We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Only Hotel To Stay At In Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Ranked #96 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The Only Hotel To Stay At In Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2007

This hotel is truly the only hotel to stay while in Rome. My husband and I travelled to Italy for our honeymoon and chose the Hotel Raphael based on reviews from trip advisor and our Frommer's Rome guide. We couldn't of been happier with our choice!

Since it was our honeymoon they upgraded us for free (without even mentioning it) to an executive suite. The room surpassed all our expectations. LCD tv, marble shower with double shower heads, marble bath, incredibly comfy bed with down comforter. It was great to get back to the hotel after a long day of walking around Rome.

Also, the hotel is within walking distance of pretty much everything you would want to see. The only taxi we took was to get to the hotel once we arrived and to return to the airport when we departed. It is right off the Piazza Navona, where there is great people watching and an array of cafes for meals. But you could just stay and have all your meals at the Hotel Raphael's rooftop terrace restaurant. They have fabulous food and fabulous views. The side of spinach with garlic and hot peppers was the best spinach I've had in my entire life. And my husband just adored the spaghetti carbonara.

I could go on and on. But let me just say this. If you choose the Hotel Raphael for your next trip to Rome you will not be disappointed!

  • Liked — The Location, The Rooms, The Staff...Everything!
  • Disliked — There is not one thing I didn't like about this location
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    812
    300
    110
    41
    30
See reviews for
220
771
45
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2007

We wanted a well placed hotel within walking distance of all the major attractions in Rome. The Hotel Raphael is in a great location so it is pricey but you are right in the heart of the city and we walked pretty much everywhere so must have saved on taxis etc.

It's right by the Piazza Navona and there are loads of different places to eat and drink. It's best to try places along the streets leading to the square as they are cheaper and still excellent. The hotel itself has a beautiful terrace with stunning views but it is expensive.

We really liked the hotel and found the staff to be helpful and friendly. We arrived to find we'd been upgraded to a suite for no extra cost which was a lovely surprise. The suite had two bathrooms, air con, a large plazma screen and seating area along with nice little touches like fresh sparking water daily and mini cakes each afternoon.

If you want to be well placed in Rome then this is a great hotel. It isn't cheap but we would recommend it.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Can be a bit noisy at night
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2007

We have just returned from Rome having held our wedding reception at the Hotel Raphael on it's fabulous roof terrace. From the minute we contacted the hotel to the day we checked out they could not have been more helpful or produced a reception any better. All our friends had a fantastic time and commented on not just the amazing location - watching the sunset behind the Vatican was truly special - but also on the quality of the food & wine - excellent - and the superb staff for whom nothing was too much trouble.
Our room was huge & very comfortable, had 2 bathrooms!! and a bottle of champagne waiting - this may only happen to couples getting married but it shows their attention to detail.
All this just a stones throw - literally - from Piazza Navona, it really is a perfect place to stay as the surrounding streets are packed with interesting places to shop/eat and drink.
So thank you once again to all at Raphael (especially Raffaella, Laetitia, Steven, Clive & Nicola) I'm sure we'll be back in the coming years on 1st September more than once!!

  • Liked — staff & roof terrace
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLPLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
62 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2007

I stayed at the Hotel Raphael with my two daughters on the nights of August 10-11 at the end of a two week vacation in Italy. I had read some mixed reviews on this website, so I was unsure what to expect.

This hotel is absolutely wonderful. The staff are friendly and helpful and our room was just magnificent. We had the Bramante Suite on the 5th floor, which is really a junior suite with an amazing terrace. The room was well appointed with a king bed, pull out couch, desk and table. There was also an extremely large plasma TV and lovely bathroom furnished with Bulgari toiletries.

When we arrived there was a complimentary fruit basket with pastries and a bottle of Antinori Tuscan Red Wine. I promptly poured myself a glass and sat out on the terrace, which overlooked the lovely cloister next door.

This hotel spoiled me and it will definitely be my choice for future stays in Rome!

  • Liked — Location, terrace
  • Disliked — Loved everything!
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kopavogur, Iceland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2007

After our HORRIBLE staying at the Hotel Genio they sent us at another hotel near the spanish steps named Hotel Sistina. The minute we walked in our bathroom at that hotel everything was crawling with ants. So we made our way to Piazza Navona and checked in at the Hotel Raphael. At first we thought this was terribly expensive and we hoped to find less expensive room through the net. I called my brother home in iceland and he found out that we could have got a room for 250 € instead of the 280 € we were paying. So we talked to the manager next day to be sure they weren't ripping us off. So it all came clear that actually we were in a room which costs 340€ but they gave us a massive discount for some reason unknown. I was over satisfied with the service we got and our room was wonderful. The roof terrace/restaurant was perfect. you could see Sant Angelo Castle, Saint Peters Church, Piazza Venecia and the Justice Palace in its most beautiful sight. The beds were the most comfortable I have ever slept on and overall this hotel is a DE LUXE.

The Valley was very friendly as well :P

Thank you for a wonderful stay and arriverdeci Raphael!

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Addmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahwah, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2007

We actually had two separate stays at Hotel Raphael this past June and July, with superior rooms reserved. For our first 3 night stay we were given a room on the completely rebuilt third floor which exceeded our expectations. The decor was modern, but very warm and inviting with fantastic bedding, a recessed large Hi DEF Plasma TV and surround sound. The bathroom was all white marble with a large two person soaking tub (with the option to slide back a louvered partition, revealing the bedroom through a glass wall) AND a dual head two-person marble shower. ASK for one of these rooms.
Unfortunately, they did not accomodate our request for the same room when we returned for two more nights. They did upgrade us to a junior suite which was nice, but the bathroom had an odor problem which was not easily fixable (they tried). We asked to be moved, but they claimed they had no other rooms available.

The best part about the Raphael was it's location on a quiet, cobblestoned street lined with lovely trattorias, just off beautiful Piazza Navona and a short walk to Campo Fiori. Trestavere, the Vatican and the Jewish Ghetto were also all within easy walking distance, We dined one night on their rooftop restaurant and had a magical evening with very good food and excellent service while enjoying the view of the sunset over St. Peter's. Breakfasts were not included and were overly expensive. We would have minded this less if they had served breafkast on the lovely rooftop terrace. Last - the lobby art is sensational.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — problem with the second room
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LuvtoTravel64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Ct
Level Contributor
57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2007

We picked Hotel Raphael for its location and were not disappointed on that score -- the hotel is in a picture perfect quiet street just off of Piazza Navona -- an absolutely ideal spot for a few days of sightseeing in Rome (nearly every major site was in walking distance and Piazza Navona is wonderful at night, with cafes, street performers and excellent pizza and gelato). The hotel is in the process of being renovated and there is a very big difference in standard between the old fashioned rooms and the modern rooms and suites. The roof terrace is great, although only open for expensive drinks and dinner. Breakfast (try to book a rate specifically including breakfast and get this in writing) was bountiful and served in an art filled modern breakfast room.

The major drawback of this hotel is the service. The front desk was friendly enough but lacked basic knowledge about sightseeing in Rome and seemed hopelessly muddled when it came to simple tasks like reserving airport transport -- and completely unhelpful for any real travel assistance such as booking tickets.

We might return to the hotel for its divine location and pleasant modern rooms (though beware the unrenovated clunkers) but with no expectation that we would get any useful assistance during our stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Poor Service
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Barbeque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#34 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Grand Hotel de la Minerve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux

Property: Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Address: Largo Febo 2, Piazza Navona | Piazza Navona, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#78 Family Hotel in Rome
#84 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#108 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raphael Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing