We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Ranked #121 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Novi Sad, Serbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This was my second stay in Raphael in 2 years. I stayed at Raphael with my mother for 4 days including New Years Eve. Everything was simply great! Richard Meier room is very nice and very well appointed, including big bathroom and Bulgary amenities. Staff is very attentive and helpfull, breacfast delicious. We spent New Years Eve in Picasso restaurant that was beautifully decorated and really enjoyed in nice atmosphere, wide range of delicious food and firework at midnight on splendid rooftop terrace. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Richard Meier rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kulauzov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    840
    311
    116
    45
    36
See reviews for
228
809
45
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Americas
Level Contributor
191 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed for a few nights in this centrally located Rome boutique hotel. Its "Richard Meyer" Rooms and Floors are outstanding. The other rooms apparently are not as nice. We booked Richard Meyers and they were great. Top of the line amenities. Modern luxury at its best. The hotel is close to hundreds of places to eat and the major Rome Attractions. It is steps away from the Piazza Navona. Most of the staff is very friendly and caring. They are very generous to their guests (Prosecco, hors douvres, desserts, welcome cappucino). They have posture pedic beds and state of the art showers, lighting, SkyTV, you name it in the Richard Meyer Rooms. Breakfast is excellent. The common areas need some work as does the fitness center. In my opinion, with the cost of renovating three rooms they can retrofit the common areas and will be an unbeatable product. It is however a "boutique" property which is small and may not have as many amenities as the larger ones. However, whatever the shortcomings they may have, the attention to detail and courtesy items, overshadow anything. It was a truly regal experience.

Room Tip: Get a Richard Meyer Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ViajeroESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in Dec 2013. I did a lot of research on hotels - before booking this one- and it was a great pick. The breakfast buffet was expansive. We ate so well!.
The concierge staff was very accommodating - we had a room on the first floor and they moved us to the 4th floor with a terrace for the last 3 nights. We had an issue with our tv not working and "the best porter ever- Sanjeewa - he would not give up until it was fixed. We loved the hotel and were very comfortable there. Great Relais and Chateaux hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

LOCATION: 1 block away from Piazza Navona. If you want to "live" the roman life, this hotel is perfect since it is in the historic center of Rome. From here we would walk every day to different spots in Rome, passing several times by the Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon and Piazza Navona.

THE HOTEL: Although it is an expensive hotel, the rooms are big (for roman standards), and service is perfect. Bathrooms are very spacious with towel warmers and luxury amenities (I thing they were Bvlgari).

BREAKFAST: The buffet is great, lots of options and espresso beverages included.

RESTAURANT: Unfortunately, we tried the restaurant on our last night in Rome. When weather allows it, they serve food on the rooftop terrace, which has great views of Rome. The menu is vegetarian (I am NOT a vegetarian), but I really didn't feel I was eating vegetarian food, since it was really really great food.

Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HJUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

the hotel is hiiden gem ...in these period it is covered with lights and when you get to the hotel it looks like the most beautiful christhmas tree ....the location is great !!! what i loved so much about the hotel is that is so intimate and class of its own ...the breakfast is not flashy but good ...would recommend it to everyone on romanatic trip !!!!Will go back in february

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lonij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Myself, my wife and our daughter stayed at the beautiful Hotel Raphael several months ago and I have only just found chance to write the review which it so greatly deserves.
The whole hotel from top to bottom was fantastic. The room (overlooking a beautiful restaurant in the street below) was sensational, the breakfast each day one of the most comprehensive and delicious we have experienced (the orange juice machine was something to behold), the bed one of the most comfy (Tempur mattress/bed) that I have ever experienced. The staff were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. The Manageress that we dealt with (Giordana Nardi) was extremely helpful and a lovely lady. We also briefly met the Manager who was a very warm and friendly gentleman. The concierge recommended several lovely restaurants but you have to initially walk past the lovely Santa Lucia restaurant right outside the front door. The location right next to Piazza Navone was terrific and allowed us to walk just about everywhere.
We look forward to returning to this hotel soon. It was a truly memorable trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prahran28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Why do beautiful hotels feel the need to "update" to the extent of installing pushbutton curtains, an almost infinite number of lighting options, multiple switches which leave you falling about laughing when you want to turn out a light but open the curtains, and a door card that just wouldnt work....ever.

But, lovely front desk staff, wonderful location, perfect breakfast in terms of choices and staff - and the most amazing orange juice machine in the world. Stay there for that alone!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,256 in Rome
399 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#103 of 1,256 in Rome
1,082 reviews
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#87 of 1,256 in Rome
1,943 reviews
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux

Property: Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Address: Largo Febo 2, Piazza Navona | Piazza Navona, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#72 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#78 Family Hotel in Rome
#84 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#108 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raphael Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing