We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what i expected” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Napoleon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Napoleon
Ranked #71 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not what i expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

This hotel is really not what i expected. It is very old and the rooms and bathrooms need attention. The bath didnt even look clean to me. The bacon at breakfast was mostly fat and not to mention the dirty glasses and cutlery. I had to wipe my glass and cutlery with a napkin everyday and it was really irritating me. This is not a 4 star hotel! More like 2 star, I have been to 2 star hotels that are better. The staff were very helpful although some looked irritated. It is located just outside the metro and the colosseum is walking distance. I wouldnt want to return especially because the price doesnt match what you get.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreamer390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto C, Owner at Hotel Napoleon, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Dreamer390,
I am very sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay. I am genuinely surprised about your criticism regarding the cleaning. All reviews praise always the cleaning of the hotel, and it is a long time that we do not receive any complaint about this aspect of the hotel. However, even if we did not received any other complaint, we will increase our attention and efforts to guarantee always the best satisfaction of all our Guests. Regarding your general opinion of the hotel, of course I do not agree with you, and fortunately even the very large part of our Guests seems very happy of their stay. I think it is mostly a matter of taste, and I think that an attentive reading of the reviews could be very helpful to make the right choice. The hotel Napoleon offers "classic old world charm" as a recent review says, and even if we work to keep it efficient and clean, we do not want to loose this feature. I see that you enjoyed the location of the hotel, and I hope you could however enjoy your stay in Rome, that is always a wonderful city! Thanks for your understanding and attention, and kind regards.
Roberto Cioce
hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,425
    849
    188
    42
    22
See reviews for
662
1,125
160
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Our stay here was a wonderful experience for our first time in Rome. The staff was wonderful in guiding us thru the city. The location is slightly off the beaten path, but is right at a subway stop. We were able to walk to most attractions or use the subway. Again, the staff was most accommodating in helping us navigate our way around.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed here for a few days, had 2 rooms, 312 for my husband and me, and 309 for our adult daughter. Our room was very large, with an alcove which could accommodate a third person on the daybed. Bathroom pristine and great shower. The front office concierge and staff are wonderful, helpful and, of course, charming. Breakfast was mediocre although adequate, and the breakfast staff somewhat surly. For this reason, and the location, I cannot give this hotel a full 5 points. Location is away from the famous sites, BUT an easy walk and the Metro is right there! Also means it is very quiet. We have all ready recommended this hotel to others.

Room Tip: As above...ignore typo...there are no children's activities that I know of, and no swimming pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vera D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rep Of Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

On my return from Rome after a short break away with my wife I feel compelled to thank the staff at the Napolean for a great welcome and for all the help we received during our stay.
I would certainly recommend this hotel, and would have no hesitation in returning here again.

Room Tip: All rooms face a courtyard thus no sound from the busy Rome street.We upgraded to a superior room fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brownedoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria, bc
Level Contributor
72 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We picked the hotel for the great location right at a Metro entrance and a short walk to the Forum area. The room was small but functional. Very clean, although a little worn in places. Even though the room was not on the main street, there was considerable noise from the fire escape shaft. There is a confusing route to follow to the rooms from the front desk area. Staff very helpful. The major disappointment was the pizza in the dining/cocktail area. After a very long series of flights and a late evening arrival, we were looking forward to a true Italian pizza-what we got was obviously a frozen pie from the deep freeze by way of a microwave!! I would stay here again, but would look around first for another similar hotel in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms not facing the exterior fire escape tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yyjguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto C, Owner at Hotel Napoleon, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear yyjguy,
I am sorry because you did not fully enjoy your stay at the hotel Napoleon, and I would be happy to have the opportunity of knowing more details about the reasons of your dissatisfaction. I do not know which track of wear you found in your room, but i can assure that it will be cancelled in a short time, as we are already making many renewal works all over the hotel, of course without disturbing our Guests. Also, I do not understand what sort of noise came from the fire escape shaft. Nobody uses it, and the only light perceptible noise is the one of the rain, but only in case of a strong shower ( very rare ). You mention our "frozen pizza" as the main reason of your disappointment, and honestly I do not understand the reason of your disappointment. Regarding the fact that it is a “ frozen pizza” , we inform very clearly about that, both by writing on the menu and by speaking when our Guests order . That is however part of a large choice of snacks and fast-food available in our Bar Menu, that includes also Italian fresh products like choice of ham and salami, cheeses, fresh salads, lasagna, soups, sandwiches and so on. We offer also a Restaurant Menu, offering meals accurately prepared by our Chef, with the best and freshest ingredients, and the quality of our Restaurant is on the top level. A “true Italian Pizza” would need one expert, specialized chef, who dedicates his work to prepare pizza, starting from fresh dough, and cooks it in a wood oven. I am doubtful if a “true Italian pizza” is available in any hotel in Rome, especially on a late arrival time. I think you should appreciate that, also arriving late in the evening, you have found a place offering meals and drinks. And I also wonder how many hotels in Rome, nowadays, are offering this service. Regarding the “confusing route to follow to the rooms from the front desk area”: our staff, as well as carry our Guests' luggage, (nowadays not many hotels offer complimentary porterage service), always accompanies our guests upon their arrival. The route is quite simple: one elevator leads from the ground floor to the main floor, where are the lounges, bar, restaurant and breakfast room. Guests have only to cross one lounge and take the second elevator leading to the room floors. This feature makes our lounges and all the common areas particularly quiet, as they are not directly in contact with the street level, and guarantee a pleasant relax, as no other hotel in town. The largest part of our Guests expresses their great appreciation for this feature of the hotel. I wish however to thank you for your review that gave me the opportunity of offering an additional description of our services and facilities to our readers. For last: after your review, to avoid any further disappointment for expectations that cannot be satisfied, we decided of no longer serving pizzas at our Bar. With my kindest regards,
Roberto Cioce
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
206 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We picked this hotel based on Tripadvisor ratings and were disappointed. The hotel is a bit run down and the common areas downstairs need to be renovated. The upstairs lobby is in better condition for which I was grateful since we spent a lot of time there - our room was so small it was not conducive to anything other than sleeping. The shower was barely large enough to get into. The staff was very friendly but we found the information provided at the front desk about basics like Vatican museum hours to be incorrect - perhaps because of the holiday hours - would have preferred they instruct us to check the hours ourselves instead of giving us wrong information. Bar staff was very friendly and professional. If I go to Rome again, I will look for another hotel. Location was convenient for some sites but the area closed down in the evening and was a bit creepy. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto C, Manager at Hotel Napoleon, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Ann B,
Firstly I wish to thank you for your review. Firstly for your appreciation for some aspects of our services and facilities, but also for your criticisms. I do not agree with most of them but I will keep them in the highest consideration and will focus our attention on those points.
One consideration about the size of the room. The size of our rooms is even larger of many other hotels of the same category and price in Rome. The size of the room in Italy is usually much smaller than in US, and particularly in the center of Rome. Some of them of course are larger than others, and we try to accommodate our Guests always in the most suitable room, accordingly with their requirements and preferences. I am sure that, if you had asked our Reception, they would have been more than pleased to change the room, on the same day or at least on the following day. On the other hand, just few hotels have such comfortable and welcoming common area as those you find at the hotel Napoleon: quiet and large Lounges where you can relax as in your home parlor, a cozy Bar and Restaurant, exclusively for our Guests, where “Bar staff was very friendly and professional”. I hope, on your next stay in Rome, you would consider again this aspect and I am confident you would agree with me. Regarding the lobby, I checked carefully and honestly I did not find any significant sign of wear, and some minor inconveniences are already repaired or going to be repaired in few hours, even more urgently after your remarks. I am sorry if our Concierge failed about some information regarding the Vatican. As thousands of reviews on the web testify, they usually provide very accurate and updated information. I personally verified our information about Vatican hours, also during Christmas Holidays and they seem to be correct. I wonder if it has been just a misunderstanding, however we all apologize for our mistake and we will do better in the future. Now I would tell a story that is an example how our Concierge looks after our Guests. On the 2000 year, one of our Guests had to go to a general audience of the Holy Pope. But he had a particular requirement; the flight back to England was scheduled in the early afternoon. He needed a transfer service with pickup at the Vatican. Our Concierge organizes that service carefully. On that morning the Guests takes the metro and goes to the Vatican. One or two hours later our driver calls our Concierge and informs that the point of the pickup had been closed by the Police on the last minute (traffic/safety reasons?). Our Head Concierge Franco Quirinis (who is still our Head Concierge) went there (by metro) and, among some tens thousands of people had been able to find the Guest and inform him of the new meeting point for the pickup. You can easily imagine the Guest’s surprise and satisfaction. This is just to tell you and all our Trip Advisor readers how much we work with passion, attention and professionalism, and how much we are sorry for any inconvenience you encountered. I would be honored and delighted to have a chance of welcoming you again at the hotel Napoleon, and I am confident that you could fully enjoy your next stay. For now I send you my kindest regards.
Roberto Cioce
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollaston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Have just returned from Rome staying at the Napoleon Hotel for three nights over New Year. Apart from the mix up when we arrived at the airport regarding the transfer by taxi, we had a very enjoyable and pleasant stay. The concierge was extremely pleasant, and also offered us a free meal on our last night as the restaurant was closed on New Years Day (which we had previously booked for). We enjoyed the gala dinner on New Years Eve, and the pre-dinner cocktails in the bar hosted by the friendly manager.

Our rooms were fine, a double for myself and husband, although the bathroom was a little small, and a triple for my two sons (19 and 21) - they had a large bathroom including bath and shower. Facilities in the room were good, tea and coffee etc, TV, free wifi, only soap and shower gel in the bathroom no shampoo! Breakfast was very good - plenty of choice, hot and cold. All the staff in the hotel are very friendly and speak excellent English. There were comfortable chairs in the lounge to relax in, plus a large TV - we were so exhausted after being out all day, that we just collapsed on our bed until it was time to get ready for dinner!!!

The hotel is situated just a stone's throw from the Metro, which is very easy to use - much better than in Paris which is our only other experience of using it!!! The local area is not the best - but within walking distance from the Coliseum, and other land marks. If you are fit and healthy you don't really need to use the Metro - but it helps if you want to travel further afield say Vatican City and then work your way back, like we did.

There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance, the concierge would be happy to recommend some to you as well as giving you a good route to the sights (they have some large street maps available at reception).

This was our first trip to Rome and also our first time in Italy - we will be back, but will probably choose a different hotel, not because there is anything wrong with this one, but we prefer to stay in different places - also our next trip will be just myself and husband travelling.

Room Tip: All the rooms face into a courtyard, so you don't get any traffic noise which is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthantsAquababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#79 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,361 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,931 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#47 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#52 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,212 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#26 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Napoleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Napoleon

Property: Hotel Napoleon
Address: Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II 105, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#45 Family Hotel in Rome
#81 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#140 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Napoleon 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, close to the Colosseum, Metro stop outside the hotel, direct connection with the Vatican. Family run, free high speed WI-FI throughout the hotel, 2 internet access, Concierge and Porterage 24H, Restaurant / Bar Bistro / Breakfast buffet, Gym. Very quiet rooms, all overlooking courtyards large and sunny, away from the noise of the city. Individual air-conditioned. Superior service, with professional and qualified staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Fastbooking and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Napoleon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napoleon Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing