We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far better than you imagine”
Review of Hotel Napoleon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Napoleon
Ranked #79 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed here on business a few weeks ago. I was initially slightly dubious about the location as my experience of the area around Termini has been mixed. However I needn't have been worried.

I had a nice double room on 6th floor with a private balcony. It was reasonably well equipped and sleep quality was excellent. However the main plus about the hotel is the staff, who are very charming and very willing to help. I just wonder why other hotels don't understand that the way staff behave is a key indicator of quality.

So, I would certainly stay here again, and encourage others to do so.

Room Tip: Go high if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LondonDavidS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

716 - 722 of 2,700 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel during my first trip to Italy visiting Venice and Rome. Great staff and excellent service. Roberto especially was very knowledgeable and helped us get around town with ease. He saw us one night in the metro station about to exit in the wrong direction and called out to us by name and showed us the exit to use. The room was great and a very good size. The bathroom was a good size, the shower was a little small for my husband as he is over 6ft. tall. Free breakfast was good, and they also have free Wifi a little weak, it goes in and out at times but I found it to work great in the late night. Location is good, we were able to walk 10 minutes to the Colosseo and metro located right outside the hotel door. Had to great a little used to the neighborhood as it was very busy with outdoor vendors during the day but it was safe. All in all would recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This was the second time we have stayed at this hotel and highly recommend it. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are very clean and quiet. We enjoyed our breakfast here each morning and dinner on two occasions, both were excellent. The Monday evening cocktail party, hosted by the owner, was a great way to meet fellow guests. The hotel is conveniently located only steps from the Metro and we were able to purchase our Metro tickets from the hotel's concierge. We will definitely stay here again the next time we visit Rome.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike and Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We arrived for a three night stay to the smiling faces of the hotel staff and promptly had our bags carried to our rooms for us. The room was exactly as we saw on trip advisor where we had chosen the hotel from! Everything was working and the air conditioning was lovely. The cleanliness of the whole place surpassed our expectations. We even commented on the fact that when we went to dine at a luxury hotel one evening our carpets were much cleaner! The breakfast was amazing...everything you could possibly wish for to set you up for the day. The staff in every part of the hotel were very polite and helpful. On Friday evening the hotel owner hosted a cheese and wine talk and tasting evening which was a lovely opportunity to chat with other guests and also to experience the feeling of pride and commitment he had to his hotel. Located near a metro station it was really easy to get to all the main attractions and was also close enough to walk to a few. We had a thoroughly wonderful time here and would love to come back. For a few nights we felt that we were at home in Rome!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 105 which was fine. all rooms face into a courtyard which make them quiet to slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Just returned from a 1 night stay in Room 219 in this hotel. The bed was the most uncomfortable I have slept in for a long time. The free wifi does not work at all in this room. I mentioned it to the desk and they seem surprised but I am not sure that they were! Ate dinner in the restaurant, which while reasonably priced and the staff helpful, could have been better as well. The restaurant has only a few tables and while the food is good, the kitchen managed to run out of vegetable side dishes at 9 in the evening! On the plus side, the rooms are clean although tired and as mentioned by others, the staff are courteous, wanting to please. Its location is okay but a very long walk to the Colosseum and Fontana di Trevi.

Room Tip: I can only say that Room 219 had no wireless access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Giselle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto C, Proprietario at Hotel Napoleon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Gisellebe,
I wish to thank you for your review. We always keep our Guests' remarks in the highest consideration, and that is what we have done also in this occasion. We verified the mattress of the room 219 and we found it in perfect condition. We have provided all our rooms with the best mattresses, but we know that mattress is a matter of preference. That is why we propose ( also in writing, in the welcome message delivered on arrival) a sort of "matress and pillows bank". In a matter of minutes we can provide softer mattress and additional pillows of different materials, and we are confident that we can provide the best quality of sleep for every requirement. We only need our Guest's request!.
We also checked the Wi-Fi speed in the room 219: right now the upload speed is 5,2 Mb, that is quite good for Italian standards, and howver more than enough to ensure a good navigation. I wonder if you had correctly inserted the password (we provide a password for every device, in accordance with Italian regulations and in order to provide a fast and safe navigation.) I am asking about that, because it happens sometime. Otherwise we have to state that Wi-Fi is working well in all the hotel, in case of any inconvenience we would kindly invite our Guests to ask our Concierge.
I hope to have a chance of welcoming you again in the future, hopefully for a longer stay, and I am confident that you could fully enjoy your stay

Kind regards
Roberto Cioce
Hotelier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel is very comfortable and clean and the location is very close to the train and metro. The staff was very friendly and recommended a great place for dinner. We enjoyed the breakfast each morning and were very pleased with our experience here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelingdogmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Quaint and nicely maintained. Very friendly staff. I would expect the staff to get tired of giving the same directions and advice to the endless stream of tourists but they take time with each and very pleasant and helpful. Warm and engaging. Convenient location although a bit seedy in the immediate neighborhood. Rooms nice and comfortable. Old small elevator. Internet only works in lounge area. Not in rooms.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto C, Proprietario at Hotel Napoleon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear John M,
I wish to thank you for your nice appreciation, we would be delighted to welcome you again in the near future. I would only kindly outline that we have Wi-Fi high speed connection also in the rooms. Maybe we had a temporary inconvenience but usually it seems to work well. Thank you however for your remark, we will check carefully the system to avoid any future malfunctioning.
with my kindest regards
Roberto Cioce
hotelier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#85 of 1,271 in Rome
2,531 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,271 in Rome
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#47 of 1,271 in Rome
2,288 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#111 of 1,271 in Rome
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Napoleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Napoleon

Address: Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II 105, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Rome
#51 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#81 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#140 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £76 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Napoleon 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Family run Hotel, equipped with most modern technologies. The staff are like a part of the family, always pleased to do their best for the Guests. Centrally located, close to the Colosseum, all the major attractions at an easy walkable distance. Metro stop outside the hotel offers direct connection with the Vatican. Rooms with classic style furniture, recently renovated, as well as bathrooms. Rooms are also very quiet , all overlooking courtyards large and sunny, away from the noise of the city. Individual air-conditioned. Some of the rooms have a little terrace . Spacious Lounges, enriched with precious antiques. Free Optic Fiber WI-FI high speed connection throughout the hotel, 2 internet accesses in the lounges. Expert and reliable Concierge, at disposal of the Guest to make their time in Rome the most enjoyable. Porterage 24H, Restaurant / Bar Bistro open every day. Breakfast buffet, with hot dishes including meat and vegetables dishes. Terrace. Free Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Fastbooking, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Napoleon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napoleon Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing