We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay - Everything you need”
Review of Hotel Napoleon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Napoleon
Ranked #76 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay - Everything you need”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We first stayed here in March 2012. After booking I discovered some uncomplimentary photographs on Tripadvisor and raised my concerns with the hotel. My emails were answered immediately and ressurance given that we would have a lovely stay. Indeed they were right. The photos are very very unfair and do not reflect the hotel's standard.
Everything was just right for a weekend break. Arriving at 9:30pm we ate in the hotel's restuarant which was great and just what we needed. The service was friendly, the choice of food just right and the prices fair.
Our room was very quiet, comfortable and clean. It was convenient, quick to get anywhere and had everything we needed (hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities, large bathroom with toiletries, safe, TV and a large loung area with a large TV and two computers with free internet).
We enjoyed our stay so much that there was no hesitation to stay again when we returned with our daughter. This time we stayed in a family room which was one of the best we have had. A curtain separated us from our daughter and she had a proper bed as opposed to a sofa bed so everyone was comfortable.
Again the room was of the same high standard.
TheItalian/continental breakfast is very good with lots of choice and the coffee is hot!
All the staff are extremeley accomodating and make your stay easy from looking after your luggage to helping out when you have an enquiry.
Great location for the metro and buses. Termini is so close it is easier to walk rather than go on the metro. Always felt safe and we walked around in the early hours of the morning.
Convenient for all the major sites if you use the public transportation system to its full advantage.
Would definitely return.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and always got one. We asked for a room with a bath as not all of them ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dustyrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,488
    891
    196
    44
    22
See reviews for
701
1,164
171
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

This was my second time in Rome and I wanted to find a nice hotel which is situated close to the main objects and not very expensive. So I was glad to receive the confirmation from the hotel Napoleon, which offered an optimal price and also complimentary airport transfer to the hotel and the dinner for the long stay (more than 5 days).
The hotel is located near Vittorio Emmanuelle square, and the metro station is just 2 steps from the hotel doors. But we used to go on foot as all the main attractives are only 15 minutes away.
The rooms are nice, quite and clean. The breakfast is excellent and everyone can choose something to eat (from yougurt and cereals to eggs and different kinds of ham).
So, if you're looking for the comfortable hotel with nice service and for the reasonable price, welcome to the hotel Napoleon!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erya82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

This was our first trip to Rome. I am writing this review as we spend our last night in the hotel. We were to leave today but loved Rome so much, we decided to stay an extra day.
When we arrived at FCO airport, we were picked up and taken to the hotel. After checking in, we were IMMEDIATELY given a room, even though we had arrived two hours before check-in. We were then given a complimentary bottle of champagne as it was our honeymoon. We are staying on the 5th floor and have a balcony view. The room was large (for European standards) and very clean. The staff is amazing and so friendly and helpful, especially Fabio (one of the concierges) and Mary (of the restaurant staff). The rooms were cleaned almost immediately after we left, whether we left at 9a or 2p. The location is great. It is a 15 minute walk to the Colosseum It was one stop to get to Vatican city and the Pantheon was two stops on the Metro, which is 20 feet from the hotel door. I can't say enough about this hotel. My husband and I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Make sure you eat at Krishna 13 Indian restaurant which is about one block from the hotel. It is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annville, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We checked into the Hotel Napoleon earlier today after a tiring red eye flight from the states. Arriving exhausted, we were greated by one of the most friendly and personable hotel employees that I have ever encountered. He was happy to get us into a room immediately, even though we were long before our check in time and kindly notified us of a complementary wine tasting that they were having tonight. He was so nice about inviting us, we honestly felt that going was almost a requirement! Immediately on walking into the bar we were greeted again with a warm smile and friendly handshake and we were immediately given glasses of wine and pointed to the platters of meats and cheeses they had ready. The wine was not poured in tasting sizes, it was very generous and they were very quick to refill. The snacks were wonderful as well.

The room is cute, but a little small, but not unexpected for a hotel in an older building. I was suprised on how up to date their technology was by comparison. Simple amenities, comfortable beds (At least afer a 9 hour flight that I didn't sleep on!) but really, the highlight is the staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This was my first visit to Italy and I have to say, I was super nervous about the trip in general particularly because I was traveling solo. Hotel Napoleon's staff, particularly Roberto at the concierge desk, made my stay so easy - from helping me arrange transportation from the airport to the hotel, to navigating the city with amazing directions - customer service was awesome. I'm training for a half marathon and instead of getting lost and having to run around cars and traffic, Roberto offered to let me run with his running club at a stadium so i could get my training run in (which might have been my favorite part of the whole trip in Rome).

As for the hotel, I'm on board with the positive reviews previously written (which is how i found the hotel and booked it initially). The pros: rooms are clean, staff is super helpful, if you needed something changed (ie pillows etc), they'd do it quickly, and there was breakfast included (and yes, while it wasn't gourmet, it was exactly what you'd expect and it was fine).

If I had any con, it was that the hotel was a little out of the way from some of the main attractions (but again, see above about the concierge- didn't matter because they gave you walking directions and additionally it was easy to navigate subways (stopped right outside the hotel) and taxis).

I'd 100% stay there again and would recommend it to anyone passing through Rome.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AliB31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed here twice during our visit to Rome. The Hotel Napoleon is in a very old building but has been updated to today standards. The rooms are very clean and well maintain, as is the rest of the hotel. We ate in the hotel restaurant and enjoy the food and service.
One thing I liked about the hotel is that will arrange for a car to pick you up at the airport and take you to the airport when you leave Rome. Nice service. Will stay here on our next trip to Rome.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 411 which had a nice view. Room 108 did not have any view ask for a room with a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trip2009Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This was a delightful small hotel with extremely friendly staff. Nice, safe location easy walk to colosseum or termini station. Metro entrance is directly outside. Front desk has metro tickets for sale. We used for a day at the vatican (15 min ride). Nice public area on 2nd floor to watch football, have a cocktail or use the free computers. Wifi throughout. Nicely furnished rooms, updated bathrooms and excellent breakfast included. This hotel has an elegant older feel with modern conveniences at a good price. A couple of very good restaurants 2 blocks away. Ask the concierge for his recommendations. It is set just off a very pretty park.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#83 of 1,261 in Rome
2,464 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,261 in Rome
4,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,261 in Rome
2,248 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#33 of 1,261 in Rome
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Napoleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Napoleon

Property: Hotel Napoleon
Address: Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II 105, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Rome
#48 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#81 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#140 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Napoleon 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Family run Hotel, equipped with most modern technologies. The staff are like a part of the family, always pleased to do their best for the Guests. Centrally located, close to the Colosseum, all the major attractions at an easy walkable distance. Metro stop outside the hotel offers direct connection with the Vatican. Rooms with classic style furniture, recently renovated, as well as bathrooms. Rooms are also very quiet , all overlooking courtyards large and sunny, away from the noise of the city. Individual air-conditioned. Some of the rooms have a little terrace . Spacious Lounges, enriched with precious antiques. Free Optic Fiber WI-FI high speed connection throughout the hotel, 2 internet accesses in the lounges. Expert and reliable Concierge, at disposal of the Guest to make their time in Rome the most enjoyable. Porterage 24H, Restaurant / Bar Bistro open every day. Breakfast buffet, with hot dishes including meat and vegetables dishes. Terrace. Free Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Napoleon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napoleon Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing