We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hotel - best location for touring”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Ranked #136 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2009

the hotel was a true 5-star. Rooms were gorgeous. Staff at the desk seemed too young to be of any good help (concierge-wise). Skip the breakfast and go to a cafe (not right on the piazza) if you are not on an expense account. The rooms are pricey, but we got a good deal on an internet special advance purchase. Very nice roof-top restaurant. We did not eat there, but great spot for a drink in the evening overlooking the city.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank tim90nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

810 - 816 of 1,413 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2009

We have stayed in numerous 4 and 5 star hotels throughout Europe over the last few years and this may be the best. Without doubt the best hotel we have stayed at in Rome. The location is unbeatable. We stayed in one of the Richard Meier rooms- superb! Modern design, but just right, not at all stark or cold. Beautiful marble bathroom. Plenty of space. Staff are efficient and friendly. We could not have hoped for a better stay. Hotel Raphael is the stuff of a dream Roma adventure.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HGH_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2009

Great location off the Piazza Navona- walkable to ALL sites. Hotel staff great- gave us a free upgrade, as well as a bottle of Champagne the second night! Funky boutique hotel, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daliasdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

We spent 4 days here before our Mediterranean cruise. We stayed in one of the Richard Meier rooms. Nice Modern design. Bathroom had double rainfall shower heads – just marvelous! A comfortable King Size bed - we loved it. Very prompt and helpful service from the staff. It is a marvelous location at the Piazza Novana. Breakfast is pricey so we enjoyed the breakfast at one of he many café’s in the area. We had dinner at the roof top restaurant one night. View was amazing. Food was very good but a little on the expensive side. Definitely a hotel we would come back to the next time in Rome.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ViewontheHudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

We arrived early in the morning, so our rooms were not ready. When returned later that afternoon our rooms were not only ready as promised, but we were upgraded! Our rooms were modern and of superior size than what we have found were typical for Europe. There was a fresh red rose in a vase with a complimentary tray of cheese and snacks. The hotel is located 1 block off Piazza Navona within walking distance to just about everything. The service was outstanding. We could not have asked for more!

We booked this hotel through GTA hotels and got a great rate. They are different as you prepay to this company, and they give you a voucher to submit to the hotel for payment.. Since we have never utilized this company before we were a little concerned, but everything worked out fine.

All things considered, this was a fantastic hotel at a great price. I would highly recommend this property!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tm1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2009

Absolutely unbeatable location! Quiet rooms, luxury at affordable price! Impeccable service! Only 1 block off the North end of Piazza Navona and 4 blocks from Campo de Fiore and short walk to the Pantheon. Hotel has own private car to take you to the airport. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnyAoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2009

Hotel Raphael was elegant, understated, and very attentive. Having been to Rome solo many years ago and going this time with my in-laws I was very careful about location. You can't put a price on seeing Piazza Navona and it's amazing Bernini sculptures several times a day in different light strolling back to the hotel. I researched hotels I spent 3 weeks in Europe and by far this was the most pleasing place. What I didn't expect were the little things, like the cappuccino when you arrive, turn down at night with delicious chocolates, and a graciousness with correspondence even before we got there. My in-laws even saw Julia Roberts in the lobby. She was getting her make-up done there for her upcoming movie. I am sure the hotel does not want to broadcast this, buy hey, it's true. What's not to like? Picassos, cappuccino, lovely rooms, and movie star spotting to make you quietly giggle.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
Thank duffyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#103 of 1,269 in Rome
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,269 in Rome
442 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#29 of 1,269 in Rome
807 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#112 of 1,269 in Rome
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux

Address: Piazza Navona Largo Febo 2 | Piazza Navona, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#78 Family Hotel in Rome
#82 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#84 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#108 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £203 - £473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raphael Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing