We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”
Review of Hotel Napoleon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Napoleon
Ranked #76 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was our first visit to Italy and we had such a wonderful time. The location was great for us as it was close to the train station and with subway at front door. The area is not that great as others have said, but I felt safe and we found some great restaurants nearby. Staff were helpful, courteous and professional. Room and bathroom decent size. Breakfast good and bed comfortable. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank TexasMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,664)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Napoleon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

680 - 686 of 2,665 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed here for four nights in June 2014 and loved it. Despite what some reviewers have said, the neighborhood is safe. In fact, I quite enjoyed being where the locals are and eating, shopping, etc where real Romans are, not just tourists. Aside from the too-busy and bitter breakfast waiters, the hotel staff is top-notch. All the reception staff are super professional and helpful. Although I speak Italian, my friend does not so the fact that they all speak English really helped. The A/C was cold, beds comfy, and the bathroom was large, unlike some in Italy. If you're coming from the train station, I'd take the metro rather than walk; Termini's metro station is just remodeled and it's just one stop from the hotel. Much easier than walking, although we did the latter with not much problem when we arrived. This hotel is great.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lorisz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Friendly Staff that makes you feel home far away from home.

My Birthday didn’t went unnoticed and a bottle of
Champaign was sent to my room with the compliments of the Manager.
Nice gesture – Thanks
I really had a wonderful Birthday far away from home!

Dr. Z.R. - Israel

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Royalflyer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

When we arrived at the hotel I was rather wary of it due to its location and the shady looking people hanging around outside. My impression wasn't helped by the fast and impersonal, non-informative check-in to the hotel. However, once inside our room (a triple) I found it fairly spacious (by European standards) and clean. The interior of the hotel was in good shape, the breakfast good, and we were never bothered by the people hanging around outside the hotel. The only thing annoying about the room was that there wasn't an electrical outlet inside the bathroom. Overall, a decent hotel.

The hotel is close to the train station, which is great if you want to have easy access from the station. However, it's a bit of a walk to all the sights. This was my third time to Rome, and we've always ended up staying close to the Termini station for ease of hotel access after getting off the train, and more reasonably priced hotels. All the walking was hard on my 9 year old son, and so next time we'll be staying closer to the major sights.

Room Tip: I noticed that the double rooms seemed quite a bit smaller. If you can, option for a triple room so...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coricop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed here on business a few weeks ago. I was initially slightly dubious about the location as my experience of the area around Termini has been mixed. However I needn't have been worried.

I had a nice double room on 6th floor with a private balcony. It was reasonably well equipped and sleep quality was excellent. However the main plus about the hotel is the staff, who are very charming and very willing to help. I just wonder why other hotels don't understand that the way staff behave is a key indicator of quality.

So, I would certainly stay here again, and encourage others to do so.

Room Tip: Go high if you can.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LondonDavidS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel during my first trip to Italy visiting Venice and Rome. Great staff and excellent service. Roberto especially was very knowledgeable and helped us get around town with ease. He saw us one night in the metro station about to exit in the wrong direction and called out to us by name and showed us the exit to use. The room was great and a very good size. The bathroom was a good size, the shower was a little small for my husband as he is over 6ft. tall. Free breakfast was good, and they also have free Wifi a little weak, it goes in and out at times but I found it to work great in the late night. Location is good, we were able to walk 10 minutes to the Colosseo and metro located right outside the hotel door. Had to great a little used to the neighborhood as it was very busy with outdoor vendors during the day but it was safe. All in all would recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This was the second time we have stayed at this hotel and highly recommend it. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are very clean and quiet. We enjoyed our breakfast here each morning and dinner on two occasions, both were excellent. The Monday evening cocktail party, hosted by the owner, was a great way to meet fellow guests. The hotel is conveniently located only steps from the Metro and we were able to purchase our Metro tickets from the hotel's concierge. We will definitely stay here again the next time we visit Rome.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike and Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#82 of 1,267 in Rome
2,488 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,267 in Rome
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,267 in Rome
4,224 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,267 in Rome
2,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Napoleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Napoleon

Address: Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II 105, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Rome
#49 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#81 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#140 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £85 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Napoleon 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Family run Hotel, equipped with most modern technologies. The staff are like a part of the family, always pleased to do their best for the Guests. Centrally located, close to the Colosseum, all the major attractions at an easy walkable distance. Metro stop outside the hotel offers direct connection with the Vatican. Rooms with classic style furniture, recently renovated, as well as bathrooms. Rooms are also very quiet , all overlooking courtyards large and sunny, away from the noise of the city. Individual air-conditioned. Some of the rooms have a little terrace . Spacious Lounges, enriched with precious antiques. Free Optic Fiber WI-FI high speed connection throughout the hotel, 2 internet accesses in the lounges. Expert and reliable Concierge, at disposal of the Guest to make their time in Rome the most enjoyable. Porterage 24H, Restaurant / Bar Bistro open every day. Breakfast buffet, with hot dishes including meat and vegetables dishes. Terrace. Free Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Napoleon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napoleon Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing