We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love love love this hotel!”
Review of Hotel Napoleon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Napoleon
Ranked #77 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2012

This was our first trip to Rome. I am writing this review as we spend our last night in the hotel. We were to leave today but loved Rome so much, we decided to stay an extra day.
When we arrived at FCO airport, we were picked up and taken to the hotel. After checking in, we were IMMEDIATELY given a room, even though we had arrived two hours before check-in. We were then given a complimentary bottle of champagne as it was our honeymoon. We are staying on the 5th floor and have a balcony view. The room was large (for European standards) and very clean. The staff is amazing and so friendly and helpful, especially Fabio (one of the concierges) and Mary (of the restaurant staff). The rooms were cleaned almost immediately after we left, whether we left at 9a or 2p. The location is great. It is a 15 minute walk to the Colosseum It was one stop to get to Vatican city and the Pantheon was two stops on the Metro, which is 20 feet from the hotel door. I can't say enough about this hotel. My husband and I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Make sure you eat at Krishna 13 Indian restaurant which is about one block from the hotel. It is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,231 - 1,237 of 2,723 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2012

We checked into the Hotel Napoleon earlier today after a tiring red eye flight from the states. Arriving exhausted, we were greated by one of the most friendly and personable hotel employees that I have ever encountered. He was happy to get us into a room immediately, even though we were long before our check in time and kindly notified us of a complementary wine tasting that they were having tonight. He was so nice about inviting us, we honestly felt that going was almost a requirement! Immediately on walking into the bar we were greeted again with a warm smile and friendly handshake and we were immediately given glasses of wine and pointed to the platters of meats and cheeses they had ready. The wine was not poured in tasting sizes, it was very generous and they were very quick to refill. The snacks were wonderful as well.

The room is cute, but a little small, but not unexpected for a hotel in an older building. I was suprised on how up to date their technology was by comparison. Simple amenities, comfortable beds (At least afer a 9 hour flight that I didn't sleep on!) but really, the highlight is the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This was my first visit to Italy and I have to say, I was super nervous about the trip in general particularly because I was traveling solo. Hotel Napoleon's staff, particularly Roberto at the concierge desk, made my stay so easy - from helping me arrange transportation from the airport to the hotel, to navigating the city with amazing directions - customer service was awesome. I'm training for a half marathon and instead of getting lost and having to run around cars and traffic, Roberto offered to let me run with his running club at a stadium so i could get my training run in (which might have been my favorite part of the whole trip in Rome).

As for the hotel, I'm on board with the positive reviews previously written (which is how i found the hotel and booked it initially). The pros: rooms are clean, staff is super helpful, if you needed something changed (ie pillows etc), they'd do it quickly, and there was breakfast included (and yes, while it wasn't gourmet, it was exactly what you'd expect and it was fine).

If I had any con, it was that the hotel was a little out of the way from some of the main attractions (but again, see above about the concierge- didn't matter because they gave you walking directions and additionally it was easy to navigate subways (stopped right outside the hotel) and taxis).

I'd 100% stay there again and would recommend it to anyone passing through Rome.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AliB31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed here twice during our visit to Rome. The Hotel Napoleon is in a very old building but has been updated to today standards. The rooms are very clean and well maintain, as is the rest of the hotel. We ate in the hotel restaurant and enjoy the food and service.
One thing I liked about the hotel is that will arrange for a car to pick you up at the airport and take you to the airport when you leave Rome. Nice service. Will stay here on our next trip to Rome.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 411 which had a nice view. Room 108 did not have any view ask for a room with a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trip2009Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This was a delightful small hotel with extremely friendly staff. Nice, safe location easy walk to colosseum or termini station. Metro entrance is directly outside. Front desk has metro tickets for sale. We used for a day at the vatican (15 min ride). Nice public area on 2nd floor to watch football, have a cocktail or use the free computers. Wifi throughout. Nicely furnished rooms, updated bathrooms and excellent breakfast included. This hotel has an elegant older feel with modern conveniences at a good price. A couple of very good restaurants 2 blocks away. Ask the concierge for his recommendations. It is set just off a very pretty park.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

Lived up to the reviews read online that the staff was friendly  The concierge were very helpful, welcoming and friendly. They walked us to nearby restaurants, remembered our plans and asked how we enjoyed the sights, and we're very knowledgeable.  Bar, dining room staff and housekeeping staff all very friendly and helpful, even giving Italian vocabulary lessons. Enjoyed the hot food selection at breakfast especially the scrumptious bacon and salumi selection. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Accommodated our request for four rooms together on one floor. Very large and spacious lounge area with couches, Internet access  and large flat screen TV. Wifi in rooms and lounge area consistently reliable and fast, best one out of the four hotels experienced on this trip. Metro stop and local department store (OVS) literally at front door and supermarket around the corner. 

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kgchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The Napoleon hotel was an absolute pleasure to stay at, everyone was friendly, helpful and the service was excellent. My room was spotless and welcoming. The location is perfect with many attractions close by and the metro immediately outside.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#82 of 1,272 in Rome
2,562 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,272 in Rome
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#104 of 1,272 in Rome
1,242 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#19 of 1,272 in Rome
4,363 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,272 in Rome
2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Napoleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Napoleon

Address: Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II 105, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Rome
#50 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#81 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#140 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £77 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Napoleon 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Family run Hotel, equipped with most modern technologies. The staff are like a part of the family, always pleased to do their best for the Guests. Centrally located, close to the Colosseum, all the major attractions at an easy walkable distance. Metro stop outside the hotel offers direct connection with the Vatican. Rooms with classic style furniture, recently renovated, as well as bathrooms. Rooms are also very quiet , all overlooking courtyards large and sunny, away from the noise of the city. Individual air-conditioned. Some of the rooms have a little terrace . Spacious Lounges, enriched with precious antiques. Free Optic Fiber WI-FI high speed connection throughout the hotel, 2 internet accesses in the lounges. Expert and reliable Concierge, at disposal of the Guest to make their time in Rome the most enjoyable. Porterage 24H, Restaurant / Bar Bistro open every day. Breakfast buffet, with hot dishes including meat and vegetables dishes. Terrace. Free Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Fastbooking, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Napoleon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napoleon Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing