We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but needs a remodel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Ranked #118 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Pleasanton, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good but needs a remodel”
Reviewed 5 November 2010

I chose to stay in Hotel Raphael because of the incredible location. This did not disappoint. The staff were helpful and friendly, the morning breakfast was good, and the bones of the facility itself were fine. But the hotel needs a remodel. It's showing it's age, and some sprucing up is in order. And seriously, WiFi only in the common areas? It's the 21st century, guys. Bottom line, I'd go again if I was looking for a well located, comfortable hotel with an excellent staff. But don't expect a 5-star experience or facility.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JunkyardWisdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    861
    319
    121
    46
    36
See reviews for
238
824
46
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2010

The staff here are so friendly and do everything they can to help - The hotel itself is very nice but maybe not a top end 5 star. The place is expensive but so is most of Rome. If you get a chance ensure you dine at the rooftop restaurant - The views are stunning - Food excellent and the Service from the Brummie-Roman waite is top notch - Also a great location - Just of Piazza Navona and within walking distance of all tourist sites.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fazinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

Highly recommend Hotel Raphael as it was perfect for my solo holiday. Hotel Staff were excellent in making my stay comfortable. The hotel is perfectly situated in Piazza Navona so close to dining and shopping and of course historic sites.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sologirl108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta, georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Spent four nights at Hotel Raphael in June. Chose the hotel specifically for it's location--we'd had reservations at Hotel Eden but changed to this hotel and based purely on that, do not have one regret. The location cannot be beat--we walked everywhere and the amount of restaurants to chose from so close to the hotel after a long day was abundant. The hotel itself is nice, reception was decent--just not very personal--however, we were kindly upgraded to the Richard Meier rooms--very modern, clean and spacious rooms. Our friends stayed on one side of the hotel and us on the other, and between us our one major concern was the exterior noise. We had lovely views but things outside on the alleys do not quiet down until very late and then the trucks roll in very early--so I'd definitely suggest interior rooms if quiet is essential. We could have requested to do this and in all fairness did not, as we were unpacked and just dealt with it--it wasn't horrible but worth a mention for those who are sensitive to noise. The gym is old and the equipment very old--so my husband and I actually joined a gym at another hotel for the duration of our stay. The buffet breakfast was also good, eggs, sausage, coldmeats, pastries etc. Had afternoon snack on a beautiful day on the rooftop restaurant--view is great.. Overall, we all found it to be a nice hotel with a fantastic location.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kateatlionsgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jersey shore
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Spent 4 nights at The Raphael after cruising. The ivy covered hotel just off the Piazza Navona is the perfect spot to stay in Rome. Until you have walked the entire city do you appreciate the location of this hotel. All you have to do is walk through a short alleyway and you are on the Piazza Navona and just a short walk to The Pantheon. The Piazza Navona is such a great place to be in Rome. We could walk to The Pantheon, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, and The Vatican. We did walk from the Colosseum to The Raphael the first day we were in Rome. That was not a bad walk, but we did have to get used to the cobblestones....Tires your feet out!

The Raphael has a good buffet breakfast in the morning. Their staff is very attentive. We especially enjoyed the rooftop terrace, where we had cocktails. One night we had dinner at Table #9---a 360 degree view of Rome. Our waiter told us that Table #9 is booked months ahead on the weekend. The night we had dinner---the night was clear---the moon was full! Perfect!

Our room on the second floor was quite comfortable and the shower was wonderful, comfortably fitting two with two large shower heads. It was quite refreshing after spending the day walking the city.

Since the hotel is just off the Piazza Navona, you do have some cafes and night spots all around the hotel. We did find there was street noise after midnight in the narrow streets around the hotel. Bring earplugs!

This was our first trip to Rome with friends. It was very difficult trying to decide which hotel would be best for us. We lucked out! The Raphael is a very cozy, boutique hotel in a great location. You will enjoy it!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerseyshoregolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Like the other reviewers, I have to say this hotel is close to perfect. The rooms aren't as large as I would have liked (we were upgraded for an 8 night stay from a deluxe to one of the Richard Meier ultra-modern rooms on the two "executive" floors).

I had been to Rome once before and, on the recommendation of friends, stayed in a fancy hotel on the Via Veneto. The Via Veneto area is sterile and not fun and we didn't really enjoy our stay there. But the Raphael, just off Piazza Navona in the historical center, is a whole other story. You walk out the door and you're right there, in the midst of everything.

As befits a Relais & Chateaux hotel, everything is elegant and the staff and service are the best. Really, the only problem is paying the bill at the end!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kswright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2010

This is a wonderful hotel. It's in a 'super' convenient location just off the Piazza Navona. The Staff is very helpful and friendly. The rooms are quiet, clean, and comfortable and having breakfast included made for an easy start every morning. We were traveling with a six year old and having the ability to stop in to the hotel for a break midday made our trip much more enjoyable. Being on the Piazza also gave us a steady source of entertainment. The neighborhood restaurants were better than we expected, given the touristy location. We were able to fine great pizzas, simply paninis and full blown three course meals all within walking distance of the hotel. The Hotel restaurant is also good, but VERY expensive. I suggest having a nightcap or desert one evening. The view is worth the price of admission. We loved Rome and will return again, hopefully to the Raphael.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loves2CtheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,261 in Rome
420 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#106 of 1,261 in Rome
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#116 of 1,261 in Rome
857 reviews
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#83 of 1,261 in Rome
1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux

Property: Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Address: Piazza Navona Largo Febo 2 | Piazza Navona, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#78 Family Hotel in Rome
#84 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#108 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raphael Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing