We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bargain for Rome”
Review of Hotel Napoleon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Napoleon
Ranked #80 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Friend recommended this hotel, booked it online and even got a discount. Walkable from Termini station - 15 min w/bags or 1 metro stop (but then you have to go up & down lots of stairs). Metro is right outside hotel door. Staff wonderful, room very nice, breakfast room & food excellent. We were there during week between Easter & Cannonization and heard horror stories of prices paid for 'fleabag' hotels so this was really an amazing find!!

Room Tip: all rooms are inside courtyard so very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

723 - 729 of 2,682 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

Here's a hotel I like almost immediately -- and grew to love during my stay. The quick explanation: It's an old-school hotel that does things the "right" way and really is attentive to its guests.

This is a totally charming hotel run by a family and a small staff (their pictures line the walls of the elevator). And you can tell the folks who work in the Napoleon take a lot of pride in their work: The rooms are very clean and well-appointed. The staff behind the front desk are very friendly, helpful and totally accommodating. And the whole architecture of the hotel screams "old-world." There's a great loggia (level above the entry level) where there is a vast sitting/living room. Here, hotel guests lounge, read, chat, drink and generally do what hotel guests must have done in a more interesting and genteel time. There's also an in-house restaurant on this loggia level (convenient for the odd chance you don't want to venture out into Rome for an evening meal).

The rooms are fabulous. Furniture is classy. Bathrooms are well appointed, as well. Breakfast is more expansive than you'd find at similar hotels. They even squeeze fresh orange juice upon request.

Best part of the hotel for me is the service. Concierge was fantastic. Quick with the recommendations and totally spot-on. I on more than one occasion saw them arranging for other hotel guests' personal tours, travel arrangement, etc. They really do what a concierge is supposed to do, and they do it without attitude. There are also free umbrellas in the lobby -- great for those rainy nights around town.

The only thing that may be a drawback for some is the location. While the area around the hotel was probably much grander back in the day, it's in a somewhat less charming area of Rome. It's a moderate walk to Termini -- and the grittiness of the surrounding blocks may unnerve some guests. But it's generally safe, and there are some gems located in the neighborhood for dinner (though you need to really do some exploring around every corner). You get the impression this used to be quite a lavish hotel in what was probably a more gentrified area -- but the neighborhood changed, while the hotel held on to its charm.

Metro stop is literally opposite the front door. Can't beat that.

I will look to book here again, no question. I really like the folks who run this hotel. They went out of their way to make folks feel comfortable. I spent the morning sitting in the lobby waiting for family to meet me to check in. And nearly every one of the customers who I observed checking in that morning were return customers (and were treated as such). That, more than anything, tells me all I need to know about this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Was very pleased with a 1-night stay at the Napoleon for a recent business trip to Rome. It's a great location, overlooking a lovely square not far from the Colosseum. The room was very comfortable and quiet. I was especially touched that the manager had a dinner saved for my late night arrival, after I was collected at the airport by the hotel car. They could not have been more gracious.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parismick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Delightful,beautifully decorated authentic ROMa Plaza Hotel. Charming and friendly, Excellent Manager! We don"t know when he must sleep,always presenting and working very hard to keep all the guests happy. Made us feel welcomed and well cared for! Our trip started oof with crisis ,by us picking up the wrong bag from the port but before we even arrived or aware ,the hotel was trying to arrange the bag exchange! the hotel was immaculate ,large sparking rooms ,even with coutyard balcong with bisco set ,felt very safe and secure ,while the neighborhood was a little steacky(anything near termini) by USA standards,the location was perfect, Metro stop a few steps from entrance to hotel , bus and a charming park across the street /Termini station was an easy 4-6.block walk thru a delightful neighborhood. The Hotel included a wonderful,fresh breaksfast in a charming breasfast room. the resturant food was good and reasonable in a nice bar area. SEveral nice resturants within 2 blocks as well as Gelato stands. Best Pizz i"ve ever had was 2 blocks away! Nothing but the highest praise for making our stay in ROMA wonderful. The Conceierge wa svery helpful.mapping out routes and showing many differnt options. We look forward to returning again soon Many Thanks Bill & pat O'brien

Room Tip: the deluxe with balcony well worth it! look at the hotel web site for additonal info and booking inc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pao1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This was my second stay at Napoleon Hotel, and will probably not be my last. I arrived at Termini, and I am still not sure if it is faster to walk to the hotel or take the Metro. The Metro station at Termini has a fair share of unpleasant stairs – so I would probably recommend to just walk to the hotel. It will not take you more than 15-20 minutes, even with suitcases.

The Metro stop is located just 10 metres from the hotel entrance, and you will have easy access to the rest of the city. In my opinion, you can hardly find a better location in Rome. There is a grocery store nearby, and the receptionist will be more than happy to show you on the map.

The only thing worth mentioning is the porter(s). The elevators can be a little difficult to understand the first time (you have to walk across the public areas and change elevator after the first one), BUT I had stayed at the hotel before and would have appreciated going by myself (I only had a small suitcase as well). It was obvious that the porter expected a tip, but I had just arrived and had only larger bills. And to be honest; the hotel is not nearly fancy enough to expect a concierge and porter. The whole thing just got uncomfortable.

The single rooms are fairly small, but well maintained and very clean and comfortable. The free Internet was a little slow this time, but I reckon that it is better in the public areas. The breakfast was good and plentiful, and I especially recommend the coffee. Once again; I had a great stay, and would recommend the hotel to all travellers. Next time I will insist on dragging my own suitcase though =)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheSuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

There are a few good and a few bad aspects of this hotel but all in all it is a good hotel. The good aspects are that the staff are so friendly that it feels like family. The rooms are clean and large. The hotel has a good restaurant. The bad aspects are the location -outside is not that nice but at the same time it is really close to the metro. There are limited restaurants around the hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank theleavers_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

As all reviews have said the staff were excellent friendly and very helpful nothing was to much trouble. We stayed for Two nights 14th to 16th April. We booked a table in the restaurant on the first night the food was lovely and fresh. We asked the concierge the best way to get to the coliseum they marked to route on a map and explained the best places to see in Rome.
The second night after our walk round Rome we wanted to been a table but restaurant was closed but again the concierge told us were to eat the restaurant was lovely the food was excellent. Again thank you to all the staff for making our stay special we will recommend the Napoleon to our friends.
Barry and Lisa

Room Tip: All rooms on inner court yard are quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walshie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#84 of 1,269 in Rome
2,500 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,269 in Rome
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#49 of 1,269 in Rome
2,269 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#106 of 1,269 in Rome
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Napoleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Napoleon

Address: Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II 105, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Rome
#52 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#81 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#140 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £83 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Napoleon 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Family run Hotel, equipped with most modern technologies. The staff are like a part of the family, always pleased to do their best for the Guests. Centrally located, close to the Colosseum, all the major attractions at an easy walkable distance. Metro stop outside the hotel offers direct connection with the Vatican. Rooms with classic style furniture, recently renovated, as well as bathrooms. Rooms are also very quiet , all overlooking courtyards large and sunny, away from the noise of the city. Individual air-conditioned. Some of the rooms have a little terrace . Spacious Lounges, enriched with precious antiques. Free Optic Fiber WI-FI high speed connection throughout the hotel, 2 internet accesses in the lounges. Expert and reliable Concierge, at disposal of the Guest to make their time in Rome the most enjoyable. Porterage 24H, Restaurant / Bar Bistro open every day. Breakfast buffet, with hot dishes including meat and vegetables dishes. Terrace. Free Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Fastbooking, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Napoleon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napoleon Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing