We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an awful hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Ranked #130 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2008

We stayed here prior to getting married in Rome October 3rd - 8th inclusive, 2008. We selected this hotel because it is centrally located and looked good from the outside. What a huge mistake, relying on first impressions! The staff were incapable of simple tasks such as booking a taxi or re-arranging a bed in a room, despite repeated requests to do so. The only thing they were good at was soliciting tips on a regular basis. The room itself had scuff marks on the wall and was in generally poor condition. But they saved the worst until last. On the morning we checked out they demanded 52 euros a day for breakfast, claiming they had informed us of this ridiculous expense beforehand - when they had not. They certainly did not verbally warn us about this and when challenged claimed it had been written on our "greeting card", which it had not as we read it carefully. While our taxi waited to take us to the airport they demanded over 250 euros for a few morning's worth of buffet breakfast, consisting of coffee and croissants. You can imagine the stress this caused us. In the end we had to hand over 170 euros. This hotel is trading on its location and is an absolute disgrace to a beautiful city. Do not stay here if you want to enjoy your Roman holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank KildareRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

839 - 845 of 1,443 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2008

My wife and I decided to stay at the Hotel Raphael during our five day trip to Rome. The location was excellent as we were within walking distance of everything we wanted to see. The room was clean and well maintained, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom had all the amenities. Staff was extremely helpful and went the extra distance to answer questions or concerns. Dining at the roof top terrace was a most delightful experience between the food and the service. To go up to the roof after a day of walking around through crowds felt like entering an oasis. The view at sunset was amazing.

The hotel was expensive, but worth it I feel for what would most likely be our first and only trip to Rome. If you don't want to pay that much for first class service, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimdew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2008

I recently went to stay here with my husband-to-be, parents and inlaws as I was getting married nearby. The hotel was in a great location, within easy walking distance of the main sights and with lots of gorgeous bars and restaurants in the vicinity.
I loved the boutique feel of the hotel, from the Picasso pottery in reception to the designer toiletries in the room. It had an individual feel about it, and the staff were so helpful. Our bed was incredibly comfy, and there was surprisingly little noise to be heard from outside (amazing for Rome!).
Breakfast was fantastic - I loved the pancakes and maple syrup!
We didn't tell the hotel we were getting married, but they found out (I guess wearing a wedding dress in reception was a give away), and when we got back from the ceremony we found a bottle of champagne on ice with two glasses in our room - such a sweet touch. We had drinks that night on the roof terrace, and it was the perfect setting, with a beautiful view across Rome as the sun set.
I would definitely stay here again, without a doubt. It's pricey, but really worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carlosio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2008

My wife and I have just stayed at the Hotel Raphael for three nights. This is a lovely little hotel. The staff were really charming and helpful, the situation is perfect - 1 min walk to the Piazza Navona, 10 mins to a bus stop for a sightseeing tour and probably a 20 min walk to the Vatican. In fact you can pretty much walk to any of the major tourist sights. The room was very small but you don't go to Rome to sit in your room do you?! There was a bit of street noise which meant we had to keep our window closed but we were on the first floor so maybe if you were higher up it wouldn't be so bad. The roof terrace is fantastic - having a glass of wine and watching the sun set over St. Peters was unforgettable. Only one real niggle was the cost of breakfast: 26 Euros each!!! Skip it and go around the corner (literally) to one of the many local cafes and have a expresso and a croissant and watch the world go by!

GENERAL TRAVEL TIP FOR FIRST-TIME VISITORS TO ROME:

This tip will save you time and money on a trip to the Coliseum - honestly, you will thank me!

When you visit the Coliseum you buy a 10 Euro ticket that gives you entrance to the Palatine as well. Visiting the Forum is free. There is a simply enormous queue to buy tickets at the Coliseum so the only way to get in reasonably quickly is accept the hassle from a tour guide and join a group. This costs an extra 8 euros each but you then go through the ticket holders queue which is considerably shorter than the main one. You can then leave the tour guide and do what you want. BUT THERE IS A BETTER WAY! Approach the Coliseum from the direction of Central Rome walking down the Via Fori Imeperiali with the Forum on your right. About halfway down on the right is small turning opposite the Largo Corrada Ricci. Walk down this and you will come to an entrance gate to the Forum where there is a ticket booth from which you can buy tickets to the Coliseum and Palatine! When we went there was a queue of just two people! Buy your tickets here then carry on to the Coliseum, join the pre-paid queue and walk smugly in past everyone else! Cunning eh?

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank LondonLocations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2008

We spent a long weekend at the Raphael at the end of July and partly confirm what already stated by other travelers.

What we enjoyed:
- the location is indeed great, only few steps from Piazza Navona and if one comes by car, they provide you a temporary pass so that one is allowed to enter the ZTL gates and park, otherwise forbidden to non residents
- our room was clean and modern, perhaps a bit too small for two, but the large bathroom compensated it. It was equipped with luxurious vanity sets from Bulgari and even two showers!!
- the beds (2 single) were remote-operated to separately lift the lower or the upper part: very very nice feeling after a long day strolling around
- the staff were friendly and helpful
- the roof terrace is a gem
- the common areas are cosy and elegant

And now to the flaws, which could be easily fixed:
- in our room there was no chance to operate the tv system and the AC. We did not care too much about the tv, but the AC was vital in the hot Roman summer. Upon call, they explained that the system was too old and would be renewed soon, but unfortunately for the time being we could only set it ON (ice-cold full fan) or OFF
- the minibar was way too expensive (10€ for a beer)
- the room was not screened from the outside noise. During the weekend it was fine, as shops opened late and did not get deliveries, but on a Monday morning, owing to the early start of activities down in the street, we ended up fully awake at 5.

We left the Raphael with mixed feelings: all in all we enjoyed our stay, but it could have been improved with little effort.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maociu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2008

This is a lovel hotel in an amazing location. We held our wedding reception on the roof top terrace and I couldn't of asked for a more perfect day. The staff and chef were all extremely professional and went the extra mile to make it so special for us.

We look forward to returning for our future wedding anniversaries.

Stayed: October 2007
1  Thank Colmeken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2008

We loved this hotel and cannot understand some of the negative feedback. The location just off the Piazza Navona is within easy walking distance of all the major sites. The hotel has lots of character. Do upgrade if possible as the standard rooms can be on the small side although they are still adequate. Lovely views of St Peters from the rooftop terrace.

Choice for breakfast was fairly limited but the quality and service was good. For us this was preferable to waiting for the local cafes to open as we like an early start to avoid crowds at the main sites. We also ate at the hotel’s rooftop restaurant and thought the service and food were excellent. Our only complaint was that the hotel failed to inform us that on that particular night the best tables (with views of St Peters) were reserved for a private party. The Concierge made some good recommendations for some smaller local restaurants serving traditional cuisine. Our favourite was L’Angoletto. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank top-trippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#33 of 1,271 in Rome
837 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,271 in Rome
3,675 reviews
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux

Address: Piazza Navona Largo Febo 2 | Piazza Navona, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#78 Family Hotel in Rome
#79 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#84 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#108 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £179 - £465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raphael Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing