We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Living the luxe life in Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Ranked #96 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Living the luxe life in Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Raphael. We stayed our last night at the end of a 3 week trip around Italy and it was the perfect place to speak that last night.

The staff was excellent and the room (a Richard Meier) was so comfortable and chic. I fell in love with Bvlgari au the blanc bath products and have purchased the whole line to enjoy at home. The fragrance reminds me of an unforgettable trip, and evening.

It's worth it just for the roof deck. We had hoped to have dinner there but due to early rain showers it was closed. Although closed we discovered that it was not locked and after dinner in the neighborhood, we enjoyed after dinner drinks on the roof with a 360 degree view of the city--breathtaking!

The location is wonderful--just steps to Piazza Navona, the Pantheon and so much more. The hotel arranged our car to the airport the following morning and all went smoothly.

We didn't have time for breakfast (the story of our lives) but hope that the next time we stay at Hotel Raphael we will be able to enjoy dinner on their terrace. Even if we won't have it all to ourselves!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fashionbizarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto V, Direttore at Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux, responded to this review, 28 January 2012
Dear Mrs. and- or Mr,

We thank you for the precious time and thoughtfulness you have spent on commenting your last stay at the Hotel Raphael on Tripadvisor.

We are so pleased to read such a beautiful comment as yours. We are so happy to know that you have enjoyed so much your stay at the Hotel Raphael.
We are sorry if you had not the chance to have a dinner on our Terrace, but unfortunately, during spring time, in case of bad weather, we have to close our terrace.

We would like to thank you for having been our most welcome guests we will be pleased to offer you a Glass of Champagne or a Drink on our roof top terrace “La Terrazza Bramante”, or during winter time, in our inside lobby bar.

Thank you once again for your very nice comment and for your recommendation for our hotel, which have made us very, very pleased.

Feel be free to e-mail or contact us for any further information or assistance you may require.


With our kindest regards,


Roberto E. Vannoni and the Hotel Raphael Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    812
    300
    110
    41
    30
See reviews for
220
771
45
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beersheba, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

We weekend 5 / 1 end of the holiday. Hotel decorated and beautiful, the staff courteous and doing everything you should make the stay and give a feeling of vacation. We have upgraded to a suite of Richard Meier, of course, was extraordinary. Breakfast is excellent and includes a hot meal, also fruit in abundance, even cakes and other goodies. the place of the excellent hotel close to almost all the important sites around the many restaurants. In sum real 5-star hotel, highly recommended

Room Tip: It is better to book a DELUXE room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank razsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto V, Direttore at Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux, responded to this review, 28 January 2012
Dear Mrs. and- or Mr,

We thank you for the precious time and thoughtfulness you have spent on commenting your last stay at the Hotel Raphael on Tripadvisor.

We have appreciated all your positive comments on the free upgrade in the modern Richard Meier room, the quality of buffet breakfast and the location of the hotel.


We would like to thank you for having been our most welcome guests we will be pleased to offer you a Glass of Champagne or a Drink on our roof top terrace “La Terrazza Bramante”, or during winter time, in our inside lobby bar.

Thank you once again for your very nice comment and for your recommendation for our hotel, which have made us very, very pleased.

Feel be free to e-mail or contact us for any further information or assistance you may require.


With our kindest regards,

Roberto E. Vannoni and the Hotel Raphael Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

This is our favourite hotel in Rome. The decor is classic italian style, sligthly opulent in a stylish way - unless you prefer the very scandinavianly minimalist Meier-rooms. We don't. The staff is nicer than nice, we especially love Domenico. Lago Febo is a beautiful area to stay. This is so Rome. It's not cheap but it's a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelleJulinCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto V, Direttore at Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear Mrs. Kassandra,

We thank you for the precious time you have spent on commenting your last stay at the Hotel Raphael on Tripadvisor.

We are so pleased to read such a beautiful comment as yours. We are so happy to know that you have enjoyed the area of the hotel, and the nice staff, especially Mr. Domenico, who thanks you so much.

We are sorry if you had not the chance to stay in a Richard Meier room, as I see you have reserved a classic room. Generally we provide a free upgrade, upon availability, to our guests but maybe during your stay the hotel was sold out.

During your next trip to Rome, we hope again to the Raphael Hotel, we will be pleased to offer you something to drink on our Terrace or in our inside lobby bar.

Me and our team, we are at your entire disposal fro any necessity

With our kindest regards,


Roberto E. Vannoni and the Hotel Raphael Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

Great hotel. nice and clean. Rooms were a bit small but they were ok for two people. Included breakfast is fantastic; it has a very good choice of breads, fiambres, juices and many other delicious things. Hotel decoration is very nice and a bit minimalist.The location of the hotel its great. It is located just a few steps from the piazza navona, and close to many other tourist attractions. Service was ok, except from the fat lobby guy which is a bit rude and takes a long time to do things to you. Apart from the fat lobby guy evrything in the hotel was superb. I really recommend this hotel; its a great choice in rome and it is worth for money.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room or a suite because the standard rooms are too small. Also try to get a room in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto V, Direttore generale at Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Dear Mrs. and – or Mr. Juan,

We thank you for the precious time and thoughtfulness you have spent on commenting your last stay at the Hotel Raphael on Tripadvisor.

We have appreciated all your positive comments on the hotel as the location, the great service, the generous and qualified breakfast and the nice decoration.

Concerning your kind opinion about one member of the reception staff, we apologize if he didn’t do the things in the exact timing you expected. We will check the situation and we will organize a meeting with the reception staff in order to ameliorate this aspect.

We would like to thank you for having been our most welcome guests we will be pleased to offer you a Glass of Champagne or a Drink on our roof top terrace “La Terrazza Bramante”, or during winter time, in our inside lobby bar.

Thank you once again for your very nice comment and for your recommendation for our hotel, which have made us very, very pleased.

Feel be free to e-mail or contact us for any further information or assistance you may require.

We wish you a Happy New Year

With our kindest regards,

Roberto E. Vannoni and the Hotel Raphael Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

A modern Richard Meier room in the lovely Raphael amidst ancient Rome was the perfect celebration for a special occasion. The Richard Meier suite was spacious, beautifully furnished, and made the perfect segue for a visit to Richard Meier's Ara Pacis, now with the extra bonus of a temporary Audrey Hepburn exhibit. (www.arapacis.it/mostre_ed_eventi/mostre/audrey_a_roma/galleria_di_opere/(img)/1). Great holiday for architecture, art, and film buffs. Stay in theme and dress smartly for this experience. Best surprise of all, the Raphael has a talented new chef, who presents delicious food beautifully. We chose a lovely wine from a small winery in Campania, perfect with the excellent steak and sauce, served up on the terrace surrounded by domes and bell towers. A sophisticated, gracious package you can put together yourself. Only some Raphael floors are designed by Meier; the other floors are lovely in an antique-furnished romantic way. Having seen Meier's work in Atlanta and Des Moines, had to stay in a Meier room. Soothing natural colors, clean lines, sliding bath tub door communicates with the bedroom area. Table has plenty of space for a Champagne bucket. Have at least one meal in this romantic hotel. Set in a tiny quiet piazza steps away from an evening stroll in Piazza Navona (Christmas market in December to January 6) and the Raphael frescoes in Santa Maria della Pace. Walk everywhere. Sound perfect? It was!

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet. Go with your taste or mood: choose modern Meier or romantic classic rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrandestTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wintergreen, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

The location just off Piazza Navona is very convenient with lots of good restaurants nearby. A comfortable walk to many of the important sights. Our room was quite small but comfortable. The hotel provided bottled water and daily treats. The terrace on the roof was wonderful; we spent every afternoon there enjoying a glass of wine. The restaurant was excellent. The breakfast buffet was plentiful.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annmarie155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

The Raphael is an ideally located property, with above average service, and curiously opposing styles of decor. The location, one block away from Piazza Navona is central, but the street itself is quiet and calm. The varying interior styles of the Raphael are interesting, though the differentiation verges on bipolar. The lobby, a mix of sleek modern furniture with ornate art and architecture is slightly odd, and channels the mix in the rest of our hotel.

Upon checkin-in we were upgraded to a Richard Meier room, and despite the poor view, it was sleek and comfortable. The room itself, decorated in blonde wood with pale stucco was tiny, and the bathroom was cavernous, though they both felt brighter and more connected being divided by a window and louvered shutters.

The service staff at the Raphael was helpful, though not exactly attentive, and were not quite as welcoming as other hotels at which we have stayed. The service, location, and room combined, the Raphael is a pleasant, well located hotel, and I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreasMcKenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#34 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Grand Hotel de la Minerve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux

Property: Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Address: Largo Febo 2, Piazza Navona | Piazza Navona, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#78 Family Hotel in Rome
#84 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#108 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raphael Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing