We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Ranked #121 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The best of Rome”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

If you want a real treat of peace and tranquility, beauty and gentility Hotel Raphael is the place to stay to enjoy the wonders of Rome. My husband and I wanted a very pleasant relaxing place to spend two days in Rome to celebrate our wedding anniversary, 41 years and his birthday. The staff couldnt have been more attentive and courteous. Every single person we encountered was over the top polite and nice. This is highly unusual and very refreshing showing it can be done. Take notice other businesses like hotels and restaurants. Gentility goes a long ways to providing good service.

We found the rooms to be very beautifully decorated and comfortable, the little terraces so wonderful to enjoy the Roman roof tops, the breakfast room very attractive and the breakfast good. The roof terrace bar and restaurant also very very nice. There is nothing like seeing the sun set over St. Peters and drinking a glass of Rosso de Montalcino!! Then we stepped up two more stairs to a higher terrace for an incredibly good dinner of gaspacho followed by trout and pasta. The neighborhood is San Estachio which is the most charming of the Roman neighborhoods, the buildings reek with history and old charm. I am way too busy looking up at the amazing architecture than to be interested in window shopping.

It is expensive but for once it seems worth it. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuxedoSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    841
    312
    117
    45
    36
See reviews for
229
810
45
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights at the end of two weeks in Italy - we were celebrating a big birthday (husbands 60th) and in Rome for the first time. I really appreciated the welcome we received when we arrived hot and tired from travelling and the extra lengths the hotel staff went to to make a fuss of my husband and help him enjoy his big occasion. A special mention for Gaspar who really went out of his way and helped us with all sorts of requests, provided us with information, arranged a birthday cake and Prosecco etc.etc. the hotel is in a great location, convenient for all the sites and a great area just to stroll around in the evening looking for a restaurant, yet its a quiet calm oasis to return to. We also loved our spacious room with great marble bathroom and the varied generous breakfasts served, again, by charming friendly staff who couldn't do enough for you. It's not cheap, most good hotels in Rome aren't, but it was worth it and wed love to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a richard Meier room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McFrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
330 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

Piazza Navona is just around the corner, the rooms are beautiful with Bulgari toiletries and the staff is very helpful. At the rooftop bar you have a view over Rome. As the sun sets you can ask for little else.

An excellent stop over when in Rome.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reenwoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I stayed here in August 2013 on a weekend break. The hotel is in an amazing location - just across from Piazza Navona, near Campo d'Fiori and not far from the Vatican.

There are lots of fascinating side streets to explore nearby and this is an excellent base for exploring all of Rome. Friendly staff, very good coffee, lovely rooms. All very nice. I didn't pay so can't comment on the cost, but I'd imagine it is not a budget travel recommendation!

PS- the bed was perfect - Tempur mattress and had a remote control to move the bed up/down. So comfy!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VickyJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Stayed at Hotel Raphael for 6 nights in September in a Richard Meier designed Deluxe Room on the 3rd floor. Upon arrival, was greeted warmly by staff and led towards the coaches in the lobby. The only hiccup was that check-in took over an hour, and I had to follow-up three times to get an answer as to whether the room was ready. I realize that I was asking for an early check-in, but would have appreciated if they told me to come back in an hour or so instead of leaving me wondering.

Otherwise, the remainder of the trip went smoothly, as staff generally were helpful and warm without being overbearing. They were able to recommend great restaurants and help with transportation requests.

The deluxe room was fairly large for a European hotel, with a very comfortable Tempur-Pedic adjustable bed. Was greeted with bottled water and a bowl of fruits. Each day, two bottles of water was provided and at turndown, chocolates were placed on the bed. The room was simple with ample closet and desk space.

The marble bathroom was large with a double shower (excellent water pressure, but you'll likely find a small puddle on the floor after use), bath tub, and double sinks. The Bulgari White Tea bath products were wonderful when having to shower twice a day because of the heat and humidity. Beautiful bathrobes and slippers were provided as well.

Each morning, a great spread was provided for breakfast from cereals and yoghurt, to warm dishes of eggs, vegetables, baked beans and sausages. A selection of cheese and cold cuts, along with fruits, are also available. The staff was attentive and efficient.

The location can't be beat. You're a 1 minute walk away from Piazza Navona, and less than 5 minutes from the Pantheon once you figure out the winding streets in Rome. Walking to anywhere in the city is not an issue as you are so close. However, as the heat can be overbearing, a taxi to the Vatican or the Galleria Borghese will set you back about €10 each way. The hotel is close to many restaurants and is an easy walk for those interested in nightlife in Trastevere.

The rooftop has a gorgeous view of the skyline. You'll spot Piazza Venezia on one side and St Peter's on the other. The food is fairly good; while not the best that I had during my stay in Rome, it's convenient after a full day of sight-seeing. At least go for a drink to enjoy the view.

Overall, the place grew on me and redeemed itself quickly after the slow check-in. Would recommend to anyone looking for a quiet and elegant spot in a great location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDatYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We love this hotel. We have stayed several times while in Rome. Excellent service. Very attentive and mindful staff that takes care of your every need. We booked a suite and it was very large. The rooftop lounge is excellent and I love the fact that they serve you beautifully freshly baked French dolce with your coffee or drink while awaiting for your room. The bulgari bath products are amazing and love the large tub bathrooms. It is a nice treat to be able to soak in the tub after a long day out and about in Rome. It is a less than one minute walk to Piazza Navona. It is by far one of my most favourite hotels in Rome. It is very discretely tucked away but has all the amenities of a luxury property. We always feel very well taken care of when we stay here at Hotel Raphael. The breakfast is excellent. I love the attentive staff, the beautifully laid out foods and the cozy dining room. We have only had breakfast at the hotel each time we've stayed at Hotel Raphael but each time, we've been very happy with it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fsngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at the Raphael for four nights in the Rome August heat. It was one of the very best hotels in which we have stayed. The staff were very attentive and helpful without being overbearing. The room was quiet, air conditioned and spacious. It came equipped with a tub and an excellent shower. The breakfasts, which were included in our room price, offered an excellent selection of fresh fruit as well as eggs, meats, cereals and cheeses. The breakfast room is spacious and well decorated as is the entire hotel. A minor problem with the card reader on our electronic room entry device was repaired quickly and well.

We did not get to the restaurant, but I heard from other guests that this should be on your list.

There were so many other small but significant things that the staff did that I could elaborate (e.g., remembering exactly how my wife likes her breakfast tea and I like my coffee) that make staying at the Raphael a memorable experience in nothing but good ways. There is no question where we will be staying the next time we visit Rome.

Greg T.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be quiet and all seemed to be air conditoned
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,257 in Rome
402 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#102 of 1,257 in Rome
1,084 reviews
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#86 of 1,257 in Rome
1,946 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#114 of 1,257 in Rome
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux

Property: Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Address: Largo Febo 2, Piazza Navona | Piazza Navona, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#73 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#78 Family Hotel in Rome
#84 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#108 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raphael Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing