principe Amedeo 3, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 Business Hotel in Rome
#100 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#146 Family Hotel in Rome
#200 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Starhotels Metropole, one of the most beautiful modern hotels in central Rome, Italy. We're a few steps from Termini Station, the Opera House and close to Rome's historic wonders.Come and enjoy vibrant spaces and places to relax, dine and chat; the hotel was recently completely refurbished, to stunning effect.Our 4 stars hotel in Rome has 236 bedrooms and suites with every home comfort, our superb Apicio Restaurant, Rendezvous bar, a new fitness room open 24 hours a day and nine dynamic meeting rooms for up to 180 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Starhotels Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Metropole Hotel Rome
Rome Metropole
Starhotels Metropole Rome
Metropole Rome Starhotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing