We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Napoleon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Napoleon
Ranked #75 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed for 2 nights, very nice bar area and free wifi is always a big bonus for me, breakfast was fine, nothing special but it was decent. Staff are nice and friendly, very central, tube station outside front door and you can get anywhere for €1. I parked outside for €4 a day which is brilliant for Rome---but its difficult to get a space(I was lucky) I would stay here again

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,491
    891
    196
    44
    22
See reviews for
703
1,165
171
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

While this hotel is conveniently located to the train and the colloseum the beds and pilloes were extremely uncomfortable. The rooms are quite small as well...

The hotel and staff were just fine but better deals can be had...

Having visited Rome several times before, I would gladly pay the extra 15 euros a night for a comfortable bed and to have a room twice the size. This can all be had at at hotels just one more stop along the metro and still have the same walking distance to the sites.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Kitsuni-n-Tanuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
napoleonRoma, Direttore generale at Hotel Napoleon, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your appreciation for our hotel, in spite of some inconveniences. However, I would add some comment regarding your remarks.
As I explained in some responses, and many previous reviews also confirm, we put at disposal of our Guests a “bank of pillow” for which you can ask and easily get the kind of pillow you prefer. The same can be done for the mattress. We inform our Guests of this service also with a letter delivered on the arrival.
We prepare our room in a way that is usually appreciated, but we understood that pillows and mattress are a matter of taste, therefore we decided to provide the possibility of a choice.
Regarding the size of the room, I agree that our rooms are not large, especially comparing them with the standard of the Canadian hotels, but that is the same for the largest number of hotels in Rome, where space is a precious thing, and very expensive, and that is true especially for the hotel in the historical centre.
My last suggestion toall our readers: when you stay at the hotel Napoleon, ask if you have some requirement, or need some information, or something is not exactly what you were looking for: we all will be happy to do our best to satisfy your needs, and often it will be very easy…
Thank you for your kind attention,

Roberto Cioce
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2012

The staff was friendly and very helpful. We enjoyed the manager's complimentary wine tasting on Friday night. The subway stop is right out the front door. The breakfast was good and plentiful. The room was large and I felt we got good value for the price. The only drawback was that the window opened to a very uninviting alley -- we would have preferred a room on an upper floor or one with a better view.

My daughter and I took the fast train to Naples and then went onto Pompeii by ourselves, and saved lots of money over the rate quoted for a guided tour from Rome. It was easy and I felt safe.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Stayed 3 nights starting 26 feb with my dad and brother in law .excellent value hotel! Breakfast very good
rooms v Comfortable
staff excellent especially night reception guy on Sunday 26 feb and it is 20 feet to the metro! Remember to go to the Dante exit to arrive at the hotel door.
There is a park with ruins opposite the hotel
If in Rome for 3 days get Roma Christiania 72 hour tickets good for open top bus and all metro/regular bus/trains in Rome excellent value for 25 euros !

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hacktus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Where to start? We were a party of 10 and we all agreed that the staff at this hotel were superb; polite, courteous and friendly.
The rooms were warm, very important as our visit was in February, and the Queen size bed was very comfortable. My only slight disappointment was that there was no bathtub to relax in which would have been welcome after a long day sightseeing.
There is a substantial buffet breakfast including scrambled and boiled eggs, bacon and sausages and all the usual continental foods, cheeses, meats, pastries, fruit, cereal, coffee, juices etc.
We ate in the hotel on one of the nights of our stay and were not disappointed. The prices in the hotel bar were very reasonable. Often hotels, for some reason, seem to want to charge premium prices for drinks, this is definitely not the case at this hotel.
Many of the sites were near enough to walk to from the hotel, the Coliseum being 15 to 20 minutes away on foot. Otherwise there is a Metro station just 50 metres from the front of the hotel. Tickets are 1Euro for a journey of any length.
Overall this hotel meets all the needs for a stay in Rome, clean, comfortable, handy for the sites and excellent value for money. I would highly recommend this hotel for anybody visiting Rome and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a bathtub if you want one, they are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hawkeye03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Stayed at the Hotel Napoleon at the end of February 2012 with a party of 10 on a city break holiday and it was perfect. It is central to all the tourist sites and for ones slightly farther than a 10 /15 minute walk there is a Metro station near by and plenty of bus stops . The hotel staff were brilliant as nothing was too much trouble and at times provided services above and beyond the call of duty.One of our party had a birthday during the holiday and although none of us conveyed this to the staff, the cleaners noted the cards in the room and that night the manager provided 2 bottles of sparkling wine and a card from hotel staff. I would highly recommend this hotel and if I were to visit Rome again I will be staying at the Napoleon

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors (4th/5th) have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

was here 2 years ago and had a great time. went back last week and it was even better. many of the rooms have been upgraded and to a very good standard. this is a great hotel, a great location and without doubt, the staff are it's greatest asset. they simply can't do enough for you. they clearly love their city and they feed off the enthusiasm of visitors. they even do those little extra things like notice your birthday on your passport and send you a bottle of bubbly to your room. breakfast is unhurried and plentiful and being gluten free, the staff made a huge extra effort to accommodate my needs. There is one tiny thing I think they could improve on, thats the scrambled egg but i still managed to polish off great big platefuls. I can't wait to go back. this hotel is my home from home.

Room Tip: first time I had a bath, which was great. The second trip was only a shower, but the room had a big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jmhzx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#80 of 1,261 in Rome
2,466 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,261 in Rome
4,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#45 of 1,261 in Rome
2,248 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#33 of 1,261 in Rome
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Napoleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Napoleon

Property: Hotel Napoleon
Address: Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II 105, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Rome
#49 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#81 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#140 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Napoleon 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Family run Hotel, equipped with most modern technologies. The staff are like a part of the family, always pleased to do their best for the Guests. Centrally located, close to the Colosseum, all the major attractions at an easy walkable distance. Metro stop outside the hotel offers direct connection with the Vatican. Rooms with classic style furniture, recently renovated, as well as bathrooms. Rooms are also very quiet , all overlooking courtyards large and sunny, away from the noise of the city. Individual air-conditioned. Some of the rooms have a little terrace . Spacious Lounges, enriched with precious antiques. Free Optic Fiber WI-FI high speed connection throughout the hotel, 2 internet accesses in the lounges. Expert and reliable Concierge, at disposal of the Guest to make their time in Rome the most enjoyable. Porterage 24H, Restaurant / Bar Bistro open every day. Breakfast buffet, with hot dishes including meat and vegetables dishes. Terrace. Free Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Napoleon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napoleon Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing