We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Ranked #118 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 17 June 2008

We loved this hotel and cannot understand some of the negative feedback. The location just off the Piazza Navona is within easy walking distance of all the major sites. The hotel has lots of character. Do upgrade if possible as the standard rooms can be on the small side although they are still adequate. Lovely views of St Peters from the rooftop terrace.

Choice for breakfast was fairly limited but the quality and service was good. For us this was preferable to waiting for the local cafes to open as we like an early start to avoid crowds at the main sites. We also ate at the hotel’s rooftop restaurant and thought the service and food were excellent. Our only complaint was that the hotel failed to inform us that on that particular night the best tables (with views of St Peters) were reserved for a private party. The Concierge made some good recommendations for some smaller local restaurants serving traditional cuisine. Our favourite was L’Angoletto. We would definitely stay again.

  • Liked — Central location
  • Disliked — Nothing unless I was trying to be really picky
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank top-trippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    841
    312
    116
    45
    36
See reviews for
228
810
45
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2008

First of all, Rome is always a place not to miss! But me and my husband get a terribel a hotel, this time in Rome. Raphael Hotel is in a true central location but...this is the only good number of the hotel. We have received a "discounted" rate of € 630,00 for a very poor room, without any oplus or a welcome apple in! No warm welcome at reception and when we asked to meet the gen. manager or the reception manager to ask for an upgrade...people looked each other but noone meet us. They said this gentleman (the manager) was always too busy...unbelievable!!! In Italy, this hotel seems to be very popular but for no reason, at all. By the way breakfast was very good....but for a 2 star hotel not for a 4 one! No choice on buffet and very poor kind of items. We asked for fresh orange squeeze and was not inlcuded...with a room rate of € 630,00.....
Last year, we was in Rome at Excelsior and will be back there, absolutely!

  • Liked — nothing at all except location
  • Disliked — the hotel itself!!!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hellydad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2008

We stayed at the Raphael for three days last weekend in the third floor Richard Maier rooms. Whilst this is not a cheap hotel by any means, it offers value for money for a brilliantly located hotel with a friendly, personal service.

Domenico, the concierge, stands out. He was welcoming, helpful and efficient and gave a great face to the hotel.

Highly recommended.

Helpful?
3 Thank clontarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
168 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2008

I agree with all the other reviewers and just have a few points to add. We come to Rome regularly for work reasons and so have tried many hotels. The Raphael's main selling point is the location. Certainly the rooms are smaller than other hotels in Rome--which is a city known for small rooms and expensive hotels.

They have renovated the third floor rooms and added all the things mentioned in other emails: blackout curtains, flat screen tvs and wi-fi (not free so I used the DSL which is). They seem to have made the bathrooms bigger at the expense of the room size. We found our room to be too small for two people staying for one week. Also, they foolishly forgot to put a desk lamp on the desk and made the classic mistake of putting in frosted glass in the bathroom. Many hotels are doing this as they think it looks chic. In fact it means you wake up your partner if you turn on the bathroom light at night.

Service is lackadasical. I waited two days for house keeping to bring another laundry bag to the room, they don't give enough shower gel, takes ages to get things done. It took repeated emails and calls to get the concierge to book me some museum tickets I wanted. The concierge has no good ideas of what to do in Rome that is off the beaten track. They seem more enthusiastic about selling tickets for expensive bus tours, for which they probably get a commission. Given that we are regular customers, it would be nice if they could actually answer emails and faxes we sent before we arrived.

  • Liked — the gorgeous views from the roof
  • Disliked — the small rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank newyorkanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2008

This hotel is in a fantastic location right off the Piazza Novona. The hotel is very nicely decorated and the rooms are comfortable. Unforuntately, the staff made a mistake and put us in a smoking room. It was so horrible I couldn't sleep the whole night and my wife woke with her chest hurting. They moved us to another room the next day, but claimed they couldn't move us the first day as they were fully booked and already commited the other non-smoking rooms. They further refused to do anything about it.

While the hotel was very centrally located, I was annoyed by the service and lack of accomodations there. I felt like because we were Americans they treated us like second class guests.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — smoking rooms
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank livngston_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2008

Great location near Piazza Navona and short walking distance to all major sites. Very clean room but can be a bit noisy if you leave the windows open. Small room - good bathroom....as another said - skip the breakfast and go to a small bar near the area........we had a very nice stay in Rome and would return here...

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Small room
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pamelas111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom,s river nj
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2008

Excellent location for the Piazza Navona. Very clean.
Rooms extemely small. Okay for single businessman.
Bathroom the tiniest we have ever seen. No matter how you turn you bang into something. No room for arms or legs.however great showerhead.
We were robbed of our passports in the LOBBY while we were checking in. It was a Saturday, we had to report to the police immediately, where they gave us a stamped report to take to the American Embassy Monday morning. We were flying home Monday, no luck there. Had to change our arrival airport from Newardk to JFK on Tuesday, etc. THe whole fiasco cost us $1400.00 more for our vacation. Make your own judgement. Management and owner most helpful. Owner sent us appetizers and an excellent bottle of Proscecco on our last evening and expressed his regrets, however he should have given us our extra night free, since it happened in his LOBBY.We had lunch on the roof of the Raphael on that extra last day. They could at least have taken that off our bill... Gee Whiz!!!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank empresstvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,256 in Rome
400 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#103 of 1,256 in Rome
1,082 reviews
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#87 of 1,256 in Rome
1,942 reviews
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux

Property: Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Address: Largo Febo 2, Piazza Navona | Piazza Navona, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#72 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#78 Family Hotel in Rome
#84 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#108 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raphael Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing