We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Ranked #136 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2013

the hotel is hiiden gem ...in these period it is covered with lights and when you get to the hotel it looks like the most beautiful christhmas tree ....the location is great !!! what i loved so much about the hotel is that is so intimate and class of its own ...the breakfast is not flashy but good ...would recommend it to everyone on romanatic trip !!!!Will go back in february

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lonij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

517 - 523 of 1,409 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

Myself, my wife and our daughter stayed at the beautiful Hotel Raphael several months ago and I have only just found chance to write the review which it so greatly deserves.
The whole hotel from top to bottom was fantastic. The room (overlooking a beautiful restaurant in the street below) was sensational, the breakfast each day one of the most comprehensive and delicious we have experienced (the orange juice machine was something to behold), the bed one of the most comfy (Tempur mattress/bed) that I have ever experienced. The staff were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. The Manageress that we dealt with (Giordana Nardi) was extremely helpful and a lovely lady. We also briefly met the Manager who was a very warm and friendly gentleman. The concierge recommended several lovely restaurants but you have to initially walk past the lovely Santa Lucia restaurant right outside the front door. The location right next to Piazza Navone was terrific and allowed us to walk just about everywhere.
We look forward to returning to this hotel soon. It was a truly memorable trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prahran28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Why do beautiful hotels feel the need to "update" to the extent of installing pushbutton curtains, an almost infinite number of lighting options, multiple switches which leave you falling about laughing when you want to turn out a light but open the curtains, and a door card that just wouldnt work....ever.

But, lovely front desk staff, wonderful location, perfect breakfast in terms of choices and staff - and the most amazing orange juice machine in the world. Stay there for that alone!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We have been trying different hotels on each visit to Rome and finally have found the one we'll use again and again - the Raphael. After several disappointing experiences elsewhere, we finally decided to spend the extra money to get what we wanted: a boutique hotel, tasteful and elegant rooms, terrific central location, good service, nice little touches (water, fruit, sweets), decent-sized rooms, free internet, and great breakfast. The Raphael delivered on all of these things. From the moment I initiated contact by email, I received speedy replies and constant offers of assistance. Our pick-up service at the airport was perfectly arranged and perfectly executed and everything thereafter went smoothly. We stayed in one of the Richard Meier rooms which was very much to our taste; loved the double sinks and separate huge shower in the bathroom, as well as constantly fresh towels from the turn-down service. We were upgraded to a room with small balcony which I think did give us more living space in addition to the cute private outdoor space (which we were able to use a few times, even in November). The balcony door and windows actually open and with little street traffic, we could keep them open at night (we prefer a very cool room for sleeping and found the a/c a little weak - although that may be the time of year that most people want heat). The internet service worked quickly and easily - which is a huge plus. The breakfast was excellent - nicely displayed, very complete, with excellent attentive service; just the place to linger over really terrific individually-made caffe latte. And as everyone has said already, the location is just fabulous for walking everywhere. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Our room faced a very small street and was on an upper floor, so we had great privacy even with wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank efpatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto V, Direttore generale at Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Sirs,

First of all let me thank you for the precious time you have spent on filling out the online “Guest Questionnaire” after your recent stay at our Hotel Raphaël – Relais & Châteaux.

It is a pleasure for me to know you have really enjoyed our warm hospitality and atmosphere: we always try to do our best for our special guests in order they can feel at home.

I have really appreciated your comments on my staff and services provided: we always take care of our guests from the first contact with them, trough e-mail or by phone, to fulfill any request that they may have and ensure any needs until the end of their stay.

Concerning the temperature in your room, you were totally right! The general heating was adapted to the outside temperature; it was very cold the weeks before your arrival and lot of our guests have found their rooms too cold. This is the reason we have switched the heating on even if during your stay the outside temperature was not so cold.

It will be a pleasure for me to welcome you back and make your stay unforgettable! Thank you once again for having been one of our most special guests!

Please do not hesitate to contact us for any information or assistance you might need, my entire team and I remain at your complete disposal.

Best regards,

Roberto E. Vannoni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My wife and I selected this hotel after exhaustive online searching for a hotel in the Piazza Navona area. We stayed in a Richard Meyer suite - very clean and modern vibe, well thought out, with a HUGE marble bathroom. Good bed, operable windows, many creature comforts, elevator, and as quiet at night as could be hoped for given the area. Many wonderful restaurants nearby, walking distance to many things to see. The morning breakfast layout was astounding. The roof top restaurant surprisingly was vegetarian, but very well executed, and a pure pleasure. We found all the staff we dealt with to be most helpful and friendly. Our room was clean and in good repair. Not cheap, but traveling to Rome isn't cheap, and we wanted to maximize our chances of a good place to stay. Hotel Raphael succeeded in all areas. Not an over-the-top grand hotel bling experience, but if you want a thoughtfully executed boutique hotel tucked away a minute from Piazza Navona, with all the important boxes checked, this is the place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gordon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We enjoyed the great location of this hotel near the Piazza Navona. The Richard Meyer suite was nice, modern and comfortable with a small patio area. The rooftop restaurant was also nice for a drink and lunch. The front desk staff however keeps me from being able to recommend this hotel. Upon checking in, we were told our room wasn't quit ready and we could wait in the lobby area. Our luggage sat out by the front desk as we waited nearly an hour with no one checking on us, offering to check our bags or letting us know how long the wait would be. The desk was very busy and perhaps understaffed. Eventually I suggested they check our bags and let us wander around a bit and we went to the wonderful little outdoor restaurant next door for a drink and quick bite. Upon returning the room was still not ready and no help determining when it would be. We waited again in the lobby and finally were able to check in. Several groups arrived over the course of 2-3 hours and went off to their rooms as we waited. The Italians were offered coffee, tea, snacks in the lobby while we received no service whatsoever. After finally checking in the pathetic bellman brought someone else's luggage to our room and finally was able to locate ours. He hadn't tagged them or anything. Very sad. I had read similar poor reviews about the front desk before we left and they were unfortunately spot on. I would avoid this hotel unless you are Italian or enjoy being treated poorly. The management of this hotel should be ashamed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoustonTellmemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The title says it all. Our stay was disappointing - not terrible, but not up to the standards we expect with a R&C property. We were prepared for a small room, but our "upgrade" to a room with a balcony (which was nice) was a loft with the bedroom in the loft and everything else on the lower floor - not very convenient, and tricky when you wake up in the middle of the night and have to make your way down stairs in a strange place. The living area in the lower level was not conducive to relaxation - a glass coffee table and 2 uncomfortable chairs - not good for resting your feet after a long day walking around the city. The cleaning staff was responsible for our most negative comments. When we arrived, the fruit bowl contained rotten fruit and the vase had a wilted rose - it all looked like it had been there for several days. Towels and bottles of water were not replenished regularly. The staff at the front desk was often harried and frequently lost or could not easily find information about reservations they made for us. Three weeks before our arrival we asked them to make a reservation at a specific restaurant for our last night in Rome. They confirmed the reservation by email and confirmed it when we checked in. When we arrived at the restaurant, the reservation had not been made properly - we explicitly asked to be seated outside. Fortunately the restaurant was able to accommodate our request. Internet service was not at all reliable for us, or apparently, for the hotel staff because they frequently had problems when they tried to look up information online.
Now for the positives: The only person at the front desk who was competent was Gaspar. The roof deck restaurant has great views but the food was just average. The breakfast offerings were extensive and quite good, but the staff was always harried and seemed to want to rush you out. This is an ideal location, but the hotel needs upgrades in the furnishings and an overhaul in the way it is run in order to be up to the standards of a Relais & Chateau property.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#101 of 1,269 in Rome
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,269 in Rome
442 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#29 of 1,269 in Rome
806 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#109 of 1,269 in Rome
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux

Address: Piazza Navona Largo Febo 2 | Piazza Navona, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#78 Family Hotel in Rome
#82 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#84 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#108 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £202 - £475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raphael Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing