We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful traditional hotel in great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Ranked #94 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Delightful traditional hotel in great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed here in December, and loved it. The room was nice but small, the bathroom good and clean, and we liked the personal service feel of the hotel very much. The staff were charming and nothing was too much trouble for them - we were allowed to order lunch at 3pm despite being the only diners in the restaurant. A great position for exploring Rome. Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luxuryloafers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    796
    291
    106
    41
    30
See reviews for
210
759
42
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

I stayed at Raphael last May with a friend of mine and was so taken with the splendor, ambiance & knowledgeable staff that I booked my group's farewell dinner the following Sept 2014 on the rooftop. We were overwhelmed. The Food, staff and not to say the least Quality made our farewell dinner most memorable. I wish I had known about the small elevator to get my group of 37 to the rooftop I would have started earlier. All in all it was AWSOME. I would definitely stay there again. In all my countless trips to Italy & Rome where I've stayed at the Hassler, Eden, Excelsior and many more they all pale in comparison to The Raphael. You and your staff are a cut above.
Grazie e Affetti Saluti,
Carlo Dozzi

Room Tip: Book well in advance. The location is 2nd to none
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cinqueterre5274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenville, Illinois
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

I have been to Rome several times. This time I wanted to stay at a luxury boutique hotel and selected the Raphael because of its location next to the Piazza Navona. It was a wonderful experience. I reserved classic double rooms and received a complimentary upgrade to Deluxe double rooms. We were on the 5th floor. The room was newly remodeled in a clean contemporary style. A large bath and a large flat screen TV with a small but lovely balcony greated us. There were complimentary appetizers and water in the room upon check in. What made the room special was that you had to take a white marble staircase up to the king size bed in a loft on the upper level to the room. There was another large flat screen TV there also. The breakfast was fantastic with a wide selection of pastry, hot and cold items with fresh squeezed orange juice made to order. The staff and service were incredible. There is a roof top terrace not to be missed. It has beautiful views over all of Rome and a spectacular view of St. Peter's dome.The suggestions that the front desk made for dining were outstanding. Yes, this is an expensive hotel. However, I was worth every cent. I would definitely return to this hotel on my next trip to Rome.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony. Upgrade if possible to a Deluxe double. The modern styled Deluxe d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto V, General Manager at Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Sirs,
let us thank you for your wonderful comment on your recent stay at Hotel Raphael – Relais & Chateaux.
We are so glad that your experience was an amazing one and we hope that you will always keep good memories of your stay.
Our maison is located in the very heart of Rome , these is the reason it is so easy to enjoy some of the most spectacular sights of the Eternal City and enjoy the roman lifestyle too.
It is a big pleasure knowing that the rooms where you were accommodated had met your expectation and that you had appreciated the way we had welcomed you: one of our purpose is that our guests could feel our familiar hospitality an all our little attentions are in order to make you feel a very special guests.
What a pleasure is knowing that you have appreciated your healthy and satisfying breakfast and we hope you will be able to enjoy a lunch or a dinner too and taste our cegetarian and organic kitchen!
For your next stay, please accept our little attention in enjoying the beautiful view from our rooftop terrace Bramante drinking a good glass of Prosecco!
We remain at your complete disposal,

Arrivederci!

Best regards,
Roberto E. Vannoni and the Hotel Raphaël Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We spent two nights in Rome for a romantic trip, and Hotel Raphael was perfect. The hotel is classy and comfortable, and the location in a small side street just steps from Piazza Navona cannot be bettered. The staff was polished and helpful, as one would expect from a hotel of this quality. Good breakfast. And above all, the rooftop terrace has to be seen to be believed: the views over Rome are spectacular.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelTaavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto V, General Manager at Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Sirs,
Let us thank you for your beautiful review on your stay at the Hotel Raphaël – Relais & Chateaux.
Your kind words make us so proud of our daily job that is always oriented in order to make our guests’ stay an unforgettable experience.
It is a pleasure for us knowing that one more time we have succeeded in our aim: everything we do is our way to thank our guests for the accorded preference.
We really hope to have the possibility to welcome you back and we will be glad to offer you a glass of prosecco enjoying once again the amazing view of Rome from our beautiful rooftop terrace.
We remain at your complete disposal,

Arrivederci nella Città Eterna!

Best regards,

Roberto E. Vannoni and the Hotel Raphaël Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inkberrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

The location of this hotel is brilliant, very central and all the main sights are within walking distance. Welcome drinks were very welcome! The breakfast choice and service was excellent. The negative points - we had booked a classic room which was very small and furnishings had seen better days. It was uncomfortably hot at night as the air conditioning was not activated and with the window open it was extremely noisy. This could easily be remedied, it seems that cost must be a deciding factor which is not really acceptable in a pricey hotel. The bedding - a duvet wrapped in sheets - was not very satisfactory or appealing when the sheets exposed the uncovered duvet. We asked the hotel receptionist to recommend a restaurant which was very expensive, not particularly enjoyable and full of other hotel guests. Draw your own conclusions….
Roof terrace (when it is open) is super, fabulous views.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, upgrade from the basic 'classic' room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto V, General Manager at Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Sirs,
First of all let me thank you for your comment concerning your recent stay at Hotel Raphael - Relais & Châteaux.
We really appreciate your sincere opinions that will be so important in order to improve our performances and let us thank you once again for your positive feedback despite some skills not so good.
Our maison is located in the very heart of Rome and it is easy to enjoy some of the most spectacular sights of the Eternal City.
Welcoming our guests is on the basis of our service. We like the idea of a familiar hospitality: each guest should feel like at home and our welcome drinks in the way to welcome you as our Special Guests.
Concerning the high temperature in your room, we do really apologize if we were not able to provide air conditioning. During your stay in the Eternal City, it was unusually warm! Anyway, let me reassure you that in summer our air condition system works and all our rooms are well refreshed and comfortable.
We do really apologize if the room where you were accommodated did not meet your expectation: it will be a pleasure for us welcoming you back and offer you a free upgrade in a Richard Meier room.
Concerning our beautiful rooftop terrace Bramante, it was closed because of winter time. As you have seen, our terrace is an open area and the winter weather does not permits to accommodate our guests.
Let us inform you that it will be soon open a second inner restaurant on the top floor and it will be possible to enjoy the amazing view tasting a good drinks in winter too!
We remain at your complete disposal and we really hope to welcome you back very soon!
Best regards,
Roberto E. Vannoni and the Hotel Raphael Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

My 10 year old son and I went to Rome this last weekend (14/15/16 March 2014) for the Italy/England rugby game. We stayed at the Hotel Raphael. From check-in to departure, we were treated royally. The room was beautiful, the breakfast buffet was sumptuous, the staff were helpful and attentive, and the location is great, on the edge of Piazza Navona, and within walking distance of many of Romes major sights.

We will most definitely stay here again. Many thanks to Nabila and the rest of the staff. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hcstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto V, General Manager at Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Sir,

Let us thank your for a such nice comment on your very recent stay at Hotel Raphael.

We are so glad that this experience for you and your son has been so positive: thank you for appreciating the room where you were accommodated and thank you so much for appreciating our breakfast: starting your day with an healthy breakfast is the better way to visit Rome!
We really hope that both of you will always remember these stay in the Eternal City and we are so proud that my staff has contributed to this. We always do our best in order to ensure that all our guests receive the best service possible.
And what a nice idea take you son to watch his favorite team live and in person!
We really hope to welcome you back at the Hotel Raphael and make your next stay another special one!

Best regards,
Roberto E. Vannoni and the Hotel Raphael Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mocksville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

My wife and I planned a trip to Rome, our travel agent reserved the room for us for 4 nights, Apr 25-29th back in Aug/Sep 2013. When it came time to pay for the room, the rates had tripled due to the canonization going on that weekend(we had the trip planned before we knew of the canonizations). Sure we could stay there if we wanted to pay 3 times what we had originally been quoted. Very disappointed at the deceptive and greedy practices from these people from the Raphael!!!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank Deanhf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#30 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Grand Hotel de la Minerve
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux

Property: Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Address: Largo Febo 2, Piazza Navona | Piazza Navona, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#78 Family Hotel in Rome
#84 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#108 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raphael Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing