We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel in Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Ranked #134 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2013

During two weeks with family and friends in Tuscany decided we needed a one night stay in Rome just to say we'd been there - and to make sure it was someplace to which to return. (It absolutely is.)

This hotel could not be in a better location. Located down a small alley off of Piazza Navona you are 15 minutes walk away from everything - the Vatican, Pantheon, Trevi Fountain, etc. The coliseum was 30 minutes or a quickie in a cab. The reception staff could not be nicer sitting you down with a beverage on arrival, holding luggage if needed, showing you surroundings on a map and even held our car in front of the hotel for 24 hours. HUGE!

We booked the Richard Meier room and it was very nice. A good size by Italian standards, it is definitely not a suite. It is, however, much more modern than the standard rooms with a beautiful TV, amazing bed, marble bathroom, electric window coverings, etc. The breakfast is phenomenal and, in fact, ranks as one of the best buffets we've had in Europe - which is saying something.

I can't say anything bad except that we should have stayed longer. If you need lots of space, get a suite. If you are fine with a comfortable room big enough for two folks, luggage and a love seat, you'll be fine in a Richard Meier. Whatever you choose you will be so happy to see Rome from this terrific, friendly hotel. Ciao and grazie.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

598 - 604 of 1,474 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

good location very close to piazza navuona. special breakfast and sofisticated staffs. I could enjoy welcome drink at roof balcony with viewing Roma city. the front staffs were so friendly and serviced gracefly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenzo y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I had a two day stay here with my wife in August. We tilbringte much time up on the roof terrace, amazing to just sit there and enjoy life with a book and a prossecco.

We stayed in a classic room. Next time I upgrade, the classic rooms are a bit worn with not so comfortable beds.

Breakfast was very good, staff very polite.

We booked transport via the hotel. Their own car to the hotel was comfortable, but the return journey was in a tired car with a driver who poked his teeth all the way to the airport. A little uncomfortable. This hotel should improve that.

Overall, we were happy with our stay. Would not switch hotel in Rome, but next time i want to upgrade room and be strict on the transport to and from the airport.

Room Tip: Avoid classic room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andre_matkritiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We went to hotel Raphael to celebrate our friends wedding. It was amazing,The food was cooked to perfection,The rooftop reception perfect, The staff so friendly and so helpful, Pricey oh yes Value for money oh yes,

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

The service blew me away. Very friendly and extremely helpful. Nothing seemed too much trouble.

Situated practically on the piazza navona, the location is great for sight seeing. A roof top terrace is a great place for champagne while looking over the city.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BushFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

If you want a real treat of peace and tranquility, beauty and gentility Hotel Raphael is the place to stay to enjoy the wonders of Rome. My husband and I wanted a very pleasant relaxing place to spend two days in Rome to celebrate our wedding anniversary, 41 years and his birthday. The staff couldnt have been more attentive and courteous. Every single person we encountered was over the top polite and nice. This is highly unusual and very refreshing showing it can be done. Take notice other businesses like hotels and restaurants. Gentility goes a long ways to providing good service.

We found the rooms to be very beautifully decorated and comfortable, the little terraces so wonderful to enjoy the Roman roof tops, the breakfast room very attractive and the breakfast good. The roof terrace bar and restaurant also very very nice. There is nothing like seeing the sun set over St. Peters and drinking a glass of Rosso de Montalcino!! Then we stepped up two more stairs to a higher terrace for an incredibly good dinner of gaspacho followed by trout and pasta. The neighborhood is San Estachio which is the most charming of the Roman neighborhoods, the buildings reek with history and old charm. I am way too busy looking up at the amazing architecture than to be interested in window shopping.

It is expensive but for once it seems worth it. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuxedoSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights at the end of two weeks in Italy - we were celebrating a big birthday (husbands 60th) and in Rome for the first time. I really appreciated the welcome we received when we arrived hot and tired from travelling and the extra lengths the hotel staff went to to make a fuss of my husband and help him enjoy his big occasion. A special mention for Gaspar who really went out of his way and helped us with all sorts of requests, provided us with information, arranged a birthday cake and Prosecco etc.etc. the hotel is in a great location, convenient for all the sites and a great area just to stroll around in the evening looking for a restaurant, yet its a quiet calm oasis to return to. We also loved our spacious room with great marble bathroom and the varied generous breakfasts served, again, by charming friendly staff who couldn't do enough for you. It's not cheap, most good hotels in Rome aren't, but it was worth it and wed love to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a richard Meier room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McFrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#34 of 1,272 in Rome
863 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#50 of 1,272 in Rome
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Palace Residenze di Charme
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Lifestyle Suites Rome
Lifestyle Suites Rome
#3 of 1,272 in Rome
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux

Address: Piazza Navona Largo Febo 2 | Piazza Navona, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#58 Family Hotel in Rome
#81 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#84 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#108 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £193 - £516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raphael Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing