We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sometimes it's a matter of luck” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Ranked #94 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
110 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Sometimes it's a matter of luck”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Recent reviews are more negative about this hotel than our experience last week. The lobby was hectic when we arrived. Our drink of choice - orange juice - came quickly and did not require a signature. Our room wasn't ready - we were early - but all was fine when we returned in a couple of hours. Our room was on the rear of the hotel and in excellent condition. The alley behind had foot traffic but was never very noisy. The breakfast was outstanding. The rooftop terrace was a fine place for a drink (we had the same experience as others relative to the available wines) but as a place for dinner was somewhat lacking. The desk staff were very helpful with information and reservations. Of course, as others note, the location is terrific. All in all, it may not have the luxury or charm of other Relais & Chateaux properties where we've stayed but it is a very good option in Rome.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    796
    290
    106
    40
    30
See reviews for
210
758
41
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed 4 nights here after staying at 3 other Relais & Chateux properties in France and Italy. We've also stayed at various great 2 and 3 star hotels in our travels. From our experience this is not a 5 star hotel let alone deserving R&C status. We arrived at around 4pm having driven from Sorrento. The reception was awful - loud phones constantly ringing and luggage everywhere - it was more like a tour bus hotel than a 5 star. We were offered complimentary welcome drinks and asked to take a seat in the busy reception area where we sat surrounded by luggage and listening to those phones that never seemed to stop. After about 20 minutes we were told by the receptionist that the terrace bar was too busy to bring us drinks in the foyer and that we had to go the to roof top terrace for the drinks. When we got to the roof top there were 2 other customers up there and they were not busy at all. We were given our drinks which were accompanied by inedible stale savories. We stayed in an R Miers executive room. These rooms are very noisy and have poor or no sound proofing. The bottle opener was chained to the fridge and the mini bar items were attached to sensors. On our first morning we woke up in the dark as our room had experienced a power failure and we could not open the electric blinds or ring for help. After asking for assistance from a cleaner that was luckily outside our room and waiting for 15 minutes in the dark my husband had to go down stairs to reception to find help. In fact every time we wanted something from this hotel it was our experience that we had to ask at least twice. We found the hotel lacked any ambience. This was obvious when on our second last day the assistant manager was conducting a job interview outside the breakfast room in full view of every guest going into the breakfast room. The hotel is close to everything, but so are other hotels that are nearby, less expensive and nicer - we know because we have stayed at the others. We were expecting a treat at this hotel and it just did not deliver. I strongly recommend that you rethink staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: higher floors at front have modest view to nearby buildings and front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank doneitalready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here for a quick two nights of city sightseeing after spending 5 days on the Amalfi Coast. The location is simply perfect. We walked everywhere from here, never taking a taxi until it was time to head to the airport. We especially loved the proximity to Piazza Navona, which we visited several times for a drink or souvenir shopping (there's a sweet, authentic little toy shop in the Piazza if you need souvenirs for kids; I got wooden nesting dolls and other unique things). We also loved the street artists in the Piazza and enjoyed the people watching there. Since this is my favorite area of Rome, Hotel Raphael was a great choice.

The reception was fine but not overly friendly. As noted in the review below, we also were asked to leave our luggage in the lobby unattended, but we just went with it and it was fine. Our room was a "deluxe" rather than "classic", but it was so small I can't imagine what classic would be like. Still, it was well furnished and the bathroom was very well appointed with a marble tub and nice toiletries. The bed was comfortable, the room was cool and quiet. For the little time we spent in the room, and for the good rate we got, we were perfectly happy. We did visit the roof bar one evening and very much enjoyed the view. The breakfast room was nice with a good spread, but after coming from the coast it was a shame to dine with no view! :-) It would be nice if they served breakfast on the roof, but the space is probably too small to be practical up there. Anyway, we had a great short stay and loved the walk-around location of this hotel. Definitely recommended!

Room Tip: Go for at least a deluxe room. Classic would be so small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

As other reviewers have noted, the Hotel Raphael is very convenient to everything in Roma. You can easily walk to The Vatican, the Pantheon and other sites. We arrived early & exhausted and reception offered us a beverage. I was initially pleased (we had a soft drink and beer while we waited), but then I was brought a check to sign. Okay....I'm still thinking positive thoughts since it's a R&C hotel. Since our room was not ready, they said to just leave our luggage in the lobby. I had to talk with several people at the front desk to get them to put our bags in a secure location.

We went out to explore and, by the way, there is a terrific osteria just across the street from the hotel. We returned to the hotel and went to our room. As some other reviewers have noted, we also had difficulty getting our room door to open and had to request housekeeping to use their key on several occasions. There were some canapés in the room that were stale and appeared to have been there awhile...in fact, the same ones were still there when we checked out. The room itself was fairly nice: decent bed linens, pillows, etc; however, there were some holes in the wall behind the door and other signs that the hotel needed some sprucing up. The bathroom was fine but please note, the surround on the tub/shower is very high and it can be difficult and slippery for some to get in and out of the shower or tub.

As it was my birthday (which the front desk knew but didn't acknowledge), we wanted to go for drinks at their sister hotel near the Colosseum. The front desk said that we could only have drinks there if we stayed at that hotel and had dinner there. This was completely opposite of what I had read. Anyway, we had drinks on the rooftop terrace and I must say, the view was terrific. Initially, I ordered a glass of Rosso di Montalcino and was told they only had a red wine from Sicily. The server later returned and had found a nice Montepulciano. We had dinner elsewhere. The breakfast buffet offered many selections and was fairly good.

Although it was in a convenient location and the exterior of the hotel is beautiful, I have stayed in nicer hotels in Rome. For the price and considering it is a Relais & Chateaux property, this hotel should've been much better and more luxurious.



Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bella3106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto V, Direttore at Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking time to write down a comment on your experience at Hotel Raphael, Relais & Chateaux, on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to read that you appreciated the location, the room, the buffet breakfast and our rooftop terrace.

Further to your feedback on your arrival, we are surprised to read that you were given a check to sign as on arrival it is our pleasure to offer our guests a free welcome drink. As we do not have details on your booking, we are unfortunately not able to check if it was indeed charged on your bill but we would be happy to check it if you send us major details on your identity by private message.

Regarding the technical problems you signaled, as the difficulty to open the door with the electronic keycard and some holes in the wall, we would be really grateful if you could indicate us the room number to have it checked with our technicians. We always do our best to meet our guests expectations and really appreciate to have their feedback that allow us to improve the quality of our services. Please be assured that when problems are signaled to the reception, our technicians and the housekeeping service make their best to solve the situation as soon as possible.

As for the canapés, they are freshly made every morning by our kitchen with organic products of the day, so that they are different every day, and we do not understand why they appeared stale but following your comment we will make extra checks on the arrival amenities.

Dear Guest, we thank you once more for your feedback and suggestions and remain at your complete disposal for any information. We would be happy to have more details on your booking at Hotel Raphael, Relais & Chateaux. Please do not hesitate to send us a private message with your name and your booking number.

Best regards

Roberto Vannoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boca raton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

This is my favorite hotel anywhere. The location is perfect - just off piazza Navona - you can walk to shops , restaurants , pantheon , Vatican and all the tourist sites in Rome
The staff here truly set this place apart- super friendly, genuine and meticulous - from front desk to restaurant staff to cleaning staff to the doormen. It's a small luxury hotel with an amazing personal touch
The rooftop restaurant served superb vegetarian cuisine and the view of Rome is beautiful
Thank you to all the staff

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dra54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a lovely 2 days staying here last weekend. The service and quality is excellent and consistent with Relais et Chateau standards

The rooftop terrace offers stunning views over Rome and we enjoyed a good one course vegetarian meal late evening on our arrival

The breakfast buffet was good with excellent fruit in particular - especially some delicious cherries and slices of water melon

The bed is very comfortable and to our taste - why do some many hotels offer hard beds?

The only significant issue we encountered was that the wifi was patchy in the bedrooms. However it was free unlike some of the larger hotel chains who see it as a source of additional revenue!

We would return here again when staying in Rome next

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#29 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Grand Hotel de la Minerve
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux

Property: Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Address: Largo Febo 2, Piazza Navona | Piazza Navona, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#78 Family Hotel in Rome
#84 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#108 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raphael Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing