We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent location,very good rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Ranked #132 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Checked in Hotel Raphael after 4 days in Florence,in a Richard Meyer executive room.Very well designed,altough the room was small.Very good bathroom,2 showers,fluffy towels,good quality bedlinens.Bulgari amenities.Excellent location.Concierge Domenico is very attentive and ready to answer all questions.Good suggestions of restaurants.Breakfast very good,President french butter and brie cheese,hot focaccia and croissants,very good expresso coffee.The only drawback are

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

797 - 803 of 1,427 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2010

We stayed at the Raphael for 3 nights and we had an enjoyable stay there. Upon arrival we were upgraded to one of the newly renovated Richard Meier rooms, which was very nice, with a spacious bathroom and clever use of the available space. The hotel corridors could benefit from a decoration as they were a bit plain, and the elevator needs a small facelift, but nonetheless it was fuctional and the guest doesn't spend any time there. Breakfast was quite good, especially for Italy, and the location just off piazza Navona, ideal. The only downside is the staff, which while friendly and kind, didn't go beyond their duties for advice etc.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greece4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

We saw the hotel last time we were in Rome and decided that, if we were to return, we would stay at the Rapheal based on its location and beautiful, ivy-clad appearance. So, for our wedding anniversary, we booked a three night stay and I am so glad that we did.

On arrival, we were shown to our room which had been upgraded due to it being a special occasion. The room was fantastic; it was well furnished and modern and it had it's own terrace overlooking a church - we were delighted. The manager had left us a note welcoming us and there was a bottle of chilled prosecco, canapes and a red rose waiting for us. It was such a lovely welcome.

During our stay, we had breakfast in our room which was set up for us on our terrace - the food and service were faultless. We also had cocktails on the roof terrace which is a gorgeous location; the drinks were quite pricey but came with snacks. The service on the roof terrace was a little slow although it gave us chance to admire the view and relax.

I feel that I need to defend this hotel, to some extent, due to the previous reviews although it should not need any defence as it is excellent. The hotel's central location is ideal for sightseeing or just soaking up the atmosphere of the Piazza Navona, which was buzzing at all times, and yet it is quiet and peaceful inside the hotel. The staff we met were helpful and polite at all times and tried to make our stay memorable for all the right reasons.

We had a fabulous break in Rome and the Raphael played a major part in this.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buzylizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

My husband and I learned of this hotel in a search of Relaix & Chateaux properties, a method that has not let us down in the past. Until now. The hotel has its upsides, including location, lovely roof deck and solitude -- you get a great night's sleep there -- but the service is indifferent at best, and don't bother with the overpriced food (too many other truly great places nearby). Our room was a nice size but felt in need of refurbishing (worn leather couches in the suite, moldy shower). To boot, we feel sure we left an article of clothing in the room but no one ever responded to our email requests to check ... once we checked out, we were non-entities. And we entrusted our postcards to the front desk, giving the clerk money for postage, but the postcards were never mailed. This happened to at least one other reviewer, and I never would have believed it if it hadn't happened to us. Disappointing, to say the least. We loved the location but will stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank bklyntransplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

I did a lot of research before I chose this hotel. Despite some negative reviews I became fixated on it and I'm so happy I did. Stayed 5 nights in early June in a Richard Meier terrace suite. Beautiful. I don't know how anyone could complain about this hotel. We were greeted so warmly, shown around by lovely staff and when we got to our room they had wine and sandwiches for us. Every day after they cleaned our room they left us something to snack on - one day it was desserts, another fruit, etc. We were very sad to leave, even though we were going to Amalfi!!! If I ever return to Rome this is the place to be. The location is perfect, obviously, but the major memory I will always have is hanging out on the terrace surrounded by fragrant plants (honeysuckle and lemon trees) after a crazy day of walking/exploring the beautiful city of Rome.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank NDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Nice rooms, great location for access to all parts of the city. Great to be so close to the bustling Piazza Navona at night. Staff was friendly and professional.

TIPS:
1. Don't eat at Esse Bombo Restaurante around the corner - they will rip you off as I and others have all experienced. They add charges to the bill and lie.

2. Eat Gelato at "Quinto" - around the corner from the hotel and across the alleyway from Esse Bombo Restaurante - provides good gelato and huge portions for the $$.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJD2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2010

Very elegant and comfortable hotel in a superb location. You got the amenities you would expect in this kind of property. My wife and I were there for four nights earlier this year and had a fantastic stay. Staff is sharp and courteous but do not go out of their way to be friendly. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant except for the good but overpriced breakfast. We had an excellent updated contemporary room, so can not speak for the others. Highly recommend.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank lowcountrysmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#30 of 1,271 in Rome
824 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,271 in Rome
3,657 reviews
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#4 of 1,271 in Rome
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux

Address: Piazza Navona Largo Febo 2 | Piazza Navona, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#78 Family Hotel in Rome
#80 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#84 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#108 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £189 - £450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raphael Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing