We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Nearby Hotels
US$366
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$269
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
US$253
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$380
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$277
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Diocleziano(Rome)
US$271
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$933
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$428
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
iQ Hotel Roma(Rome)
US$463
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$365
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$429
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$408
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,502)
Filter reviews
1,502 results
Traveller rating
928
340
140
53
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
928
340
140
53
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiazza navonarichard meier roomrooftop terraceexecutive suiteexcellent locationbeautiful hotelour honeymoonfront desk staffquiet streetheart of romelarge bathroometernal citytrip to romeloved this hotelboutique hotelside streetwalked everywhere
Filter
Updating list...
555 - 560 of 1,502 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2014

At the end of a month long european holiday, we decided at the last moment to book one more night in Rome and decided to stay at the Raphael - we could not have chosen a more amazing hotel.

I have stayed in Rome numerous times from in hotels from the Majestic to the Hassler and a few others in between but the Raphael deserves all the accolades it receives and more.

From the excellent service by the Concierge and check in staff who provided a cocktail and snacks on silverware at reception whilst the paperwork was being prepared, to the unexpected upgrade to a junior suite (the Richard Maier Suite) the welcome after a long drive could not have been more appreciated.

The room itself is fabulous in its understated elegance:
- Curbusier furntiture that is nicely aged
- Richard Maier design
- latex zonal beds
- floor to ceiling Carrara marble bathroom with twin head shower
- Bulgari toiletries
- the absolute elegant best of facilities without being gaudy

This hotel is without a doubt the absolute gem in Rome and to top it off, it is one historic centre street away from Piazza Navona if you really feel like leaving your own private oasis.

As I love Rome, and will continue to return, the Raphael will always be our home away from home.

Room Tip: If you are able to, start with a suite
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto V, Alice at Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear Sirs,

Let me thank you for the precious time you have spent on writing your comment after your recent stay at our Hotel Raphaël – Relais & Châteaux.

You kind words make me so honored to have welcome you even if for a such short time and despite this have you impressed with our warm and familiar hospitality.

I am so glad you have appreciated our Richard Meier room and all its comforts: we always try to satisfy our guests’ desires in order they can really feel like at home… in the centre of Rome: Hotel Raphaël is in the heart of the Eternal City and it represents a symbol of the roman life style and history.
We hope to welcome you back anytime in the near future and make your stay (a longer one, we hope!) a very special and pleasant one!
We always remain at your complete disposal,

Best regards,

Roberto E. Vannoni and the Hotel Raphael Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We came in very early and they were able to accommodate our friends but did not have our room ready. When we returned later that day they upgraded us to a suite with a balcony. We did not even ask. That was how accommodating they were the whole time.The bathroom was huge and beautiful. Great breakfast in an elegant room. The hotel was walking distance to most of Rome. We loved being off Piazza Navonna. It was charming. The front desk recommended great restaurants. We loved staying at this hotel while we were in Rome.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorri1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto V, Alice at Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear Sirs,

Let me thank you for your beautiful comment after your stay at our Hotel Raphaël – Relais & Châteaux.
I am so glad you have enjoyed the Hotel Raphaël’s atmophere from the very beginning of your stay and that you have so appreciated our upgrade into a Richard Meier room and all its unmistakable style.
Being located in the heart of Rome offers to our guests the possibility to live a unique experience inside and outside our maison.
We care what we do, this is the reason my staff always do its best in order to accomodate all our guests’ requests.
We really hope to welcome you back and, for that occasion, it will be a pleasure for me to offer you a glass of prosecco in our rooftop terrace
Thank you once again for having been our special guests!
We always remain at your complete disposal,

Arrivederci!

Best regards,

Roberto E. Vannoni and the Hotel Raphael Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This was our 4th visit to Rome and our 1st stay at Hotel Raphael. This hotel is in a great location just off Piazza Navona. The room we had was great and so clean. Complimentary water and chocolates every day is a nice touch. The reception staff are so friendly, on our arrival we were offered complimentary drinks and nibbles while they processed our check in. Will re book for our next trip to Rome. Just 1 little point.....room was very warm at night and air con didn't seem to work so just opened the windows, might be a problem at hight of summer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ronap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My husband I have had the good fortune to stay at the Raphael twice - once on honeymoon and then for our anniversary. This has to be the gem of Rome. It's position just off the Piazza Navona is unrivalled as is it's luxury and truly professional yet welcoming staff. This is now our hotel of choice in Rome, a place which is so special in this magical city. The only problem? We've now given away how great this hotel is! If you have the opportunity to stay here in one of the Richard Meyer suites you will not be disappointed. We look forward to our next visit to the Eternal City and the magnificent Raphael. Grazie tuti!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Julia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto V, General Manager at Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Sirs,

thank you very much for your comment on your recent stay at our Hotel Raphaël – Relais & Châteaux.
What a pleasure is knowing you have chosen the Hotel Raphaël for such important occasions!
My entire team and me are honored to have contributed to make unforgettable the beginning of a such important step of you life and to have contributed to celebrate the first wedding anniversary.
We really hope to be with you in this path of life and make all your stay special and precious.
Please accept our little attention in offering you a glass of Prosecco in our rooftop terrace Bramante for your next stay!
Thank you for choosing us as the setting of your marriage!

Arrivederci in the Eternal City,
Best regards,

Roberto E. Vannoni and the Hotel Raphaël Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Just got back from a romantic weekend with my husband in Rome. He chose the hotel because of the location and I will choose to go back again and again for the staff, the high standard of every little thing and the best location in town.
Everyone was really kind and gracious and it didn't feel like it was part of the job. They take their job very seriously.
We were pampered to the last minute and we are already planning our return.

Room Tip: The hotel is located on a little side alley in the old city. All houses are close by and winding small streets so make sure you specify a request for a view if that matters to you.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tutieTel_aviv_Israel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto V, General Manager at Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Sirs,
Let us thank you first of all for your kind comment.
Such nice words are one of the reasons we always do our best in order to improve our daily job and continue to work hard to make our guests’ stay an unique experience.
All the staff thanks you for your kindness and we really hope to welcome you back soon: we will be glad to offer you a glass of good prosecco in one of our best room or at our rooftop terrace Bramante.
Please do not hesitate to contact us, we remain at your complete disposal and thank you so much for the accorded preference and the the complete confidence in us.
Arrivederci!

Best regards,
Roberto E. Vannoni and the Hotel Raphaël Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews