We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How lucky, I have been upgraded!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Ranked #118 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Male
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“How lucky, I have been upgraded!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I booked via one of the online agencies. Upon arrival they told us that we had been upgraded to a Deluxe room.....well if the room we got was an upgrade, I would have hated to have to sleep in the booked room. Honestly the room we had was sooo small we had to take it in turns to move around. The wardrobe was as big as my suitcase and to open the safe I had to take the bag out and put it on the bed.
Beautiful antique pieces mixed with cheap Ikea-style table: what a pity. Obviously this hotel was built with a lot of passion but now it looks like there is none of that left.
Location is fantastic. Breakfast good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giuseppe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    861
    319
    121
    46
    36
See reviews for
238
824
46
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

What a great find. This hotel is close to all the places you want to visit in Rome. It is friendly, clean and comfortable. Would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in Rome.
The room we stayed in was modern, the bathrooms were fitted with marble and were very spacious.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank convel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto V, General Manager at Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for a such amazing comment on your recent stay at the Hotel Raphael.

We really appreciated the wonderful words you used evaluating our services
in a such positive way: this is an amazingly great feedback for all of us.

Thank you once again for having been our most welcome guests: we really hope to welcome you soon. In that occasion, it will be a pleasure offering you a good glass of Prosecco in our beautiful rooftop terrace Bramante.

Please do not hesitate to contact us, we always remain at your complete disposal.

Best regards,

Roberto E. Vannoni and the Hotel Raphael Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Many pros- great location near Piazza Navonna, very friendly and helpful staff, terrace for lunch was outstanding, breakfast was very good and is included with room, room and public spaces were very clean, comfortable bed.
They gave us a delicious welcome coffee as we waited to check in and they were kind enough to give us an early check in. We got a nice plate of appetizers from the manager.
Con- our bathroom was teeny tiny but modern, the woodwork in the room was a little banged up.
All that said, we would definitely stay there again as well as recommend it to others. It is a member of Relais and Chateux.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marie G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto V, General Manager at Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Sirs,

First of all let us thank you for your comment on your recent stay at Hotel Raphael.

We really appreciate your sincere opinion: it is really important in order to improve our performances and provide a good service.

It is a pleasure to know you have appreciated where our maison is located, the beautiful view from our rooftop terrace Bramante, our healthy breakfast and our welcome drink.

We always do our best in order to accommodate our guest’s requests and it was a pleasure give you all the assistance for an early check in.

Concerning the room where you where accommodate, we do really apologize if it did not meet completely your expectation because of the bathroom.

Please accept this little attention in offering you a free upgrade into a Richard Meier Room in occasion of your next stay.

We really hope to welcome you back and we will do our best in order to make your next visit another special one.

Arrivederci a Roma!

Roberto E. Vannoni and the Hotel Raphael staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Hotel Raphael er located close to Piazza Navona, which means walking distance to almost everything worth seeing and experiencing in Rome. The staff were warm, helpful and friendly - always. The decor is classical with a number of interesting items in the reception area. The hotel has a spacious and well equipped fitness center. The rooms are nicely decorated with very good beds, but perhaps a little too small. When we mentioned that in the customer satisfaction survey, the general manager e-mailed us and offered us an upgrade at our next visit! Will we visit this hotel again? Cannot wait! We have been to Rome on numerous occasions, and Hotel Raphael is undoubtedly on top of our list.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BPUlvaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed 4 nights and the hotel is situated right next to piazza Navona. It is a pretty little hotel placed in an old building. The decor is classic and baroque in style, but without the grandour of the large and massive hotels (ie Kempinsky etc.).
We had a nice and spacious room on the 1st floor, but with a view of a dark back ally.. It was clean and quite well kept.
The breakfast restaurant is OK sized but with FAR to many tables crammed in, so you have to edge your way through to the buffet. A silly detail is that the buffet seems to run out of food and is not replenished by the staff before one asks. In such an expensive hotel you shouldn't have to wait for the bread or fruit to be filled up.

The reception, housekeeping and the concierge staff is very polite and helpful and I can only give my best to them.

In all it was an OK stay, but it seems that the hotels management is trying to make the hotel into something it isn't. At almost 450 euros per night for a superior double room, I expect something really spectacular from both the staff as well as the venue and I didn't find that the venue delivered.
I would place this hotel between the 3 and 4 star category, but not in the 5 star league.

Room Tip: I heard that the standard double rooms are TINY.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan_Bache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto V, General Manager at Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Sirs,

let us thank you for your comment on your recent stay on the Hotel Rapahel.

We are sorry if in general your stay does not completely succeed in pleasing you: your opinion is very important for us in order to improve our service and make each guest’s stay a very special one.

We do really apologize if the room where you were accomodated did not meet your expectation: it was a Deluxe Room in Italian Classical Style and, as you have seen, our maison in located in the very heart of Rome and it is surrounded by high buildings and churches; this is the reason there is no particular view.
It will be a pleasure for us welcoming you back and offer you a free upgrade into a Richard Meier room for your next stay, so you will be able to notice the difference in style.
We are so glad that you have appreciated our healthy buffet breakfast and we have taken good note for your remarks: this is a busy period due to the high season and the breakfast room is always crowded. All the breakfast staff and the kitchen staff always makes their best in order to promptly replenish the buffet.

We really hope to welcome you back and we will do our best in order to make your next visit a full of pleasure.

Arrivederci a Roma!

Roberto E. Vannoni and the Hotel Raphael staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Florida
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My wife and recently capped off a ten day trip to Italy by spending our last night at Hotel Raphael. In a city so rich in history and with so many hotel options, we had taken our time researching where we wanted to stay and what boutique hotels could really deliver on a high-class yet intimate ambiance. We were not at all disappointed by our selection of Hotel Raphael. Located in the heart of Rome, adjacent to Piazza Navona and an easy stroll to the Pantheon, the location could not have been better. Combine that with a world-class old world charm, personable attention, attention to detail, extremely comfortable rooms with terraces, and the spectacular views from the roof top bar/restaurant and Hotel Raphael has everything a couple needs for the perfect stay in Rome! From the doorman to the front desk staff to the bar/restaurant staff, everyone was friendly and accommodating. Food and drinks were delicious. Our room was large and comfortable with a outstanding view of the nearby cathedral. Sunset on the rooftop with a bottle of wine was a romantics dream! Our one and only complaint in regards to Hotel Raphael was that we had only planned a one night stay. We will definitely consider staying again during our next trip to Rome.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto V, General Manager at Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Sirs,

We really want to thank you for the precious time spent in writing such amazing comment on your recent stay on the Hotel Rapahel.
It is a pleasure to acknowledge that even if your stay was too short, you have completely enjoy each details from the very beginning of your visit!
Everything we do is our way to thank our guests for the accorded preference and their trust!
We hope to welcome you back in the next future and please accept a little attention: we will be honored to offer you a glass of Prosecco in our rooftop terrace Bramante in occasion of your next visit.

We remain at your complete disposal,

Grazie ed arrivederci!

Roberto E. Vannoni and the Hotel Raphael staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We went to this hotel in the beginning of april. The location is very good, close to Piazza Navona. The staff was friendly, and we had a warm welcome with prosecco and some snacks. The room was very nice, with excellent sleeping-comfort and nice bathrooms. Breakfast very good. We are travelling a lot, and almost everywhere now, they have coffeemakers in room, but not here. We did also miss a good fitnessroom. This was rather poor. We were also looking forward to use the roof-terrace, as we did, but it was no service at this time of year. Overall we were satisfied, but will not pay so much again for a hotel of this standard.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Line H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,261 in Rome
420 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#106 of 1,261 in Rome
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#116 of 1,261 in Rome
857 reviews
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#83 of 1,261 in Rome
1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux

Property: Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Address: Piazza Navona Largo Febo 2 | Piazza Navona, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#78 Family Hotel in Rome
#84 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#108 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raphael Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing