We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Ranked #96 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
New york, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

When we arrived to hotel Raphael, reception was very friendly and attentive. However, They asked if we wanted the welcome drink in the lobby and we said yes but the drinks did not come after about 5-7 minutes so we had it in the room instead. The room is very quaint and pretty. The soaps in the bathroom are very nice and they even have set already there to take home. The only downfalls are that you only get one pillow per person and there are no others in the room. Also there are not many electrical plugs in the room.

Raphael is perfectly located with piazza Navona right around the corner, and the pantheon, trevi fountain, and Spanish steps in walking distance. The breakfast was very good but not the best I've had during my trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stashjian2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    812
    300
    110
    41
    30
See reviews for
220
771
45
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Raphael is the perfect intersection of old world charm and modern convenience. Add a great location and excellent staff and you have a perfect recipe for a wonderful place to stay in Rome. When we entered the hotel to check in, they offered us a drink rather than rush us to our room. We had just flown 12 hours and were anxious to get out into the city, but as I sat there with a drink in their lovely reception area I realized there was purpose to their offer. The slow motion check in process made me aware that I needed to slow down and change gears...savor the moment...linger a bit and enjoy. It improved my day as I adjusted to the rhythm of Rome. The room was very modern with excellent bathroom and plentiful room for us and our daughter. The shades were electric blinds that totally blacked out the room. Breakfast was very civilized with attentive service. The front desk ably took care of our ticket requests and anything else that we needed. The rooftop bar has a wonderful view and feel...not to be missed. We did not dine there, but I am sure it would have been great as well. Did I mention location? Fifty steps from Piazza Novona. Short walks to Pantheon, Campo di Fiori, Spanish Steps and the Vatican is very walkable. I could not have been more pleased with the hotel. The picture of the outside is lovely and the inside lives up to the appearance. It is not an inexpensive place to stay, but you will not go wrong at the Raphael. I will definitely return.

Room Tip: The second level allows easy access to the stairway and rapid ingress and egress. The rooms are all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. All the staff were professional and helpful, the breakfast was amazing, the terrace a great place for drinks with wonderful views and friendly and humerous service, and our upgraded room (thank you) was perfect. The hotel location just off the Piazza Navona could not have been better for exploring the City. We can't wait to return to Rome and the Hotel Raphael.

Room Tip: The more modern suites at the front of the hotel looking over the narrow streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKyn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto V, Direttore at Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guests,

We thank you for the time you took to write down your impressions on your stay at Hotel Raphael, Relais & Chateaux, on Tripadvisor.

We thank you for all the compliments you made on the service, the room and the location. We are glad you enjoyed the quality of our organic breakfast and the stunning view of the rooftop terrace.

We are happy to read you appreciated the free upgrade of your room. We always do our best to meet our guests’ expectations and feel satisfied when our guests feel at home and comfortable.

Dear Guests, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at Hotel Raphael, Relais & Chateaux, during your next stay in Rome. In that occasion we would be happy to offer you a glass of champagne and vegetarian amuse-bouche. Please kindly send us your name and details by mail and we will send you a voucher.

Best regards

Roberto E. Vannoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
110 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Recent reviews are more negative about this hotel than our experience last week. The lobby was hectic when we arrived. Our drink of choice - orange juice - came quickly and did not require a signature. Our room wasn't ready - we were early - but all was fine when we returned in a couple of hours. Our room was on the rear of the hotel and in excellent condition. The alley behind had foot traffic but was never very noisy. The breakfast was outstanding. The rooftop terrace was a fine place for a drink (we had the same experience as others relative to the available wines) but as a place for dinner was somewhat lacking. The desk staff were very helpful with information and reservations. Of course, as others note, the location is terrific. All in all, it may not have the luxury or charm of other Relais & Chateaux properties where we've stayed but it is a very good option in Rome.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed 4 nights here after staying at 3 other Relais & Chateux properties in France and Italy. We've also stayed at various great 2 and 3 star hotels in our travels. From our experience this is not a 5 star hotel let alone deserving R&C status. We arrived at around 4pm having driven from Sorrento. The reception was awful - loud phones constantly ringing and luggage everywhere - it was more like a tour bus hotel than a 5 star. We were offered complimentary welcome drinks and asked to take a seat in the busy reception area where we sat surrounded by luggage and listening to those phones that never seemed to stop. After about 20 minutes we were told by the receptionist that the terrace bar was too busy to bring us drinks in the foyer and that we had to go the to roof top terrace for the drinks. When we got to the roof top there were 2 other customers up there and they were not busy at all. We were given our drinks which were accompanied by inedible stale savories. We stayed in an R Miers executive room. These rooms are very noisy and have poor or no sound proofing. The bottle opener was chained to the fridge and the mini bar items were attached to sensors. On our first morning we woke up in the dark as our room had experienced a power failure and we could not open the electric blinds or ring for help. After asking for assistance from a cleaner that was luckily outside our room and waiting for 15 minutes in the dark my husband had to go down stairs to reception to find help. In fact every time we wanted something from this hotel it was our experience that we had to ask at least twice. We found the hotel lacked any ambience. This was obvious when on our second last day the assistant manager was conducting a job interview outside the breakfast room in full view of every guest going into the breakfast room. The hotel is close to everything, but so are other hotels that are nearby, less expensive and nicer - we know because we have stayed at the others. We were expecting a treat at this hotel and it just did not deliver. I strongly recommend that you rethink staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: higher floors at front have modest view to nearby buildings and front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank doneitalready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here for a quick two nights of city sightseeing after spending 5 days on the Amalfi Coast. The location is simply perfect. We walked everywhere from here, never taking a taxi until it was time to head to the airport. We especially loved the proximity to Piazza Navona, which we visited several times for a drink or souvenir shopping (there's a sweet, authentic little toy shop in the Piazza if you need souvenirs for kids; I got wooden nesting dolls and other unique things). We also loved the street artists in the Piazza and enjoyed the people watching there. Since this is my favorite area of Rome, Hotel Raphael was a great choice.

The reception was fine but not overly friendly. As noted in the review below, we also were asked to leave our luggage in the lobby unattended, but we just went with it and it was fine. Our room was a "deluxe" rather than "classic", but it was so small I can't imagine what classic would be like. Still, it was well furnished and the bathroom was very well appointed with a marble tub and nice toiletries. The bed was comfortable, the room was cool and quiet. For the little time we spent in the room, and for the good rate we got, we were perfectly happy. We did visit the roof bar one evening and very much enjoyed the view. The breakfast room was nice with a good spread, but after coming from the coast it was a shame to dine with no view! :-) It would be nice if they served breakfast on the roof, but the space is probably too small to be practical up there. Anyway, we had a great short stay and loved the walk-around location of this hotel. Definitely recommended!

Room Tip: Go for at least a deluxe room. Classic would be so small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#34 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Grand Hotel de la Minerve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux

Property: Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Address: Largo Febo 2, Piazza Navona | Piazza Navona, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#78 Family Hotel in Rome
#84 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#108 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raphael Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing