We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location Disappointing Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Ranked #94 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Location Disappointing Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We chose this hotel because of its location and reputation. We were not disappointed in the location. you can walk to Spanish Steps in 20 minutes other sites in less time. Piazza Navona is right there as are many restaurants. The hotel has a wonderful brunch and some of the staff are helpful. We had multiple issues which caused me to downgrade this establishment. We prearranged for a VAN to pick us up at a cruise port. This was important and was verified numerous times by us because there were 3 people plus 7 pieces of luggage. They sent a small car to pick us up instead. We thought the driver was going to faint when he saw 3 of us plus our luggage. How he did it we still dont know but after much manuvering he got 6 in trunk and 1 in small back seat with us. not comfortable ride. The hotel just brushed the situation off. We had itdentical rooms next to each other on the 4th floor. The window in 1 hardly opened and the room was always very warm and uncomfortable. When we told them about that plus numerous smaller items the first morning they took info but didnt do anything about it. when we left again we were asked how things were and when we informed them the man at desk said OH especially after we confirmed that we told them immediately. still nothing done.The other room blew the power and locked us out first night. they came but no engineer and doorman spent over an hour trying to figure out what to do. again no comment from management. very disappointing especially for this level of Hotel

Room Tip: If you are used to American 5 star hotels do not choose their lowest rated room. they tend t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blessedtwice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    796
    290
    106
    40
    30
See reviews for
210
758
41
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

This Rather small hotel is situated neat Piazza Navona. 10 minutes walk from Rome's best shopping area and a minute's walk from an abundance of restaurant and bars. Rooms are well appointed. Service is personal and very good. We received tasty canapés every evening (our children stayed at a slightly cheaper room and did not receive).
We enjoyed our stay and recommend the hotel, Though we suffered from noise from people visiting the bars. Our children's room was quiet.

Room Tip: 304 was large but noisy. 405 Was smaller but nice and romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luftmdlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto V, Direttore at Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Dear Mrs.-Mr.,
We thank you so much for your beautiful and kind comment on your stay posted on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed the location of the hotel and the staff attention towards you. Furthermore, we are happy that you also appreciated the canpés in your room each evening, it is a kind gesture from our side to give a pleasant stay at our guests.
Fny further information or assistance you may require, we are at your entire disposal.

With our kindest regards,

Roberto E. Vannoni and Hotel Raphael Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

The Hotel Raphael is MORE than location. I have stayed here numerous times. It is a home away from home...

The Raphael is in the centre within walking distance to many important attractions.

This hotel is refined and elegant with a warm feeling. It is beautifully appointed with an eclectic blend of fine artwork, antiques and furniture.

The staff at the reception desk is helpful and kind. They speak several languages, ready to assist with museum tickets, calling for a taxi, tours, etc. The doormen are polite and helpful with luggage and taxis.

The housekeeping staff is friendly and thorough as the rooms are very clean.

The restaurant staff is attentive, friendly and professional. The chefs use only the very best products in their cooking and service. Breakfast is delicious and dinner is extraordinarily good.

The rooftop terrace is simply beautiful. Your view of Rome, at this vantage point, is stunning. Dinner or cocktails on this terrace is quite special.

Staying at the Hotel Raphael is a combination of many things...location, elegance, excellent staff, a wonderful restaurant and an incredible rooftop terrace.

The Hotel Raphael is a special place you never want to leave...a home away from home.

Room Tip: If you prefer a quiet room, stay on the backside of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Erica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto V, Direttore at Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Madame,
we thank you so much for your beautiful comment regarding the Hotel Raphael. We are so pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay and we are thankfull for all your compliments about the staff and the general impression of the hotel.

We really hope to have the chance to welcome you back in Rome.

Me and our team, we remain at your entire disposal for any necessity

With our kindest regards,

Roberto E. Vannoni and the Hotel Raphael Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed at Hotel Raphael from 3/23-3/26. We were celebrating my wife's birthday and were welcomed at check-in with a free room upgrade. I think it was more coincidental than anything else, but we weren't complaining. Each day we were surprised with an unexpected treat from free water bottles to a fruit basket to appertivo on our last night. The Front Desk was very helpful and the staff as a whole was very, very friendly.

One point to note: We stayed in the Richard Meier rooms on the 2nd floor, which are awesome! Very contemporary look and design with several high-end finishes.

Lastly, the location was very central, which was great for first-timers in Rome.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilliesFaninColo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto V, Direttore at Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Mrs.-Mr.,
We thank you so much for your beautiful and kind comment on your stay posted on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased to know that ypou have enjoyed the upgrade in occasion of your wife's birthday and lla kind gestures during your stay. For us it is a pleasure to give all the best to pur guests.
During your next stay, we will be pleased to offer you something to drink on our Terrace or in our inside lobby, due to weather conditions.
Please, be free to e-mail or contact us for any further information or assistance you may require.

With our kindest regards,
Roberto E. Vannoni and Hotel Raphael Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We just checked into the Hotel Raphael in Rome and the place is like a dream. Elegant decor, gorgeous/spacious rooms and immaculate service. The location is just near Piazza Navona, so ideal for easy walking to all major sites. But the best part is the wonderful attention to detail - the staff are very attentive and the overall service is fantastic. The restaurant has also been a nice surprise - excellent food and a roof terrace that provides incredible views. We are thrilled that we booked here.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto V, Direttore at Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Mrs. Melissa,
We thank you for the precious time and thoughtfulness you have spent on commenting your last stay at the Hotel Raphael on Tripadvisor.

We have appreciated all your kind words to describe the hotel, the staff and the quality of our restuarant.

In order to thank you for having been our most welcome guests we will be pleased to offer you a Glass of Champagne or a Drink on our roof top terrace “La Terrazza Bramante”, or during winter time, in our inside lobby bar.

Feel be free to e-mail or contact us for any further information or assistance you may require.

With our kindest regards,

Roberto E. Vannoni and the Hotel Raphael Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

The hotel is indeed very beautiful in a fantastic location. Was chosen thanks to positive reviews and recommendation of one of my colleagues who stayed there before.
Unfortunately, we obviously had a bad luck.
Incompetence of some staff members was a real shock: reception was forgetting quite simple things they were asked for and unfortunately it was not only once. Although there were some employees who tried to be helpful. The housemaid which we once we had a misfortune to communicate with was a disaster, I cannot recall such a rude and offensive conduct in any hotel I was before.
The room which was given to us first was extremely small, I would call it a single room rather than double. It's good that they at least changed it for slighthly bigger and more modern room after the first day.
Overall this could have been a fantastic stay but unfortunately...The staff issue is really to be looked into.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Olga K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto V, Direttore generale at Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear Ms. Kovalskaya,
We’ve read your comments on your stay at the Hotel Raphaël in March and would like to thank you so much for the time invested in writing them.

We are so pleased to have had the chance to welcome you and your mother and really appreciate your kind statements regarding the location of the hotel.

We regret that the first room didn’t meet your expectations, also with regard to the missing Twin beds that you had requested at booking time. Unfortunately, the hotel was fully booked the date of your arrival, therefore we were able to offer you a free upgrade to one of our Richard Meier Executive De Luxe rooms only the day after.

Regarding the professionalism and behavior of some staff members, especially the Housemaid, we would like to apologize. We are investigating on this matter with the persons who have been dealing with you, and we will do our best to assure that similar situations will never happen again in the future.

Please accept as our apology for the inconvenience caused, a complimentary night in occasion of your next stay in Rome. Please let us know if this offer is satisfactory for you and I hope to meet you soon personally.

Me and our team, we remain at your entire disposal for any necessity
With our kindest regards,

Roberto E. Vannoni and the Hotel Raphael Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

What a lovely surprise, the hotel is very close to piazza navona which has a great ambience. We loved the hotel, very good breakfast. The staff was very helpful and restaurants recommendation were spot on. Rooms are well equipped but small. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marawella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto V, Direttore at Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Dear Mrs.-Mr.,
We thank you so much for your beautiful and kind comment on your stay posted on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed the location of the hotel and the staff attention towards you.

We really hope to have the chance to welcome you again at the hotel.

For any further information or assistance you may require, we are at your entire disposal.

With our kindest regards,

Roberto E. Vannoni and Hotel Raphael Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#29 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Grand Hotel de la Minerve
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux

Property: Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Address: Largo Febo 2, Piazza Navona | Piazza Navona, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#78 Family Hotel in Rome
#84 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#108 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raphael Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing