We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in Rome- would return!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Ranked #118 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in Rome- would return!”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in Dec 2013. I did a lot of research on hotels - before booking this one- and it was a great pick. The breakfast buffet was expansive. We ate so well!.
The concierge staff was very accommodating - we had a room on the first floor and they moved us to the 4th floor with a terrace for the last 3 nights. We had an issue with our tv not working and "the best porter ever- Sanjeewa - he would not give up until it was fixed. We loved the hotel and were very comfortable there. Great Relais and Chateaux hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    850
    317
    118
    46
    36
See reviews for
232
818
46
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

LOCATION: 1 block away from Piazza Navona. If you want to "live" the roman life, this hotel is perfect since it is in the historic center of Rome. From here we would walk every day to different spots in Rome, passing several times by the Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon and Piazza Navona.

THE HOTEL: Although it is an expensive hotel, the rooms are big (for roman standards), and service is perfect. Bathrooms are very spacious with towel warmers and luxury amenities (I thing they were Bvlgari).

BREAKFAST: The buffet is great, lots of options and espresso beverages included.

RESTAURANT: Unfortunately, we tried the restaurant on our last night in Rome. When weather allows it, they serve food on the rooftop terrace, which has great views of Rome. The menu is vegetarian (I am NOT a vegetarian), but I really didn't feel I was eating vegetarian food, since it was really really great food.

Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HJUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

the hotel is hiiden gem ...in these period it is covered with lights and when you get to the hotel it looks like the most beautiful christhmas tree ....the location is great !!! what i loved so much about the hotel is that is so intimate and class of its own ...the breakfast is not flashy but good ...would recommend it to everyone on romanatic trip !!!!Will go back in february

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lonij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Myself, my wife and our daughter stayed at the beautiful Hotel Raphael several months ago and I have only just found chance to write the review which it so greatly deserves.
The whole hotel from top to bottom was fantastic. The room (overlooking a beautiful restaurant in the street below) was sensational, the breakfast each day one of the most comprehensive and delicious we have experienced (the orange juice machine was something to behold), the bed one of the most comfy (Tempur mattress/bed) that I have ever experienced. The staff were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. The Manageress that we dealt with (Giordana Nardi) was extremely helpful and a lovely lady. We also briefly met the Manager who was a very warm and friendly gentleman. The concierge recommended several lovely restaurants but you have to initially walk past the lovely Santa Lucia restaurant right outside the front door. The location right next to Piazza Navone was terrific and allowed us to walk just about everywhere.
We look forward to returning to this hotel soon. It was a truly memorable trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prahran28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Why do beautiful hotels feel the need to "update" to the extent of installing pushbutton curtains, an almost infinite number of lighting options, multiple switches which leave you falling about laughing when you want to turn out a light but open the curtains, and a door card that just wouldnt work....ever.

But, lovely front desk staff, wonderful location, perfect breakfast in terms of choices and staff - and the most amazing orange juice machine in the world. Stay there for that alone!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We have been trying different hotels on each visit to Rome and finally have found the one we'll use again and again - the Raphael. After several disappointing experiences elsewhere, we finally decided to spend the extra money to get what we wanted: a boutique hotel, tasteful and elegant rooms, terrific central location, good service, nice little touches (water, fruit, sweets), decent-sized rooms, free internet, and great breakfast. The Raphael delivered on all of these things. From the moment I initiated contact by email, I received speedy replies and constant offers of assistance. Our pick-up service at the airport was perfectly arranged and perfectly executed and everything thereafter went smoothly. We stayed in one of the Richard Meier rooms which was very much to our taste; loved the double sinks and separate huge shower in the bathroom, as well as constantly fresh towels from the turn-down service. We were upgraded to a room with small balcony which I think did give us more living space in addition to the cute private outdoor space (which we were able to use a few times, even in November). The balcony door and windows actually open and with little street traffic, we could keep them open at night (we prefer a very cool room for sleeping and found the a/c a little weak - although that may be the time of year that most people want heat). The internet service worked quickly and easily - which is a huge plus. The breakfast was excellent - nicely displayed, very complete, with excellent attentive service; just the place to linger over really terrific individually-made caffe latte. And as everyone has said already, the location is just fabulous for walking everywhere. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Our room faced a very small street and was on an upper floor, so we had great privacy even with wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank efpatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto V, Direttore generale at Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Sirs,

First of all let me thank you for the precious time you have spent on filling out the online “Guest Questionnaire” after your recent stay at our Hotel Raphaël – Relais & Châteaux.

It is a pleasure for me to know you have really enjoyed our warm hospitality and atmosphere: we always try to do our best for our special guests in order they can feel at home.

I have really appreciated your comments on my staff and services provided: we always take care of our guests from the first contact with them, trough e-mail or by phone, to fulfill any request that they may have and ensure any needs until the end of their stay.

Concerning the temperature in your room, you were totally right! The general heating was adapted to the outside temperature; it was very cold the weeks before your arrival and lot of our guests have found their rooms too cold. This is the reason we have switched the heating on even if during your stay the outside temperature was not so cold.

It will be a pleasure for me to welcome you back and make your stay unforgettable! Thank you once again for having been one of our most special guests!

Please do not hesitate to contact us for any information or assistance you might need, my entire team and I remain at your complete disposal.

Best regards,

Roberto E. Vannoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My wife and I selected this hotel after exhaustive online searching for a hotel in the Piazza Navona area. We stayed in a Richard Meyer suite - very clean and modern vibe, well thought out, with a HUGE marble bathroom. Good bed, operable windows, many creature comforts, elevator, and as quiet at night as could be hoped for given the area. Many wonderful restaurants nearby, walking distance to many things to see. The morning breakfast layout was astounding. The roof top restaurant surprisingly was vegetarian, but very well executed, and a pure pleasure. We found all the staff we dealt with to be most helpful and friendly. Our room was clean and in good repair. Not cheap, but traveling to Rome isn't cheap, and we wanted to maximize our chances of a good place to stay. Hotel Raphael succeeded in all areas. Not an over-the-top grand hotel bling experience, but if you want a thoughtfully executed boutique hotel tucked away a minute from Piazza Navona, with all the important boxes checked, this is the place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,258 in Rome
409 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#110 of 1,258 in Rome
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#115 of 1,258 in Rome
851 reviews
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#82 of 1,258 in Rome
1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux

Property: Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Address: Piazza Navona Largo Febo 2 | Piazza Navona, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#72 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#78 Family Hotel in Rome
#84 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#108 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raphael Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing