We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Ranked #130 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 4 nights. Very hard to fault. Rooms are very comfortable and well maintained. Location is superb. Staff were all wonderful. Breakfast was good. Roof terrace is lovely with great views. Didn't try the restaurant though.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teamlines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

593 - 599 of 1,444 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

Rooms were fantastic...reasonable size...huge for Rome...quality throughout...staff excellent..attentive...helpful....discrete.....the hotel is 30 seconds from Piazza Navona. If your plan to stay in the centre of the old town this is one you should check out. A walk will take you to the Vatican in 10-15mins, Spanish steps in 10-15mins, Trevino Fountain in 10 mins...Pantheon in 10-15mins. Colosseum in 20-30 mins by foot (6-8mins by taxi). Campo de Fiori 5mins. Roof top terrace good with great views over the city...breakfast good with more than enough of a selection for anyone. With the location we dropped in throughout the day when we felt we'd done enough walking. The room was cleaned every time we left. Turn down was well though out. On arrival we had bubbly and nibbles waiting for us...Allen all no hesitation in recommending and will be returning to this hotel next time we're in Rome....

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan_Nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

A great small hotel in a good location. room upgrade on arrival. Very friendly and helpful staff.A fantastic rooftop bar and restaurant, although no meat on restaurant menu! great choice at breakfast. Next to Piazza Navona- a fantastic place to see local artists and street entertainers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This was the first stop on our honeymoon and what a way to start things off. The staff were very friendly and even upgraded our room. The room ... exceptional! The bed was large and so very comfortable (not your typical hard-Italian hotel bed). The bathroom had a soaking tub, dual wash basins and a shower for two. Our room was on the front of the hotel, so the view was over the little street in front of the entrance. Not a panoramic expanse, but not a big deal to us.

We had a quick bite on the rooftop terrace when we checked in and took a bottle of wine up there at night to chill and take in the skyline. The next morning we found another treat waiting for us. Breakfast was a fine experience, with the buffet having everything from fruit, granola, yogurt, eggs, bacon, meats, cheeses and juices. That set us up for a great day of wandering around the Piazza Navona, Pantheon, and Campo de Fiori.The room, hotel, breakfast area, lobby, etc. was exceptionally clean.

Overall, we highly recommend this hotel. We certainly had a wonderful experience and if we ever go back to Rome we'll certainly be staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J2inBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I stayed here in early July for 3 nights with wife and two sons (11 and 14) in the Navona Suite. We had a slight booking snafu and the hotel staff was more than accommodating to help us out. Extremely professional and courteous – much needed after an all night flight! The suite was perfect for us – ample room for 2 beds for the kids and wife and I had a nice, separate bedroom. Everything was first class at the hotel – the service, staff, an excellent breakfast selection (something for everyone) included in the price, our room and the terrace restaurant. We had lunch at the restaurant our first day and the vegetarian menu was very well done. My wife and I also had a glass of wine there at sunset and late night as well. The view and setting could not be beat! My final comment is that you can’t beat the location. It’s one block off of Piazza Navona, yet quiet. The neighborhood around the hotel is dotted with restaurants, small shops – crafts, fashion and art that you can wander through. It’s also within easy walking distance of the Vatican and many other popular parts in Rome. In summary – we had a great stay and I’d recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: The Navona Suite is excellent, especially if traveling as a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto V, Direttore at Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Sir,
We really want to thank you for the time you spent in write such amazing review on TripAdvisor! We are glad to acknowledge your stay in Hotel Raphael – Relais et Chateaux was as exciting as you expected, and that all your family enjoy the Suite Terrazza where we upgrade you with pleasure. A special thanks from all the Staff who appreciated your kindness and generosity during your stay.
We really hope to welcome you back in the next future as our special return guest, where we will be honored to offer to you a glass of Spumante in our Terrazza Bramante.
With our kindest regards,
Roberto E. Vannoni
and the Raphael’s Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Rome is a busy and expensive city and it was fantastic having the Hotel Raphael to retreat back to when calm was required! I recently took my wife to Rome for a birthday treat and we chose to stay at the Raphael for a couple of nights flying in from Malta.
The location is perfect for everything that Rome offers - we walked everywhere! The decor of the Hotel was a blend of traditional and modern and very tastefully done. The fact that it is a small business also meant that the staff were remarkably friendly, civil and helpful in all ways.
We had a 'birthday' meal in the rooftop restaurant which was exquisite both in terms of food quality and views.
We genuinely can't find fault (other than the fact we should have had a longer stay!) and will stay here again when next in Rome. Looking forward to it already!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

No place like Rome for the celebration of our tenth wedding anniversary. Few hotels could match the Raphael. We stayed for three days and had a wonderful time. The service was excellent, the atmosphere unique and the location close to Piazza Navona nothing but perfect. Robert E. Vannoni and his staff made us want to return to The Raphael even before we had left the city.
Raphael Hotel’s Bremante Terrace deserves the top spot among the roof bars and restaurants in Rome. Steven and his colleagues at Bramante Terrace went out of their way to make our anniversary an unforgettable one.
We look forward to see you again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EspenBergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto V, Direttore at Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Guest,
We are really happy to acknowledge that you choose Hotel Raphael to celebrate your tenth wedding anniversary and that we all met your expectations. In particular, Steven wants to thank you for the kind words you wrote about him and his colleagues, that works hard to make our guest’s stay a unique experience. We really hope to welcome you back as our special guest in the next future, where we will be glad to offer to you an upgrade in one of our best available rooms.
With our kindest regards,
Roberto E. Vannoni
and the Raphael’s Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#30 of 1,270 in Rome
838 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,270 in Rome
3,676 reviews
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux

Address: Piazza Navona Largo Febo 2 | Piazza Navona, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#58 Family Hotel in Rome
#79 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#84 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#108 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £187 - £469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raphael Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing